We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very gouda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dom to your Saves list
Hotel Dom
Domstraat 4, 3512 JB Utrecht, The Netherlands (Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Utrecht
Nanjing
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very gouda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I must say that this niche hotel was quaint but memorable. From the weird lift that reminded me of one from an indoor construction site, through the very Dutch breakfast (which is served an hour later on weekends but nobody tells you that) to the eclectic room layout it was all very European but strangely welcoming. This hotel is comfortable and well positioned.

Room Tip: Make sure you close the door after exiting the lift or the next person ail not be able to call it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
24
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant hotel in excellent location. The room very clean and tidy with a good selection of toiletries for free. Comfortable bed and huge TV. Breakfast was typically Dutch with cold meats, cheese, pastries & cereals on offer. I found the lift annoying since you have keep the floor button pressed throughout the assent / decent or the lift stops and it was very slow.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Dom. A lovely building with nicely-decorated common areas, and large, clean, pleasant rooms. The bed was one of the comfiest I've ever slept on in a hotel!

The location was excellent: a few steps away from the Domkerk and Domtoren, and also the Tourist Info Centre - which was very handy. Also, since Utrecht is a small city, it was a quick walk to just about any of the sights that I wanted to visit.

I am a very light sleeper, but didn't have any issues with the bells of the nearby churches keeping me awake. Perhaps I was lucky with the location of my suite, but this wasn't a concern for me (even though I did hear them from the room).

The staff were extremely accommodating, helpful, and pleasant. Thank you to all of them!

The restaurant was undergoing renovations during my visit, so you could order breakfast to your room instead of eating in the dining room. Breakfast was very good; I think the only item to note is that it is not included in the room price; for me, this could have been better clarified in the communications offered by the hotel. But also, I could have simply asked. :)

Overall, a wonderful stay here; would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I stayed in Suite 9: bright, light, relatively quiet room at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very nice hotel.
Good position, just behind the corner of Dom square.
The hotel is made of just a few suites, some facing the back garden (nice and quiet), some facing the Street in front of the hotel.
Room furniture and design are a must in this hotel, very good cleanliness, very friendly staff.
Breakfast and food quality very good.
If I have to find a minus, the docking station in the room works only with Iphone 4..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had dinner here a couple of months ago. We did this during in "Restaurant week", which means you can have dinner for a smaller prioce than usual. Hotel Dom participated in this. I wopuld normally not go to Hotel Dom for dinner as the prices are a little too high to my liking. But this was a great opportunity to do so.
We got an amuse before the menu started, which was good. The food was great and very tasty. Good service as well! We will ga back next Restaurant Week!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I do really like this hotel and have stayed quite a few times now, but the beautiful bells of Utrecht can definitely challenge your rest. Until quite late at night and again around 5.30/6am the bells at local churches start to chime ( and they are close, almost next door). It is part of life here in the centre of town, apparently.

The staff are very friendly, possibly more friendly than they are competent. One night I asked to have a cocktail and the barmaid kept persuading me she knew how to make what I asked for (a vodka martini), even though she asked me 3 time what was in it, of course nothing was correctly made and had to be sent back (and even more worrying, she thought it was a good idea to train her colleague).

They do however, have a great attitude at this hotel and you can't help but want to be their friend. That is the nice thing about the hotel - most of the staff have a good attitude and you see the same regular faces who do what they can to help you.

The rooms are great! Lovely spaces with all the tricks you need - comfortable beds, yoga mats!, baths with jacuzzi and big showers. I particularly loved all the windows (some which open) and the great electric curtains and shades taking you from very light to very dark.

The one area which I don't understand is the restaurant. They have a slightly pretentious menu style which seems to hide their lack of selection and the staff treat it as though you are in a Michelin starred restaurant - and you definitely are not.

An amuse bouche, lots of little touches, and the plates all looked very lovely, but when it came down to it (and I had 5 courses) the best bit was the dessert! The lamb was undercooked, and when I sent it back, the same piece of meat came back to me amazingly only slightly less rare but still with a lot of blood dripping out of it. The "traditional asparagus dish" was fine, but I think anyone in the Netherlands could have cooked it and the other dishes turned out fairly bland. The cheese course was good, again introduced to me slightly pretentiously and I suppose I'm biased as my brother-in-law makes the best cheese in the world and it wasn't on the plate, but it was well sourced and well served.

The hotel does think itself kind of special and for Utrecht, maybe it is, but I'm surprised, because I immediately loved Utrecht and saw it as a vibrant city searching for cool and quality and delivering against both.

Unfortunately for me, this place does have some great elements of quality, but it really does think itself too cool and should probably just take a moment to see why the restaurant is regularly empty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

What I liked: great location in downtown Utrecht, not too much noise from the street, nice interior, both hotel and rooms, staff was friendly enough. Have been here before. Definitely a big disadvantage is the fact that there is no hotel parking. If fact there is not even a not-hotel parking close by. Just the street in front where you will not find a place. Basically the best option (recommended by the hotel) is a parking on 10 minutes walking distance where you will have to carry your luggage from. The explanation was that the hotel did not get a license for a hotel parking which is really not my concern. Normally such a thing would have to be reflected in the hotel price which was a bit high anyway. All in all still one of the better hotels in Utrecht that I have been to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 20 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#12 of 20 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Utrecht
#10 of 20 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
Court Hotel City Centre Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dom

Address: Domstraat 4, 3512 JB Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht > Neude Janskerkhof en Domplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city centre of Utrecht, just several meters from the Dom church you could find our Boutique hotel “Hotel Dom”. In a historic monumental building from the 18th Century we found a way to combine the art and the elegance of an old building merged with modern design and interior. Hotel Dom is a four star Design hotel located in the shadow of the Dom tower.Our hotel counts eleven Suites which two of them are Executive Suites. These last two Suites include a private roof terrace. On our first floor we have four Private Lounges which are especially suited for meetings, drinks and Private Dining.On our Ground Floor we have a Restaurant and Cocktailbar named “Four”. In our Cocktailbar we welcome our guests and hotel guests. The Cocktailbar is a place to relax, meet each other and enjoy bites, great wines and good cocktails. Our restaurant counts 45 seats and views the beautiful and relaxing inside garden.Our name does not only come from the DOM tower but also stands for:Desire, of the beautiful things in life.Opportunities, seeing and creating chances in life.Modesty, the courage to try new things, always charmingly modest and without any pretention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.