We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, worn out, dreadful internet service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Utrecht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Utrecht to your Saves list
NH Utrecht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jaarbeursplein, 24 | Central Station Area, 3521AR Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Middle England
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Tired, worn out, dreadful internet service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I chose this over the NH Central as I thought it would be easier to find from the station.

Usual catalogue of errors for the NH chain..I turn up late in the evening and am checked into a smoking room - which I don't realise until the next day. Although it is an "executive" room, the carpet is worn, the paint work is dented and chipped, and the curtains too short.

Second evening, I have to go downstairs and asked to be moved, as the smell is too much. I get downgraded to a "regular" room - which turns out to be much nicer - even though there are fewer amenities in the bathroom, no make up mirror, and no minibar. There is a large stained patch on the carpet outside the room, and the door looks as if it has been kicked open at some point.

The hotel has 20 floors, and 3 very small, very slow lifts. These also could do with some TLC - the paintwork is chipped, and there are chunks out of the woodwork.

The lobby bar is a saving grace - the staff are friendly, the menu is good. As long as it isn't cold outside, it's fine - because everytime the door to the terrace is opened, there is a howling gale through the place. Guess where the smokers go - don't sit too near the door. And service is also slow. I also asn't overly impressed with the number of people who manage to get just outside the revolving doors before stopping to light up - there must have been 20 to 30 people one day - not nice.

The internet - what can we say? I checked in Monday, and it was working OK in the evening. I went out to work Tuesday, came back, it wasn't working. Wednesday I had planned to work from the hotel - emails, web conferencves etc - no internet. I spend 20 minutes on the phone to our company IT unhelp dept, complaining; eventually I decide to see if it works in the lobby - no such luck. so no internet, and no phone. Can't wait to see how much an hour and a half on my mobile is going to cost. Thursday, no internet. A sign in reception would be useful here...

Plus points - the bathrooms and the sheets were clean and the bed wasn't too soft. The chair is too low to sit at the desk for working, and there aren't enough lights. Or switches. The curtains dont meet in the middle, so it's never dark. The entire are surrounding is a building site, and there's no parking. The air con is a unit under the window which is ancient, and really noisy. Even when it's switched off, it sits and gurgles! At least it;s efficient.

Next time, I stay elsewhere. The wifi is free - so you can't even ask for a refund!

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    164
    146
    71
    32
See reviews for
35
109
44
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The NH Utrect is located within 400 meters of the central train station and also 400 meters from the local convention center. The breakfast buffet during the week from 7-10 am is very good with a wide variety of fruits, cereals, eggs and mini pancakes. These are the positives for this little bit worn hotel. I stay in room 314 which has a sever musty smell do not get this room is possible. The carpeting is in need of changing in many rooms and few room appears to updated pergo flooring. The bathrooms are in needs of being updated all the ones on the third floor regular room have shower curtains which for a guys my size get a bit not friendly.
This is just a wee bit worn down hotel...for the price it's acceptable.
I will give the bar staff in the evening high kudos for excellent service and being some really nice friendly folks. The staff at the front desk is extremely helpful and professional.

The internet service for WiFi was a real problem during my stay here and went out for many days.

Room Tip: do not get room 314. The executive rooms are much nicer than the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is very close to the train station and main bus hub. There is construction going on at this time (mid-2012). When you walk through the long mall connected with the station you leave right at the old town so the location is OK. Rooms are decent but nothing above average. At the fitness center most of the equipment didn't work or not to good. Breakfast is nice with many healthy options. To use the free eireless you have to stay i the lobby and type special codes every 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Select a room on the wide which does not face the construction works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the NH Hotel in Utretch and we had a lovely stay. The Hotel was very accommodating and friendly; as we were flat hunting for our daughter who is due to do her Masters at the University we needed lots of help with directions and the receptionist could not have been more helpful.

We loved the laid back feel of the City, and enjoyed the evenings watching the bicycles whizz past with riders of every shape and size.

Parking is at a premium in the City so would suggest either hiring a bike or using public transport as this seemed very frequent.

Cant wait to go back in a couple of weeks time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, UK
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The rooms in this hotel do not match the grandeur of the lobby or indeed the standard of rooms across the NH brand.

However, staff were friendly and polite, I was able to park my car directly outside for 17,50 EUR. Staff pointed out that there's a cheaper garage not too far from the hotel. We were checked in early which was appreciated and given a map and vouchers for the free wifi which is now available across the hotel. It was a bit slow at times to be honest, I'd be annoyed if I'd paid for it!

The rooms were kind of 1990's style and tired looking, they were clean - but just lacked a bit of taste and renovations. The room didn't have air conditioning but was tolerable... The bar is cosy and prices didnt seem too bad really. Location wise it's a good 15 minute walk to the old town through the train station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good breakfast with very helpfull staff. Rooms bit out dated and surroundings subject to renovations. Nice walk from the city centre. Nexttime when I will visit Utrecht I will book another hotel. Try to book more in the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Dutch pride themselves on finding good values when traveling, and this is a model example of a lousy value.

The good: Breakfast is wonderful. It's also a nice place to listen to other hotel guests crack jokes about how awful the hotel is.

The meh: The hotel rooms themselves are about average for an old hotel, but not worth the price NH charges for them.

The bad: The hotel simply is just ugly. It is in need of renovation ... and there signs of attempts to renovate it (i.e., an exposed, day-glo-colored segment of wall in a corridor), but they really should take it seriously ... or at least finish what they've started.

The hilarious: The staff just don't care, and are happy to express their annoyance with you if you should ever bother them.

The truly awful: WIFI is a joke. Don't even try to use it. Access from the room did not work for me, and I had to go to the lobby, and type in tedious access codes every 30 minutes to connect with a slow link.

Room Tip: If you absolutely have to stay at an NH hotel, go to the other NH hotel in Utrecht (NH Centre). The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Utrecht

Address: Jaarbeursplein, 24 | Central Station Area, 3521AR Utrecht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among historic canals and quaint streets, the NH Utrecht provides guest with a centrally located yet peaceful urban retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Utrecht Hotel Utrecht
Nh Hotels Utrecht
Nh Hotel Utrecht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Utrecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.