We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Utrecht” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosendael

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rosendael to your Saves list
Rosendael
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Hekelsteeg 7, 3511 AK Utrecht, The Netherlands (Lange Elisabethstraat Mariaplaats)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Utrecht B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Utrecht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This isn't really a traditional B&B, it's actually an apartment with breakfast provided - for the same price as a B&B which is pretty cool! Hans, the owner was very welcoming and told us all we needed to know about the local area, we had our own keys and could come and go as we please. The apartment itself was slap bang in the middle of Utrecht, literally around the corner from the canal and main attractions. It was clean and welcoming with a nice roof terrace regularly patrolled by Hans' three very friendly cats (Hans lives next door). It had free Wifi and a cupboard full of leaflets about things to do in Utrecht. Hans put our breakfast in the fridge in the evening whilst we were out, so we were free to sleep in and eat when we wanted. He was also happy for us to stay a little longer (as he didn't have a guest staying that night) so we could see a little more of the city before we left
Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in July and could not have wished for better accommodation.The location is seconds from the Oudegracht and all the bars and restaurants and shops yet totally calm and peaceful.The apartment is spacious and stylish and with the hot weather was ideal as we had the shaded roof terrace at our disposal.Hans and his wife provided such warm hospitality and even a welcoming bottle of wine.
Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast selection superb.We had the use of the Museumcards which saved us quite a lot of money and good advice re restaurants etc.Rosendael is far and away the best B/B accomodation we have experienced and fully deserves its excellent rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Location of this gem is perfect. Down town, middle of everything.
We had whole apartment at our use, kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom with washing machine.
Owner asked us, what are our breakfast prefers and loaded frizz with them.

Best B&B experience ever! Coming back there? Absolutely!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We (wife, son and I) enjoyed a wonderful stay at Rosendael for 2 days during a spring break visit to our daughter, who is studying abroad at Utrecht University. We can highly recommend Rosendael (and agree with the "perfect 5" scores from all other reviewers), for the following reasons:

First, the location - a 5 minute walk from the Central train station and close to several bus stops; literally a 10 second walk from the canal and its many shops, restaurants and bars.

Second, the owner Hans - a gracious, informative and helpful man who has really thought about how to make this place (he owns and operates several other B&B's in town, but this one is next to where he himself lives and he is very accessible for ideas and suggestions) comfortable and special; he has decorated the rooms himself with art and furniture from around the world and it all comes together brilliantly; needless to say, Hans has stocked the unit with ample blankets, towels, kitchenware, museum passes (which we used to visit the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam that had just reopened after a decade long renovation), maps and guidebooks.

Third, the value - the pricing for this place is almost unbelievably fair; when you add to that the fact that Hans brings over a spread worthy of a restaurant for breakfast, plus not needing to spend for transportation to/from the central station, the value for money makes Rosendael a great deal; regarding the breakfast, it is really delicious, as well as generous - we had leftovers from our first day and told him he needn't replenish everything for the second day, but he did anyway, which was appreciated, as we had much to snack on when we returned to the room.

B&B's may not be for everyone, but this split level gem was just right for what we wanted during our stay in Utrecht.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Rosendael for two nights and couldn’t have picked a better B&B.
The apartment is perfectly sized and nicely decorated. I couldn’t imagine a better location as it’s a 5-10 minute walk from the train station (although half of this is going through the shopping mall which is the main exit route from the train station) and 20 seconds away from the main canal and the canalside cafes and restaurants.
The B&B is split over two floors: living rooms are on the first floor, up a flight of stairs from the street and the bedroom/bathroom is up another flight of stairs from there. The B&B has its own little kitchen so you could cook your own dinner if you didn’t want to eat out in any of Utrecht’s fine restaurants and cafes. (There is a Hema supermarket just around the corner to pick up supplies).
The hosts are very friendly, informative and speak fluent English.
Breakfast is amazing and should be relabelled Brunch as there is so much food there’s enough left over to make a packed lunch (which we did).
The apartment also comes with two Museum cards you can borrow so if you plan to visit a museum or two while in Utrecht you will save a bundle as most charge around €8-9 for entry.
Add all this to the fact Utrecht is a lovely place and you’ve got a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at Rosendael for a weekend in November 2012. It was my first visit and I hope it will be the first of many. The accommodation was excellent - the best I have ever experienced. The apartment is located in the very centre of Utrecht, yet it is a very quiet and peaceful location. It is within walking distance of Utrecht Central Railway Station (about 5-10 minutes). It is centrally located to all the local attractions, such as the Dom and the shopping areas, in this very quaint and historic city, with attractive street scapes and interesting shops.

The apartment is tastefully decorated - it is very warm and homely. The furnishings and decor are beautiful and the kitchen is fully equipped with utensils. Upstairs, the ensuite bedroom has a very comfortable bed.

I was highly impressed with the apartment and with all the help, information and advice provided by the hosts. I have already booked a return visit and I am looking forward to it. If you are planning a trip to Utrecht, I would highly recommend Rosendael.

Outstanding accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here with my parents in late October this year. As noted in other reviews, just a short walk from Utrecht Centraal... and even closer to the central shopping area, canals, Dom, etc.
Owners were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was lovely and more than I was expecting - a nice surprise.
Utrecht is a beautiful city and Rosendael is a great place to base your holiday from. Much nicer than a hotel, and could easily stay here for a few days.

Room Tip: The whole apartment - on two floors - is yours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rosendael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosendael

Address: Hekelsteeg 7, 3511 AK Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht > Lange Elisabethstraat Mariaplaats
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosendael 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rosendael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosendael, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.