We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable place to stay located by the train station and the town center.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Geertebolwerk 1, 3511 XA Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A comfortable place to stay located by the train station and the town center.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a historic facility but nicely redone. It oozes history and European culture while still being comfortable. The property is rather sprawling but that's the price you pay for staying in a historic building complex. The central courtyard is gravel which I found hard to walk on but was part of the ambiance. The bedding was very comfortable. The room was a good size with a seating area. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the train station. I took a taxi, though, upon arrival since I had not been there before and it was a 9,50 euro ride (from the far side of the station). Other days I walked to the station. Utrecht center and its many small eateries are located outside the back of the hotel so within easy walking distance. The room service menu is limited but the hamburger I had upon arrival was excellent. I ate in the braisserie one night and it was the same menu. Their restaurant had a Michelin star but i didn't have a chance to try it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    109
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
34
123
22
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is often used by my company for travel to Utrecht. Service is friendly and responsive. Location within Utrecht is excellent as I is minutes away walk to Utrecht central station which will get you anywhere in the Netherlands. It is also located in the old city near the canals. I recommend the free museum at the Rabobank Nederland headquarters near the hotel also.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

very nice hotel in a beauty full setting with garden and top restaurant downtown with parking space. Rooms are in a classic style and everything was very clean. Rooms are due for a small refreshment like new wallpaper and in this price category maybe a nesspresso machine. staff very helpful and are really there for the guests. from the hotel to downtown 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Karel V hotel is located in an impressive property. Though as a whole the hotel lacks charm and attention to detail. Once you enter the main lobby you see that the hotel is in great need of renovation, the place is vast and somewhat cold with very few furnishings to liven it up. We were placed in the pavilion next door to the main building; I liken this particular building to a college dorm room … very bare and very modern, and not in a good way. To access the pavilion you need to go outside, so it can be bothersome during winter time. Our corner room was just ok; it served its purpose, covering all the basic needs. The décor is very simple, very cheap. I highly recommend an updating of the rooms – less synthetic pillows, less composite wood furniture. The free wifi worked fine in the room. We did not have a chance to try the breakfast buffet. We really loved the location, in the old town center o Utrecht - which we truly enjoyed exploring.

Room Tip: Maybe request a room in the main building. Could have more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghkv, Manager at Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Guilherme,

Thank you for the useful feedback of our hotelroom. We'll definately will consider your recommendations on the roomfurniture. Unfortunately, due to the monumental character of the building, there is not an permanent solution to connect the buildings construction-technical. We added your personal wish of staying in the Napoleontic Wing to your profile.

Kind Regards, Leo Hollman, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a city trip to the historic city of Utrecht. It is located within walking distance from the Dom tower and old city center, in a park like setting. The rooms are very large and well appointed with comfortable beds. Parking your car is a breeze (though not free), and the hotel is easy to find with the help of a GPS or good map. The restaurants lacked ambiance so we did not eat there. The staff is helpful and all in all this is the best hotel for a visit to Utrecht.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very comfortable hotel, easy walk from train station. Good location for city centre. My room was in modern Roman Wing. Also used bar in main building - very friendly. There is a fitness centre with pool, but didn't get to try this unfortunately.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here just one night and ate in the restaurant.
Rooms were spacious and comfortable with large shower and separate bath.
Very Lovely large restaurant with chandeliers , a large elaborate setting with waiters in black tie and tails.
The food was perhaps rather pretentious , too much style over substance. Pleasant flavours and an experience, expensive also . Had I stayed another night I would have looked for another restaurant in the city to try. Recommend the Hotel though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht

Address: Geertebolwerk 1, 3511 XA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.