We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Utrecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Utrecht to your Saves list
Park Plaza Utrecht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westplein 50, 3531 BL Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Utrecht
Nanjing
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I chose this hotel for its position which is right beside the train station … no noise though. Reception was efficient, breakfast was excellent and the room with wifi fine. I happy can recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Found the rooms to good but the air conditioner to be a little too warm even with adjustment. Staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBroers, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Ardeecee,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It would be great if we were to welcome you back in the (near) future.
Travel safe and kind regards,

Shaun Broers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    276
    153
    50
    16
See reviews for
71
176
56
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed at the hotel again after a gap of 2 years. Found it to be as comfortable and friendly as before. Our room, though on the first floor facing the front had no noise coming in from the outside

The rooms are well fitted with a comfortable bed and worktable. There is an espresso machine for coffee and mini fridge in the room. An ironing table, slippers and bathrobes are standard. The complementary wine and fruits were a delightful add on. WIFI is free and reasonably fast.
Bathrooms have modern fittings with decent toiletries and towels. The shower cubicle is of adequate size.

Breakfast has the standard fare available including eggs to order.

The hotel is well located – a two minute walk through the underground tunnel at the end of the platforms of the Utrecht Central station. Utrecht’s largest shopping mail – Hoog Catherijne – is a short 10 minutes walk away. Walking down to the Utrecht Canal with all the eating-places and pubs too is 15 minutes away.

The staff of the hotel are friendly and helpful. On this visit too, Michel helped me in my visits to attractions around Utrecht.

Certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBroers, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Pravine,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to welcome to you during your next visit to Utrecht.

Best regards,
Shaun Broers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Pretty generic business-type hotel located conveniently within 5 mins of the main Utrecht rail station (although it's not that easy to spot - just head to the NH hotel and keep going). Easy to walk into the centre of town through a slightly grubby set of underpasses beneath the rail tracks, and watch out for cyclists! Comfortable, fairly basic room but clean and absolutely fine for the money. Sauna upstairs is good. Food and bar all more than acceptable. The highlight was the excellent staff who were always alert, helpful and polite. Would certainly stay here again, although there may well be more picturesque/atmospheric choices in the older part of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBroers, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear MajorVoid,

Thank you very much for your honest and clear review.
Great to read that you will be returning to us in the future!
Please ask for city tips at the front desk. I'm sure that you will add Utrecht to your "favorite city list" here on TripAdvisor after that!

Kind regards and travel safe,

Shaun Broers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have been at the Park Plaza Utrecht several times this year. The stays have always been of a business nature and from Monday - Friday (4 nights).

Rooms:
Clean, modern but fairly small and a bit noisy (aircon).

Common Facilities:
Restaurant is of a very good quality.

Service:
Outstanding housekeeping, F&B and Front Office service. The staff of this hotel is of outstanding quality. Exceptional service orientation and highly professional handling of any additional requests - 5 star hotel dedication!

Benefits:
So far highest "felt" recognition of Club Carlson membership status in form of room upgrades and daily(!) refreshed treatments (Concierge Status).

Summary:
Best Club Carlson business hotel in the Netherlands (service-wise)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBroers, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear CCG4,

Wow, What a great compliment! Thank you very much!
We take pride in welcoming our most loyal guests, the concierges!
It is always a pleasure to host your stay in Utrecht.

On behalf of the whole team, thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kindest regards,

Shaun Broers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is that it is close to Central Station. The rooms are reasonable in size and the bathrooms are modern. It is very quiet here at night even though the hotel is surrounded by tracks, roads and very busy bicycle paths. The hotel is situated in the middle of a huge construction site so the surrounding environment is problematic. There are no restaurants, shops or mini-markets within the immediate vicinity of the hotel. The walk to popular restaurants is approximately 15 minutes and is confusing due to the massive construction projects around Central Station. Finding the hotel can be difficult. Be sure to take the Jaarbeursplein exit from Central and then walk towards the mosque after which you will see the hotel on the right. Be aware that some of the staff at reception are inept at dealing with credit cards without both a chio and a pin. While ultimately being able to resolve the issue, it can be an annoying way to start your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBroers, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear ktw53721,

Great to hear that you appreciated our hotel.
Having credit card hassles when checking in is always annoying! So please trust that we used your review internally as an example emphasizing "that it's the small things that can make the difference".
Hope to see you back in Utrecht any time soon!

Kind regards,

Shaun Broers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Comments by others suggest that the hotel is close to the railway station. It's close to the tracks, all right, but the extensive building works taking place to the station/shopping centre mean that it's not easy to get to the station. So, it may be better to leave one's stay until one can be certain that the building works are over - probably end of 2014. It should also be remembered that most of the tourist attractions of the city are the other side of the tracks and the shopping centre.

The rooms are of a reasonable size and are clean and well-serviced, but don't merit the title of "superior". They need to be updated somewhat, including the removal of baths and replacement by showers. (Good to have a fridge and safe, but does that make a room superior?)

The rooms can be obtained at a good rate, so I guess you get what you pay for.

The food is very limited. I am intrigued by the comments that items marked on the menu with a V are described as either vegetarian or can be prepared in a vegetarian manner. Does that apply to a "Meat Sandwich". A Caesar Salad with chicken had a V. Omelette and fish dishes are not vegetarian. C'mon people, be honest! I'm NOT a vegetarian, so I'm not on a crusade here.

Overall - no more than average....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBroers, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Roger P,

Thanks for your feedback! We will use the information provided to enhance service and review our menu presentation.

Hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Shaun Broers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gelderland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I had a business meeting at the top floor of Park Plaza Utrecht accompanied by a dinner. The Tunafish Carpaccio was fine. After this starter, the waiter took my plate away but left the cutlery and told me that I needed my used fork & knife for reuse with the next course. I thought that this practice using the same cutlery throughout the dinner vanished with the introduction of the dishwasher
The location is great, you shoul now how to enter it from the railway station.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBroers, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Gelderlander,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel.
Of course, we were -unpleasantly- surprised to read that you were asked to re-use your cutlery.
Please accept our sincere apologies for this and trust that this is a "one-of" mistake and certainly no hotel policy.
We have used your review as a learning moment for all of us and it has been discussed in the departmental meetings.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon to show your our true hospitality.

Kind regards,
Shaun Broers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
0.5 mi away
Mary K Hotel
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 20 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Utrecht
NH Utrecht
#14 of 20 in Utrecht
3.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ibis Utrecht
Ibis Utrecht
#8 of 20 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel Utrecht City Centre
1.3 mi away
Malie Hotel Utrecht - Hampshire Classic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Utrecht

Address: Westplein 50, 3531 BL Utrecht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
#5 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#6 Family Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Utrecht is a four star property very centrally located; Utrecht Central Train Station, Exhibition Center 'De Jaarbeurs' and the historical city centre are situated within walking distance of the hotel. The 120 guest rooms offer all modern comfort. Free wireless internet is in the entire hotel available. Drinks and dishes of the a la carte menu can be enjoyed in the bar, brasserie or restaurant. Park Plaza Utrecht offers as well a sauna, fitness and (paid) private parking facilities. So the ideal location to stay in during your time in Utrecht! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Park Plaza Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Utrecht Hotel Utrecht
Utrecht Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Utrecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.