We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton President

Save Saved
You added Carlton President to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Floraweg 25, 3542 DX Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Antwerp
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed 1 night in this hotel with a special discount rate issued by a magazine. The hotel is located in a green area on the outskirts of Utrecht, on the way to Amsterdam.

The staff at the reception and breakfast area are extremely friendly and helpfull.
The room was quiet , the bed is nice and you can order pillows according to your taste (firm, soft, anti-snoring...). The breakfast buffet is ample and varied. (cereals, yoghurt, eggs, all sorts of sandwiches and breadrolls,a variety of bread-spreads, cheeses etc., fresh fruit, juices, coffee, differents sorts of tea).
There is also a leisure centre with sauna and fitness on the premises, the use of which is free for the hotelguests, but unfortunatly we didn't have the time to use it.

It is true that the location is better for business than for leisure, but there is a busstop (Zonnebaan) some 300 m behind the hotel. You can buy a buscard with 15 strips for 7, 60 euro in a supermarket (Hoogvliet) in the nearby suburb (10 to 15 minutes walk). You need 4 strips per person per ride into town or back to the hotel (duration aproximatly 20 minutes to Utrecht Central Station) Information in Dutch about prices and schedules on www.gvu.nl. or at the reception of the hotel. Parking in downtown Utrecht is very expensive, so you better take public transport.

The centre of Utrecht is lovely and lively with many interesting museums, old houses, lots of small canals and charming restaurants on the waterfront (former warehouses at waterlevel of the canals). We've enjoyed our stay and will be back again !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    95
    32
    14
    1
See reviews for
24
81
12
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We had a great time. Didn't do out of the hotel, stayed whole weekend. Restaurant is amazing, facilities good. personnel very friendly.
we'll definitely come back

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

This Hotel is about half hour away from Amsterdam, it's in a very quiet position. The hotel itself is very clean and tidy. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. Reception staff were really helpful.
We stopped for only two nights and wish we could have stopped for more.
The bedrooms were very spaciuos and very comfortable with all the extra's you need, iron ironing board, large screen Tv with loads of chanels. Tea and coffee tray, Mini Bar(Expensive, but arn't they all).
The Bathroom was very spacious with bath and seperate shower.
This is a 4 star hotel and it lives up to it's name as a 4 star.
Class Hotel, would defintely go again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

As a frequent traveler on business, i noticed many things that were missing:
1. Location was horrible, cant do anything without a taxi.
2. Rooms are quite small
3. Price is very high

Despite that, the hotel is very nice looking, it has a nice breakfast and the staff was very helpful!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stay 6 nights in last January, for a business meeting. The hotel service was good, the leisure center fantastic. The restaurant a little expensive, and no other options on the area. It was located close (by bus) from downtownThe staff was friendly, and always able to help. Internet wasn't free, but the weekly fee was reasonable.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

I'm really thankful that they allow us to check in early in the morning at around 7:00am. Our flight arrived at Amsterdam at around 5:30 am. Our first stop was Utrecht. We had nowhere else to go in the early morning and I was feeling unwell on that morning. Fortunately, after taking a rest in the hotel room, I felt a lot better. So that was really important for me. I was very happy about the room and the service. It'w worthy of the money I paid. But I think it's more suitable for travellers that have cars to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Stayed with my teenage son while attending an athletics event. We found the hotel to be clean, tidy and the staff very friendly. Enjoyed an excellent breakfast, spaceous room and while not ultra modern the decor and room were very comfortable and of a very reasonable standard given the room rate. extra pillows and towels were left in the room though one may need to request a daily replacement for shampoo/shower gel.
we would be very happy to stay here again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton President

Address: Floraweg 25, 3542 DX Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Business Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
#4 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton President 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton President, on the edge of Utrecht, offers a free shuttle service to De Wetering, Papendorp, Oudenrijn and Maarssen Railway Station. This 4-star hotel also offers free use of both its business centre and leisure centre which includes a sauna, spa bath and steam bath.The Carlton President provides tastefully decorated rooms equipped with modern and luxurious facilities.The Garden Brasserie serves seasonal dishes and the Exchange Lounge is a comfortable place to relax.The A2 offers easy access to the Jaarbeurs Convention Centre and Schiphol Airport. There is a bus stop 200 metres away which offers access to the centre in 15 to 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Carlton President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton President Utrecht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.