We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Utrecht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Utrecht to your Saves list
Park Plaza Utrecht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westplein 50, 3531 BL Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
pensby uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed here a while ago with a friend while staying in the Netherlands for a few days and with being just outside Amsterdam this was a very nice hotel. The rooms were cleaned daily, the staff were very pleasant and friendly. The hotels in a very good location with being only a short walk from Utrecht station and shopping plaza. The best part for me was the room service menu which had a very good sized portions with amazingly good taste x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaUtrecht, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Peter651,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with us and many others on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed staying with us.

We will share your positive comments about the staff and the room service with our team members.

Peter651, thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, Jenny Noz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    209
    106
    37
    12
See reviews for
48
123
42
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wyncote, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had reviewed this hotel previously and while it had many pluses, noted that the paid wifi was almost unusable, especially with multiple devices.

I had requested a room in the front (away from Centraal Station), as I had previously, and it was indeed provided, as well as a queen bed. The room was quiet and comfortable. I'd prefer a more comfortable desk chair, and there is a low edge when entering the bathroom that one easily bumps into, but otherwise it was great.

The manager provided me with a code that enabled usable WiFi for all three of my devices (computer, iPhone, iPad). Not the fastest WiFi (2 Mbps, which pales against the 50 Mbps I get at home), but at least it's usable. He was extremely nice, check-in was prompt and easy, and the hotel is very clean and well kept.

It's not the Karel V nearby, but it's also not 400 euros/night. Very convenient to the train station; get to track 15 and walk down away from the station itself, and the tunnel takes you right to the hotel grounds.

I will definitely stay here again. Glad the WiFi has improved somewhat. Now it would be great for it to have 10 Mbps speeds or higher, especially as the paid option.

Room Tip: Ask for a front-facing room. The executive room, which I've never tried, only adds a better chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaUtrecht, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Gynmd,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on Tripadvisor.
Your contribution is much appreciated.

We are pleased to hear that the internet improved, that you found the manager concerned extremely nice and the hotel clean and well kept.

Gynmd, thanks again and we look forward welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards, Jenny Noz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am a non-smoker. The room smelled of smoke. That terrible old smoke smell. Which is ironic, because it was supposed to be a non-smoking room, with signs indicating "no smoking". The windows do not open, so no chance of getting some fresh air in there. There were sigarette burns on the carpet. The bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom was clean but did not smell good at all. The next morning the woman at the reception desk was very friendly, and I felt bad of having to complain to her. The breakfast was good.

Room Tip: I'm sure, if you are a smoker, this is the perfect place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Eileen V,

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for this review, it is verry important for us, positive or negative.
Our Hotel is already non smoking for years but unfortunately sometime guests cannot stop there habbit.
We should have notice the smell in your room before we sold the room to you, therefore we apologize.
On behalf of our entire staff here at Park Plaza Utrecht we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again so we can convince you we can do better!

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Good, clean hotel with very friendly and polite staff. Easily accessible from the Central Station and city centre. One downside is the close proximity to the trains, although a set of earplugs can be found in the bedside drawer. Will be staying again on next visit.

Room Tip: Try and request one on the opposite side of the hotel to he railway lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Dave T,

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for this review.
It is good that your stay was at your liking.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Park Plaza Utrecht we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I like this hotell very much,

Staff is friendly, service is very good, food is more then ok, location is good, Close to the City Center maybe a bit to close to the central station (I wake up every night at 05.00 when the trains starts go again).

Hotell also has a nice sauna on the top floor, the fintness area was very small and you have to rent WIFI (5 euro/night) but the rooms, location and service will make me book this hotell again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaUtrecht, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Mikael S,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write the above comments about your stay at Park Plaza Utrecht.

We are very pleased to hear that you experienced the staff as very friendly, that the service was good and the food as well.
We will share your comments with our team and it is much appreciated.

Dear Mikael S, thanks again and we look forward to your next stay in our hotel!

Kind regards, Jenny Noz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night visiting Utrecht. The location of the hotel is great, next to the train station and a short walk into the city center. There are some constructions going on around the train station but you can find your way easy. To find the hotel the first time take the Beatrixgebouw exit and walk to the right. After that you can find other ways to the center. The room of the hotel (superior) could need a face lift but it was clean and has very good beds. The airconditioning worked good, but it made to much noise. No complaints about passing trains, because we didn't hear them. Our booking included breakfast, and this was very good with a wide selection of food, cold and warm. Great plus was the staff, all very welcoming and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaUtrecht, General Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear ahs02,

Thank you very much for your valuable contribution on Tripadvisor.

We will review your comments regarding the room and the air-conditioning will be checked by our maintenance. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We are pleased to read that the room was clean, that the breakfast was good and the staff was a "great plus". We have shared your comments with our team members and it will definitely encourage everyone to continue.

ahs02, thanks again and we and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards, Jenny Noz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for 1 night over the weekend as I wanted to spend sometimes exploring Utrecht. It was an excellent choice if you are looking for a hotel next to the train station. Getting from the train station over to the hotel can be confusing and tricky though, as there is currently an ongoing construction at the trains station, and there are also no clear signposts. To access to the historical sites like Domtoren, one has to go past the train station, and have another 15 minutes walk or so, which isnt too bad considering that the way there are filled with nice small little shops, and the train station is adjacent to the big mall Hoog Catherine, which makes shopping easily accessible.
I do find the lack of nearby restaurants a bit disappointing though, if I don't go past the train station to the Domtoren direction.
For the room, its reasonable at this price, the amenities are a bit old though, but the air con was excellent, and really welcomed as the day I was there was exceptionally hot even for a summer day.
Even if next to the train station, it wasnt noisy and I wasnt disturbed by the sound of trains passing by and I take that as a very positive point.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Utrecht, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear cuddles08,

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for this review about your stay in Park Plaza Utrecht.
This helps us to maintain the quality of our products and services.

Following your comments about the direct surroundings of the Hotel, we share your opinion, although the renovation of the area is necessary it sure is a hassle to find your way. Please note that our receptionists can always assist you.
There are indeed not a lot of restaurants around the Hotel but in the old city centre and in Lombok (facing the hotel) there are enough restaurants, all on walking distance.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Park Plaza Utrecht we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind regards,
Michel Meeues
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Park Plaza Utrecht
+31 30 29 25 160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Utrecht

Address: Westplein 50, 3531 BL Utrecht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
#4 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#5 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Utrecht is a four star property very centrally located; Utrecht Central Train Station, Exhibition Center 'De Jaarbeurs' and the historical city centre are situated within walking distance of the hotel. The 120 guest rooms offer all modern comfort. Free wireless internet is in the entire hotel available. Drinks and dishes of the a la carte menu can be enjoyed in the bar, brasserie or restaurant. Park Plaza Utrecht offers as well a sauna, fitness and (paid) private parking facilities. So the ideal location to stay in during your time in Utrecht! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Utrecht Hotel Utrecht
Utrecht Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Utrecht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.