We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, but not a 4 star accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel Utrecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Hotel Utrecht to your Saves list
Apollo Hotel Utrecht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vredenburg 14, 3511BA Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, but not a 4 star accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The hotel is right in the city center. There are restaurants and shops close by and you can walk to the train station, the fair and exhibition center and through the city. The hotel does not offer its own parking and uses the Vredenburg garage. The parking lot is not that easy to find and also not very clean. You should always take all of your belongings out of the car. There is not really a lobby at the hotel. The entrance leads right up to the front desk and to the stairs or the elevator. The staff at the front desk was ok. The elevator is really really tiny and can only be used by one or two people at the most. I would prefer walking up the stairs once the luggage is in the room. The rooms were suprisingly big and nice, but the bathroom was not. It needs renovation and reminded me of the bathrooms on airplanes. There is no restaurant in the hotel, there is only the breakfast area and a small lounge where you can find a computer with internet access, a coffee maker and some refrigerators with beverages. There are also lists to write down your room number and name in case you took something from the refrigerator. There is no staff around serving the drinks. There are only a few chairs and tables and the lounge is not very nice to sit in. Most people prefer to go into their rooms.

I cannot see why this hotel has 4 stars, 3 would be ok, but 4 is too much. It is ok for a day or two, but only if you have dinner outside and spend most of the day outside the hotel. Some rooms face the big intersection and are very noisy, especially once the construction work starts in the mornings straight across the street.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    91
    83
    37
    23
See reviews for
25
69
33
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ravenstein
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Nice room and for the reduced price I payed a very good stay. Helpfull personel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiloo, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I booked a special deal and therefore was not disappointed but would have been had I payed more. Location is great, in the centre of Utrecht. The room is spacious and nicely decorated. Meant to be 'design' I think, but done a little on the cheap. The laminated floors are very noisy, you can hear every step from your neighbours, every furniture item moving. My main complaint: the shower had only one glass wall, no door, which meant soaking the floor and even the toilet when taking a shower. You have to mop the floor after, with towels, which I hate.
I must say: breakfast is great! An enourmous choice of bread, cold cuts, cheese, yoghurt, pastries, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, even salmon. For breakfast I would go back.
In general: this hotel is not worthy of 4 stars.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I recently stayed at the Apollo for one night. I chose it for its location near the train station as I was travelling alone. The hotel was a great disappointment, not in any way luxurious, very dated and worn. The foyer is tiny and involves lifting your bag up five or six steep stairs. The lift is again tiny and was claustrophobic with 4 people in it. The corridors were scuffed and drab, by this stage I was regretting my choice. The bathroom was again very cramped with a miniscule hand basin and no room for toilettries . The only hotel supplied products were two mounted containers of liquid soap and a combined shampoo and conditioner; very down market and cheap. When the shower was turned on water sprayed over the handbasin and floor. The room itself was bland although a reasonable size. The final insult was when paying 145euro for a night there was an extra fee for using the internet .The photos posted on the hotel website present a very idea of what to expect.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This place is great if you just want a room. More than that and you need to start digging deep. Breakfast is a staggering 18 Euros. Internet access is 9 Euros a day! No car park, no restaurant, no room service, no bar (it's alcohol free). You're told to simply walk around for that kind of thing. Not much good in the freezing winter at 11pm though.
I was very disappointed to be put in this place by my business hosts and don't intend staying here again. I hate DIY hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

utrecht is a lovely city and this hotel is well located, try not to get lost in the very large shopping centre which the station is located inside. Service friendly and helpful however the single rooms are very small and it does feel like a budget hotel although its not meant to be. It is a noisy location and my room had no double glazing the local taxi rank is right out side and if you are front facing you will hear it most of the night.
Watch out for the local tax too.

Room Tip: try not to be facing the front of the hotel opposite construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

On the good side: breakfast was varied, with interesting breads, good cold meats and cheeses, and pretty good coffee. The bathroom was clean, if a bit gloomy and amenity-free, and there was lots of hot water. Apart from that, however, this was a strange hotel. It was rambling and labyrinthine, with lots of anonymous passageways with corners and little flights of stairs suddenly appearing for no clear reason, and lifts that only served certain bits of the hotel. It's been a while since I read Kafka, but I wasn't the only guest to be perpetually confused about where to find the right lift, or the reception area, or breakfast. My room (situated at what the reception clerk called 'the backside of the hotel') had the dismal air of a hostel about it: a strange smell in the room, a pair of low, narrow twin beds, lighting poor, furniture sparse and basic, and a 9 euro daily charge for use of the TV. Sure they offered some free channels: the one in English, labelled 'BBC 2', had poor reception and seemed to offer only endless re-runs of The Weakest Link.
There was no aircon, so the only way to clear the odd smell was to open the French window onto the balcony, which, being almost at ground level, didn't feel too safe.
The situation of the hotel is excellent, close to the rail station and on the edge of the old city. But overall this hotel felt like a 1-star establishment.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Hotel Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Utrecht

Address: Vredenburg 14, 3511BA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre offers modern accommodation right in the heart of Utrecht, only 300 metres from both Central Station and the historic Oudegracht canal. It features an internet lounge and 24-hour reception.All hotel rooms are equipped with a spacious bathroom, a comfortable seating area and tea facilities. They are decorated with bright colours and modern lighting. Some rooms have a panoramic view on the surrounding city scenery.Every morning, Apollo Hotel City Centre offers an extensive breakfast buffet. In-room breakfast is available as well. Guests can catch up on e-mails at the Internet & Coffee Lounge with a free cup of coffee or tea.The city of Utrecht offers characteristic canals, lovely shopping streets, a wide range of museums and the famous Dom Tower. In the surrounding area of Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre, there are many cafés and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Apollo Hotel Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utrecht Apollo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel Utrecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.