We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel but not 5 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Geertebolwerk 1, 3511 XA Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel but not 5 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends for a weekend break. The hotel is clean and pleasant. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are well appointed. Beds are comfortable. There is good wifi coverage throughout. Small gym and a spa. The grounds are well-kept. It is also pleasantly situated just a few steps of the old town. It has a car park in front, which helps in a city like Utrecht. Overall a good place to stay, very correct. However, I am surprised it is rated as five-star, as it lacks the personal touch and the attention of staff one expects in that category. So overall, a convenient and pleasant place to stop, but not quite a destination you would choose to be pampered.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    109
    34
    6
    1
See reviews for
34
123
22
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a weekend break - room was a very generous size and very comfortable. Overall decor of the hotel is classic, but feels a bit like a hospital in parts. However the grounds are very lush and spacious and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre. The breakfast is definitely worth having, with high quality produce and excellent service. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

A lovely hotel set in spacious and quiet grounds and yet in the city centre. The rooms are a good size and well-equipped. But what stands out is the friendliness of the staff and the excellent service. I arrived after a minor accident at Schipol and my trousers were covered in blood. Amazingly, the night concierge manage to wash the blood out and he delivered the clean trousers for me in time for breakfast. All the staff were helpful. Breakfast was included and if you order from the menu is really good. Definitely a hotel to return to!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new block are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I had stayed at the hotel during a recent business trip to Utrecht, and i really enjoyed staying there for a couple of days. The location was nice (near to the train station), and the rooms were really spacious.
The breakfast was good, and the room service was also supportive. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid 4th room on the old block... The rain falling on the tin makes some noise... Its all right if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Hotel Karel V is a lovely hotel a stone's throw from the centre of Utrecht. Unfortunately I was on business and only stayed the one night but the hotel was clean, nicely decorated. The bathroom was of a high standard and the beds comfortable. The hotel bar was a big understocked (i.e. only had one brand of gin) but overall a fine place to stay. As I said, I only paid a flying visit, but it is a good hotel and I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

In general this hotel and it's stuff were very very good. Was very clean all the building (reception, breakfast area, rooms, garden etc). It had a very big and beautiful garden.
But, 3 things were not correct for my opinion. The major was that when we arrived and when we checked out the stuff in the reception didn't helped us to take our baggages and make us comfortable and then to discuss about the payment or anything else. A 5* hotel that costs quit lot of money, must first take our baggages and offer us a coffee, jus or water to relax and then do anything else. The 2nd is that the breakfast was very expensive and not so rich according it's price. The 3rd was that the people that worked in the breakfast area were not so speakable with the customers. They just did their job the best the can, but not say something to the customers, not be generous, not have a smile in their mouths. And of course they must learn NOT to take our plates before we finish our food, NOT take our coffees before we drink them at all, not bring the coffees almost always spilled on his plate.

Room Tip: the best was that when we came back in the evening, the curtains and the bed were ready at all every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalre
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Wonderful location, high class hotel. On walking distance of shopping area and restaurants, really in teh center of Utrecht. The hotel has two evry good restaurants, one more or less informal (Brasserie Goeie Louisa) and a top class (Karel V). Really good food!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht

Address: Geertebolwerk 1, 3511 XA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.