We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel thats not too stuffy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mitland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mitland to your Saves list
Hotel Mitland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arienslaan 1, 3573 Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality hotel thats not too stuffy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I travel most weeks to Utrecht and Zeist and this is one of my favourite hotels in the area as it meets a nice mix of business needs without being too stuffy.

Rooms have been redecorated lately and although they like to use a lot of light brown, the rooms are modern and fresh with air conditioning. Rooms over the lake have a balcony and if you are on the ground floor that side of the hotel, you also get a small sitting area outside. One of the few hotels in the area to have a swimming pool although a little small.

Staff are always friendly and always do their best to help you.

As with most hotels there is a charge for the internet but i like the fact this is one of the few hotels in the area that does Not use Swisscom and its over inflated prices with slow response. If you book the executive rooms, the service is free with a 20mb speed and thats a rather pleasent surprise.

If your a single business traveller, then the fact you can eat at the bar is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Book a lakeview, its prettier and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    149
    34
    11
    3
See reviews for
49
81
20
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tervuren
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Hotel is fine but dated and a little over priced (this appears to be a theme in Utrecht as the NH are also pricey). The Mitland is an OK 3 star hotel, the rooms are renovated but only superficially, they still look and feel dated. I stayed in a superior room with lake view.

Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff, a large variety of food and prices on the dinner menu, clean room.
Cons: Expensive parking, Expensive internet access, Noisy restuarant and bar that feel too much like a canteen in a hospital.. which negates against a menu with dishes costing up to €33. Dated look to the place.. didn't have a 4 star feel.. Besides the manager I was the only person there wearing a suit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanzim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

The hotel is surely NOT 4 star quality - the rooms are very small and run down. the carpet was dirty and where a bar fridge should have been there is a void with wires hanging. The bed linen stiff and hard. Parking is NOT free and you get that info as a nasty surprise on arrival. Wireless internet is available at a very steep cost.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementteam030, Manager at Hotel Mitland, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Dear Mr. Willem,

I send you an e-mail to send me your contactdetails. I hope we can discuss your experience and solve the problems.

Thank you very much in advance to send us an e-mail with your contactdetails. When I received your e-mail I will contact you as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Mitland

Sandra Relleke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

The Hotel Mitland is a bit removed from the Utrecht old town and center, but it offers you a good 4 star hotel experience. There were some small oddities in the pool and sauna area: lockers required 50 cent coin (which is returned) to operate and the jacuzzi were also coin operated. Otherwise the saunas (normal and steam) and the pool were quite nice. We only ate english breakfast (which was OK) at the hotel, so can't say much about the food quality.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

My trip to Utrecht was really a short and hurried one. Hence, I needed a place which would give me the glimpse of a true contemporary yet holding its values "Dutch style". And Hotel Mitland gave me just that. A Hotel that is so magnificiently modern and yet traditional at heart. Warmest welcome that I've ever received at a hotel - keep it up, Mitland!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

A splendid hotel in large grounds with spotless rooms. Rooms are big by European standards and the bathrooms well appointed. Breakfasts very good indeed and even included Bucks Fizz. Helpful staff who spoke good English (no surprise there). It was abit of a walk to get the bus into town but these buses are very regular and the easiest way of getting around if you haven't got a bike. The food in the bistro isn't too expensive but the Table d'hote is.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

I stayed at the Mitland hotel for 10 days on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised by both the quality and lovely location. The décor is typical Dutch and very contemporary, a fresh perspective from the standard American Marriott hotels. My room was spacious, well laid out, and very clean. It overlooked the pond out back with swans, ducks and the sunrise each morning. It had a balcony so you could go out to smoke if desired or just enjoy the clean fresh air and the view. The bathroom was spacious with a tub separate from the walk in shower, complete with lots of nice toiletries, plenty of towels, 2 bathrobes and slippers. The bed was a full queen bed, not the typical two single beds and very comfortable. Flat screen TV, mini-bar, full length mirror, in-room safe, WI-FI, reading lights and a very spacious closet. I never ordered room service because the lounge and restaurant had a great atmosphere overlooking the pond with lots of windows and different areas to sit in, including a very spacious lounge areas outside on the decks. The breakfast in the morning was European style with plenty of choices from eggs, different breads, sausages, bacon, coffee, espresso, cappuccino, pancakes, cereals, meats, cheeses, 4 different juices and much more. It was buffet style so you could eat in a hurry or take your time. I never ate lunch there but had several meals at night. The menu was very diverse from pasta, steak, fish, chicken and many different salads and sides. For a hotel restaurant, the food was surprisingly good and very reasonably priced (18 euro for an entrée). One real pleasant surprise at this hotel is the bowling alley. Very cool! It also had a nice indoor pool which was usually quiet and very private. There are also Turkish tubs, sauna, steam room and tanning salon in the pool area and an adjacent fitness center which I never used because I got in all of my exercise by walking around the pond, Utrecht centre and Amsterdam. All of this will large picture windows overlooking the pond. Walking around the pond was fabulous with lots of nature and very nice canal homes to look at. It’s quiet, clean and very safe with joggers, bikers and even horseback riders. There is a soccer field adjacent to the hotel and always a game available to watch. The hotel also rents bicycles for 15 euro/day which is a must for sightseeing thru Utrecht. You can walk to the centre of Utrecht from the hotel, it’s only about a 20 minute walk but cycling is much more fun and can get you around faster. A taxi to the centre is about 12 euro one way. There is a grocery store about 15 minute walk if you need to buy any food or drinks. I have also stayed at the NH Utrecht Hotel next to the train terminal and I would highly recommend the Mitland over the NH Utrecht in terms of quality, atmosphere and amenities.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
1.2 mi away
Mary K Hotel
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 20 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Utrecht
Park Plaza Utrecht
#10 of 20 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Star Lodge Hotels
Star Lodge Hotels
#7 of 20 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
4.8 mi away
Carlton President
Carlton President
#4 of 20 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mitland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mitland

Address: Arienslaan 1, 3573 Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Green Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
#4 Business Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mitland 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of Utrecht near the city centre offers Hotel Mitland a wonderful view of the old De Bilt fortress. Enjoy our quiet location in a speldid park, our luxuriously furnished hotel rooms and our restaurant, swimming pool, sauna, fitness and bowlingcentre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Mitland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitland Hotel Utrecht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mitland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.