We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary K Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mary K Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mary K Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudegracht 25, 3511 AB Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 hotels in Utrecht
Cambridge
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A real gem. A bit pricey, but worth the cost for a one-night stay in the pleasant little Utrecht. The room was comfortable, the bathroom spacious, the bed huge, the decor thoughtfully executed, and the details perfect. The room had aircon, a rarity in houses in the otherwise chilly Netherlands. The interior was old and new at the same time: wooden beams (it's an 18th century building, I think) and modern art.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel is very well located - each room different from the other. Our friends had the one with the garden on the ground floor (furniture of the 60ies), but unfortunately the weather was not on our side and we couldn't have breakfaste there. We stayed on no. 1 called the STUDIO on the ground floor, the third bed (for our girl) was awful and she slept with us. A shame, because everything is really perfect, clean , designed. The kitchenette was perfect and in the morning we had coffee and tea in the room with our firends (they have a NESPRESSO machine installed). Utrecht is a wonderful city. Staff of the hotel freindly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in the medium sized 'Study' room which is in on the ground floor overlooking the main canal in Utrecht. With the blinds up you can see straight in from the pavement outside, but with the blinds down you still get lots of light and the outline of people inside, but you can't see in from outside. Despite being next to the front door, we were not disturbed by other guests coming and going. The curtains are nice and dark and meant that we overslept one day. The decor is modern and functional and includes a kitchennete with microwave. The main bed was very comfy, but the extra third bed was very hard. Everything was very clean.

Breakfast was good and we liked the idea we were only paying for what we wanted rather than taking a few items from an extensive buffet. The staff were all warm and friendly and excited to tell you about what Utrecht has to offer. Utrecht is charming without the huge number of tourists that Amsterdam has; the 60,000 students keep it lively, but it's very easy to walk down a side street and be the only people there.

The hotel is situated on a quiet stretch of the main canal, so it's just a 2 minute walk to the centre of town. It's a 5 minute walk from the train station, where trains to Amsterdam (approx 20 minutes) and Schipol (30 minutes) leave every 15 minutes. We really enjoyed our stay and would return, both to Mary K and Utrecht.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed here for three nights during a recent trip to Europe. Marieke is a wonderful hostess, and all her staff likewise. I had mixed up my bookings, but they accommodated me in spite of me being a day too early without a booking! This is truly a home away from home! I had the fortune to try out two of the rooms (they are all different!), which was a great experience. Very nice selections of teas and coffee in the room (the weather really called for warm drinks during my stay in early April).
Excellent location, lovely brekkie, great dinner recommendations - I really hope I'll be able to return soon to this great little hotel! Thank you all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at Mary K hotel for 3 nights with a friend. I can only agree to all the positive points already mentioned here. The location is excellent, with only a 10 min walk from the central station and a 2 min stroll along 'Oude Gracht' to the historic and busy town centre. We had a comfortable twin room (Lofty B) and were thrilled to discover that it was all that it promised on the pics (it was even more spacious than expected). We especially liked the small details in the room and around the house in general - a personal written greeting from the owner, a small bunch of fresh flowers, lovely decoration ideas - and the small Nespresso machine. I also appreciated the outspoken ecological approach of the hotel. As the window looked out to the small back yard, it was also very quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful - the young woman even helped me drag my suitcase to the second floor (if you're not that quick on your feet maybe ask for a room on the ground or first floor - the very Dutch stairs - meaning steep and narrow - can be quite challenging). We didn't try breakfast as we found it a little expensive and are generally satisfied with just a cup of coffee to start the day. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're not that quick on your feet maybe ask for a room on the ground or first floor - the ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Well for sure we loved the room. It was terrific. Very comfortable and stylish. The hotel is in a great location and you can walk to everywhere you want to see. The breakfast was good (a bit expensive for what you get) but good. The staff was friendly and we really didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I made a quick weekend getaway to Utrecht and booked a room (The Study) at the Mary K.

The hotel's location is very convenient, just up the Oudegracht from all the main shopping. It's central, on the canal, but relatively quiet. It's in a lovely building.

Our room was very large, with comfy seating in a raised part of the room. It has a modern feel, but uses classic furniture. The bedding was very comfortable, although so soft that you might not want to use it long term. But for a single night it's great. It's got nice, modern bathroom facilities, with good bathroom products, and a mini-kitchen with Nespresso maker, microwave and dishes.

My only challenge is that this room was on the ground floor, looking right out onto the street. So we couldn't have our blinds up without everyone on the street being able to see in. I certainly wouldn't book this room again, as there's no privacy if you want to look out.

The staff were very helpful and positive. However, they could have been more responsive when we asked if any other rooms were available instead of the one we had been given. They simply said a vague "no", without checking.

Overall, I would happily stay here if going to Utrecht again. I would just make sure I booked a different room.

Room Tip: Don't book The Study. Opens right onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mary K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary K Hotel

Address: Oudegracht 25, 3511 AB Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 hotels in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary K Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mary K Hotel is a brand new art-hotel situated in a 18th century canal house on the well known ‘Oudegracht’ in downtown Utrecht.She accommodates nine rooms of various sizes and themes. We divided them in Cosy Small, Comfortable Medium and Large Deluxe. But every single one of them is totally different. For example "the Bedstead", where you can eat, sleep, read or watch television while watching the boats pass by. 'The Greenhouse", where you can rest yourself in a retro relaxed atmosphere with a sliding door towards the garden. And 'the Royal Rooftop" a suite with a beautiful canal view. Especially at night when the light come out.The whole interior of the Mary K Hotel was designed together with Utrecht based artists. And in the near future we want to organize exhibitions, cultural events and art workshops.Although Mary K offers you the comforts of a luxury hotel, we aim for the atmosphere to be laid-back, friendly and personal. More like staying at your favorite aunty’s place.We can safely say that we are one of the greenest hotels in Utrecht. During the development and renovation process, we have sourced our materials carefully. And now that we are up and running we do everything we can to work as environmentally friendly as possible. Just because we think that this is the only right way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mary K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary K Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.