We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for business in Utrecht” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mitland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mitland to your Saves list
Hotel Mitland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arienslaan 1, 3573 Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
GreenLeadersSilver level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel for business in Utrecht”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed 3 nights in January for a workshop at the university. The location was convenient to the university as it was closer than a downtown hotel, but it was a bit of a walk to the city center.

The rooms were very clean and nice, and there was both a shower and a bathtub -- an unexpected luxury. The bed was comfortable and there was very little noise, given in part the hotel's location away from the downtown bars and restaurants.

I ate once at the restaurant and found it to be a bit expensive for the quality, but it is the closest place around to eat.

The staff were polite and helpful. I forgot a sweater at the hotel, and by the time I had arrived at the airport I had already received an email from Mitland asking if I would like it back and that they could post it to me.

I will definitely consider Hotel Mitland the next time I am in Utrecht.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Ilean D,

Thank you for your taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay. We have passed on your compliments regarding our staff and we hope to welcome you again soon when travelling to Utrecht.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    119
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
38
62
17
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel with our 7 months old daughter and I can say that it is pretty difficult to remember a more pleasant hotel than Mitland. Outside area of the hotel looks like a national park, inside is great peace of designer work with fire place and amazing restaurant with a view to a canal. We stayed at room 207 which benefited us due to easy access to the car park and of course the swimming pool. Gym and Swimming area was always very clean and well maintained. Parking at the hotel is very secure. Food in the restaurant in very good quality. Staff in the reception and in the restaurant were extremely helpful and willing to help. Price is cheap compared to other hotel around. We will come back this summer as we didn't have a chance to play bowling yet.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Man G,

Thank you for this flattering review about your stay at our hotel. With your kind words about our facilities, location and hospitality we are very pleased to read that you are already planning to visit us again this summer. Please feel free to ask our staff for special combinations with bowling when making a reservation. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Hotel Mitland makes you feel welcome. Personel is helpfull and polite. The rooms are spacious and clean. There is a buffet and a la carte for all meals. With a bike from the hotel the beautifull city of Utrecht is nearby! Try the pool or the sauna and relax! Very good for seminars and meetings.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear jjonkers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with our hotel on TripAdvisor. Nice to read that you enjoyed our location, the hotelroom and our facilities. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff and feel free to stay with us again when visiting Utrecht.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A fantastic hotel.
The location is convenient, easily accessed from the ring road, town is a short bus ride or a brisk walk of 30 minutes or so.
We stayed in a Superior Room with fort view and even in winter its an interesting and peaceful view. Ducks are in the water and you can see sheep on the fort grounds. The room is very spacious, with a huge comfortable bed, tv with BBC1 & 2 if you want to watch something. The bathroom is very smart, with bath and separate shower. There is tea and coffee making and a pay mini bar. The décor is in very good condition.
Hotel guests can use the swimming pool, sauna and Turkish bath for free. Very nice after walking round town on a cold windy February day.
The restaurant is very good. We had both lunch and dinner and both meals we very good.
There is a bowling alley but we thought at €27 it was expensive. But we played an hour any way and it was good fun.
The friendly staff are very helpful. The car park is reasonably priced even with tax.

We would recommend this hotel when visiting Utrecht.

Room Tip: Superior Room with fort view, get a top floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Oscar8516,

Thank you for writing this extensive review about your stay. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the facilities we offer for our guests. We hope to welcome you again in the near future when you are visiting Utrecht. We would like to thank you for recommending us.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

i was really impressed how helpful the staff are at this hotel. it was very clean. the cleaners were helpful with baby requirements. I was worried about not having enough baby milk etc but the staff were great and provided milk whenever required and heated it up. we had a family room which was more than adequate. It was very cold in Jan 14 and the room was nice and cosy.The facilities are great. We used the swimming pool and bowling alley. The bowling alley is a little expensive at 30 euros a game but it is convenient. The food at the hotel was very tasty. we had breakfast and lunch. Great hotel!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear pritty p,

Thank you for writing this review about your stay at our hotel. Nice to read that the whole family enjoyed our hotel and services. We have passed on your compliments to our staff. We hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Ihave been staying here three times on business/conference trips to visit a nearby research institute and was never disappointed. Friendly staff and the rooms, food and service are all good price for value.
The place is easy to reach by car, and there are buses from Utrecht Central station. Taking the bus will require a short (ca.500 m) walk from the bus station, and the pedestrian route is not well indicated.
Those who have business in the city centre, however, should therefore perhaps consider booking somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear stdf62,

Thank you for your time to write about your stay at our hotel. Nice to read that you appreciate our services and our convenient location for your trips in particular. We hope to welcome you again when staying in Utrecht.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Alton, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I was at the hotel to be a speaker at a Conference. My first trip to Utrecht, and this hotel has a wonderful location. As you can see from the pictures, it is situated on a large property with the feeling of being in the country. But the hotel is close to all city amenities. The room was spacious, decorated very nicely, and the bath was very modern and spacious with both a shower and a bath. The hotel service was excellent, and the food in the restaurant was also top quality. While I was here on business, I would recommend the hotel as a vacation spot.also

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMitlandUtrecht, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear ra4fda,

Thank you for your review and your uploaded pictures of our hotel. We are pleased to read that you loved our location, our restaurant and your hotelroom. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mitland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mitland

Address: Arienslaan 1, 3573 Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Business Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Green Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mitland 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of Utrecht near the city centre offers Hotel Mitland a wonderful view of the old De Bilt fortress. Enjoy our quiet location in a speldid park, our luxuriously furnished hotel rooms and our restaurant, swimming pool, sauna, fitness and bowlingcentre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mitland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitland Hotel Utrecht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mitland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.