We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Geertebolwerk 1, 3511 XA Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The room was spacious and overlooked the lovely garden. We made use of the pool, jacuzzi and sauna-which were a real treat for tired travellers. The price for the room was reasonable, booked at a discounted rate, and parking was cheap in comparison to elsewhere in the city. The location is excellent and easy to find.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    101
    32
    6
    1
See reviews for
31
110
22
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

.... one of the best hotels in Utrecht and believe me: I have seen them all ! The hotel is not the cheapest but good value for your money. Rooms are clean and in most cases the rooms I had had been very comfortable in size and equipment. Very nice SPA center but running outside at the canal is nice as well. From the hotel you have direct excess to downtown Utrecht. Park your car and go out ! If you just like to relax and eat well you can chose the Bistro restaurant. This is first class cooking for a very fair price ! Whatever my choice had been in the past : All was tasty, well prepared and delicious. So all in all : Best you will find in Utrecht !

Room Tip: If you have a chance stay in the main building where rooms are big and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed at the hotel on a recent business trip. Great location near to restaurants and bars and a nice walk from the train station. I stayed in a double room which was large, stunning and luxurious (will try to attach photos). PROs: The bed was very soft and heavenly, the rainforest-style shower was so refreshing, toiletries were delightful, this place had everything.
CONs: Room was badly designed for practical purposes. Beautiful dressing table with no mirror attached, so I ended up sitting on a towel in front of the floor-length mirror to do my make-up. Luckily there was a plug nearby for my straightener,

The mini bar contained large packets of nuts, oddly no chocolate bars, so I called Room Service and they sent me some loose square chocolates from a box for €3, and a diet pepsi for €3. The guy then arrived with a bill for wait for it...€12! Apparently, room service itself costs €6 -if only they had told me this! I will try to attach the photo of my €12 splurge, a bit of a rip-off, so beware! Otherwise a great hotel and I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends for a weekend break. The hotel is clean and pleasant. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are well appointed. Beds are comfortable. There is good wifi coverage throughout. Small gym and a spa. The grounds are well-kept. It is also pleasantly situated just a few steps of the old town. It has a car park in front, which helps in a city like Utrecht. Overall a good place to stay, very correct. However, I am surprised it is rated as five-star, as it lacks the personal touch and the attention of staff one expects in that category. So overall, a convenient and pleasant place to stop, but not quite a destination you would choose to be pampered.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a weekend break - room was a very generous size and very comfortable. Overall decor of the hotel is classic, but feels a bit like a hospital in parts. However the grounds are very lush and spacious and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre. The breakfast is definitely worth having, with high quality produce and excellent service. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

A lovely hotel set in spacious and quiet grounds and yet in the city centre. The rooms are a good size and well-equipped. But what stands out is the friendliness of the staff and the excellent service. I arrived after a minor accident at Schipol and my trousers were covered in blood. Amazingly, the night concierge manage to wash the blood out and he delivered the clean trousers for me in time for breakfast. All the staff were helpful. Breakfast was included and if you order from the menu is really good. Definitely a hotel to return to!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new block are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I had stayed at the hotel during a recent business trip to Utrecht, and i really enjoyed staying there for a couple of days. The location was nice (near to the train station), and the rooms were really spacious.
The breakfast was good, and the room service was also supportive. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid 4th room on the old block... The rain falling on the tin makes some noise... Its all right if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht

Address: Geertebolwerk 1, 3511 XA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.