We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for women travellers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Utrecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added NH Utrecht to your Saves list
NH Utrecht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jaarbeursplein, 24 | Central Station Area, 3521AR Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Utrecht
Quezon, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for women travellers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

First, the hotel's location is superb. Get off the Utrecht train station, follow the sign to exit jaarbursplein. At the top of the escalator going down the exit, you will already see the signage of the hotel welcoming you. its just a few minutes walk away from the station. its also just a few minutes walk to many, many attractions in utrecht. Dom tower, canal cruise, old canal, university, museums, theater, exhibition halls, etc. This is the best hotel in terms of location.

The room we got was nice and comfy. admittedly its not new. but well-kept. i love the soap, shampoo, lotion amenities. its so feminine!

The tea and coffee selection that was replenished fresh each morning was a nice touch. we spent enjoyable cups of coffee/tea each morning before we head off to our day, and end the evening with a warm cup of tea (or two) while enjoying the view courtesy of the spacious window facing the Beatrix theater.

There is also free wifi, so we kept up with what's going on in the world, the tv also has dependable BBC. There was one day in our trip that rained all day, we stayed indoors most of the day, but still enjoyed the day because of the wifi, the telly and the coffee/tea.

i love the paintings and other works of art that adorn the hotel. and was pleasantly surprised that they are all for sale. if you like it, you can take it home! nice touch!

this is a wonderful hotel. i love Utrecht. i also love NH Hotel utrecht.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Beatrix theater offer interesting sights every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    214
    182
    82
    39
See reviews for
42
136
47
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

old concrete buildin - but just next to train station directly connected to shiphol airport, and pretty close to everything. nic estaff, very helpful and polite - but quite room walls dirty and all the spacious room is quite shabby (see photos), with squeaking central air condition (you cannot turn it off and the high building has all windows sealed) and a tv where the volume needs to be adjusted for every single station.
breakfast nice, as it is somehow tradition in NH in my experience - but the dining room is too sall for the monstrous hotel and you may wait a good 15-20 minutes for seat - or you eat standing (as i did).
worst of all is the wifi; the "free one" is extremely slow reminding the old times of dial up (/do not hope in skype, and even not in download of larger attachments of your emails), and you need to ask reception for new wifi voucher (new login and password) every time after you download or upload 100 MB (which is nothing in the period of cloud computing and storing) - very annoying, which ultimately brings you to buy "premium" 10 euro voucher with still slow, but much better speed and no volume limit. this seems to be standard in NH and it must be some remnant of late 1990s.
all and all: if you need just stay overnight and close to everything during a business trip, this is a perfect place; but buy a room without breakfast unless you love standup eating.
if you are to stay in utrecht for the whole day longer and want to enjoy the hotel, you'd better look for something more pleasant and with better value/price ratio.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have spent one night in the NH hotel of Utrecht. This hotel is quite OK, but several aspects could be improved. There are also better hotels in Utrecht, I think.

Positive aspects
+ Location of the hotel: very easy to access from the central train station of Utrecht. It is directly in front of it. The hotel is not really in the city center, but it is just on the other side of the railways, so it starts just some minutes on foot further
+ Employees are quite friendly and are welcoming
+ Check-out was quick and efficient
+ The infrastructure of the hotel is globally good. For instance there are several lifts, which is needed since there are lots of floors in this building
+ The sleeping room is quite big
+ The room and the bathroom were well cleaned
+ The equipment is quite complete in the room with mini-bar, TV, desk, armchairs, water boiler for a tea or a coffee, safe, ironing device, etc.
+ The conditioning and heating system in the room can be regulated separately and is working well. So it is possible to heat well the room in winter or in autumn
+ The sound insulation is good: you do not hear noise from the corridor or from the neighbor rooms

Negative aspects
- Check-in was not efficient at all. And what for to ask “have you already been in a NH hotel in the past?” if anyway we need to feel completely the form at the arrival, even if I have already been in several NH hotels and even in NH hotels in the Netherlands??? Thus, there is really a problem to save the data or to access to it in the IT system of the NH hotel group.
- The hotel looks quite old. The rooms and the bathrooms are also quite old. It would be time to begin to renovate completely the hotel. It has been used already and you can see it.
- Prices are high for what you receive and like always in NH hotels, nothing is included. You need to pay extra for the breakfast which is very expensive for what it is, for instance.
- Internet connection is for free, but the wireless signal is not good. It is not possible to watch a video online for instance, or not possible to work with a good access to your company’s server.
- TV is small and available channels are really not numerous. Lots of channels have a too bad signal to be watched.
- Sleeping quality was not bad, but average: the bed was too soft and the pillow too hard according to me
- The towels in the bathroom were already quite old, not so soft anymore; it would be time to give new ones
- Mountings in the bathroom are quite old

Globally the hotel is average. It is not bad but it is looking old. It would be time to renovate the hotel. And as usual in NH hotels, it is quite expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Spent a night here when visiting utrecht for queensnight. On the outside the hotel doesn't look promising as its just a concrete tower. However the staff is welcoming and very friendly and the rooms are nice and spacious. The elevators however seem a bit dated as they're quite small and slow. Location wise this is perfect for a visit to the city. Conveniently located right next to the trainstation and just a stroll away from the city center with plenty of bars, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Still very much a business / functional hotel. Good location less than 5 minutes from Utrecht main station & 15 minutes walk into the canal area of Utrecht.
Staff friendly & helpful. Breakfast still remains chaotic!
Rooms are clean & relatively large. For the Info-Sec event at the nearby Conference centre a great location. In my opinion a pure business hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as close to the lift / ground floor as possible. As when busy the lifts are really sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

When we arrived we were very surprised at the big size of or room and the beautiful city view because of the low cost of the hotel. On our second night we decided to treat our selfs and order room service. We got two amazing fillet steaks and chips which were pricey but well worth the money, cooked to perfection. The best part of our stay was the last night which we spent in the hotel bar chatting to a fellow traveller and enjoying the amazing selection of cocktails. (maybe a bit to much haha). The bartender Sebastian was especially helpful in supplying us with these (",) and once he found out we were from Ireland told me about his great interest in our country and its whiskey. I mostly found this hotels staff, food, position and price to be great compared to the many others I have stayed in as my sister lives in utrecht for years now. I would highely recommend it to anyone visiting utrecht.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the NH hotel for business visiting for work I think the rooms are big but very dirty in my room there was mould in the bathroom and dust layer on the wall next to my bed.. This hotel had its time I believe it needs some serious refurb and investments... The worst part was the WiFi I could not even make a Skype call back home because of the poor connection! Especially for a business hotel these things should be basic... Very sad

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NH Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Utrecht

Address: Jaarbeursplein, 24 | Central Station Area, 3521AR Utrecht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among historic canals and quaint streets, the NH Utrecht provides guest with a centrally located yet peaceful urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, NHHotels, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your NH Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Utrecht Hotel Utrecht
Nh Hotels Utrecht
Nh Hotel Utrecht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Utrecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.