We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Utrecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added NH Utrecht to your Saves list
NH Utrecht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jaarbeursplein, 24 | Central Station Area, 3521AR Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Bangalore, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The stay was very comfortable as it was a hectic business trip I had made 4 years ago. The location suited me as it is accessible to the city centre. the rooms are modern, the breakfast was awesome and the staff were professional and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan van Z, Manager at NH Utrecht, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sathyasree,
It is a pleasure to read you have had a comfortable stay in our hotel during your trip.
Thank you for your nice comments on the service of our staff and our breakfast.
we will be happy to see you again in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Jan van Zanten
Assistant Hotel Manager NH Utrecht
j.zanten@nh-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    150
    135
    65
    32
See reviews for
32
98
42
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I recently stayed at the NH Utrecht for 2 nights for business. Overall, great location, but not a great hotel. the hallways on the floors and the rooms were dingy in a manner that was not conduscive to a good nights sleep.

First the pluses:
1. At just 1 1/2 blocks from the train station, it is quick, easy and inexpensive to get here from Schipohl airport or amsterdam. Additionally, it is a short walk to a variety of central-Utrecht attractions.
2. I though cost was reasonable - i paid ~ 120 Euros/night. You can consider if you think this is reasonable!
3. Staff was pleasant, efficient and helpful.
4. Free Wifi, perfectly adequate for email, but rather slow for big files
5. I had breakfast included, and breakfast was fine - nothing special, but ok.
6. Elevator requires using your key before entering your floor. I know many folks have said this is a negative, but this is not that unusual and is good for security/limiting access to floors with sleeping rooms. That said, i am not sure that Utrecht requires this level of security.

Now the downsides:
1. rooms and hallways on room floors were worn-appearing and prsence of stains - for example, in my sink - gave the impression of the room being dirty when it really wasnt.
2. Bed and pillows were very average - not particularly comfortable, not awful.
3. i stayed 2 nights, and while i don't think linens need to be changed every night, there was a small stain on my linens that i caused on the first night, and it was still there on the second night - they didn't change the pillow case.
4. Room lighting was dim.


My room wasn't carpeted - synthetic wood-look flooring - but very clean. So your call if this is a plus or a minus. Probably a plus in my mind.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan van Z, Manager at NH Utrecht, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear GDC076,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at NH Utrecht on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to read your detailed review, and your positive remarks about our location, staff and our free wifi.
We know that our hotel is not the newest in town, but we do our utmost to make sure the rooms are clean and all equipment is working. I am happy to tell you that in the coming 2 weeks we will be replacing all our beds and mattresses, pillows will be done shortly after.
I have passed your remark about the stain on the pillow case to our housekeeping team, this should have been replaced, my apologies this has not been done.
Unfortunately we will not be able to change the lighting immediately, however I will make a note on our "wishlist" when refurbising plans will be made.

Once again we are very greatful for your detailed review about our hotel and are looking forward welcoming you in NH Utrecht again.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can do for you.

Kind regards,
Jan van Zanten
Assistant Hotel Manager
j.zanten@nh-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Malo, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The NH is conveniently located next to the central train station. Easy for the bus to get there, and our driver could even park next to the hotel the evening before our check-out. Our room was very modern, comfortable, and pleasant. Lobby staff very efficient and helpful. Even though we arrived too early, all rooms for our group were ready. Elevator works very fast, but you need the room key to go up (good for security). Breakfast is extensive, but not really the best. Scrambled eggs did not taste; meats were not so good, and the choice of cheese (for Holland) surprisingly small. But good overall. Wifi works very well in the room and is free. To get to downtown takes ca. 10 minutes through the train station, which is very busy. In our room the bathroom sink had a drainage problem, and we reported it at 6 p.m. When we came back at 9:30 p.m., nothing had been done. We called again, and only then did a person come and fixed it. Room has a fridge and flat tv. I needed a room for my group to hold a seminar, but they did not have anything available without a charge. We settled for the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan van Z, Manager at NH Utrecht, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear aclassen,

Thank you for review about NH Utrecht on Tripadvisor and your nice comments about our rooms and staff.
I am sorry to read you have had to ask twice to fix a drainage problem in you room. This should not have happened, please accept my genuine apology.
Your feedback about the breakfast is taken into account by our breakfast workforce. Currently our Antiox breakfast is being reviewed for all Dutch NH Hotels and adaptations will be made on short term. We also serve a daily fresh prepared egg dish during breakfast. Please do not hesitate to ask for it next time you will be visiting an NH Hotel.

I am looking forward welcoming you again at our hotel and please feel free to contact me at any time if there is anything I can do for you.

Kind regards,
Jan van Zanten
Assistant Hotel Manager
j.zanten@nh-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel is in need of a complete make over. Wall paper in the hall falling of the wall, it looks like a warzone. Room is very smelly and the airco made a lot of noise. Not like other NH hotels where we have stayed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I have hesitated before booking this hotel du to the negative comments that I read. I have decided to book anyways since it was close to central station and I wanted to be able to also visit Amsterdam. I didn't regret my choice. Yes the rooms need to be refreshed but they are clean and comfortable. The staff is amazingly friendly! A special tanks to Leonardo and sabahatin at the bar! Wow! What an amazing service! Thank you guys for you warm welcome and service all along my stay!
The hotel is 2 minutes walk to train station and 10 minutes walk to downtown Utrecht. I would come back to this hotel anytime and would greatly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. It was just outside the train station. The hotel was trendy and modern and the staff was helpful.

The room was modern and had a great view of the city. The free wi-fi was good and I was able to plan the next day's itinerary in great comfort.

I didn't realize the breakfast was complimentary. Later I looked at it -- it looked great with eggs and beans and breads and pastries.

I definitely would come back on another visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed at th NH Utrecht whilst visiting Utrecht for a wedding.

The check in was quick, very helpful staff running the front desk who also arranged that we could get an early check-in which was a real bonus. Bar staff, cleaners everyone were equally friendly & efficient. Our room on floor 10 was large, clean, comfortable bed & had everything that we needed. Location is great, 5 minute walk & your into the city centre. Parking is limited directly outside the hotel, we had to pay 17.50 for 24hrs, expensive but very handy.

Only downside was that it seemed to take an age for the lifts to come, especially when going down to the lobby in the morning & having to use your room key/card for going up in the lift.

We found the optional breakfast very expensive, but it was very good!

Would certainly stay there again when we are in the area, great hotel for the price you pay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Utrecht

Address: Jaarbeursplein, 24 | Central Station Area, 3521AR Utrecht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among historic canals and quaint streets, the NH Utrecht provides guest with a centrally located yet peaceful urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your NH Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Utrecht Hotel Utrecht
Nh Hotels Utrecht
Nh Hotel Utrecht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Utrecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;