We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton President

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton President to your Saves list
Carlton President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Floraweg 25, 3542 DX Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Stay !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for One Night with our group. Check In was quick and the room keys were ready on arrival. Good Staff. Good Rooms and Bathrooms. Nice Breakfast. Free Internet Wi-Fi in the hotel as well as the Business Center. Although the Hotel is on the High Way there is no disturbance. Recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Nimesh,

Thank you very much for your review.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated.

Hope to see you soon back at Carlton President.

Best regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    109
    40
    15
    2
See reviews for
28
91
12
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of August for one night. It was very easy to reach from Utrecht Central by catching the No. 37 bus from the bus station Zuid to Zonnebaan. Then it was just a 2 minute walk. The room was very nice and the bed had a mattress topper and was very comfortable. The food at the restaurant was very expensive. It was 16.50 euro for an adult spaghetti bolognese and a childs portion half the size was 12.50. Breakfast was very busy even at 7:30 in the morning. The cooked breakfast only consisted of eggs, sausage and bacon. Our room was very noisy from the constant talking in the room next door to the kangaroos (people jumping about) passing the room late at night. There was a small jacuzzi which was very eloquently decorated, however our relaxion in this area was spoilt by children trying to swim and jump into it thinking it was a swimming pool! We thought this was quite dangerous as the children was sliding along the top of the jacuzzi as though they were seals.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear SNEeve,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Carlton President.

I’m very sorry to hear that your overnight stay was disturbed by the guest of the adjacent room.

If you would decide to visit us next time I will make sure that we will provide you with a more quite room on a different floor.

Thank you for the compliments regarding the room and it’s facilities.

Hopefully we can meet in person next time you visit Utrecht.

Best regards,
Bart Blikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A friendly hotel where nothing is too much trouble.
if there is something that is not on the menu. they are more than happy to help.
The bar is a relaxing, funny and welcoming place. Frank, the barman, only has to meet you once and then knows you by name and what you want.
A great stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mick,

Thank you very much for your review, it is our great pleasure to offer the best service to our guests. I’ve passed on the compliments to Frank and we hope to welcome you again in Carlton President!

Kind regards,
Bart Blikman
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keerbergen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here on a weekend in April as we had to attend a wedding in the neighborhood.
I had stayed here before a few years ago for business and that's what the hotel is also mainly known for. It's a great conference hotel. They have all the facilities you need.
But one thing I certainly found back staying here now as a couple on leisure was their warm hospitality and friendly service. Everything is possible, you just need to ask. We were in a rush needing to make it in time for the wedding but reception, housekeeping and room service were right there for us to make it happen. Thanks to a great team!
If you are looking for a place to stay, business or leisure, try the Carlton President.
By the way, do not miss out on the wonderful breakfast in the morning, on a sunny day you can even take it outside on the terrace!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Paul4,

Thank you very much for your review, it is our great pleasure to offer the best service to our guests and we are most grateful to receive reviews like yours.
I’ve passed on the compliments to my team.

On behalf of them and myself; we hope to welcome you again in Carlton President!
Kindest regards, Bart Blikman General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Have stayed there for four weeks so it cant be that bad.
The menu is limited but reasonably priced, the drinks are expensive (hotel prices), the bar man has an excellent memory and is very friendly.
The rooms are comfortable, the beds may be a bit old but are ok. The bathrooms are ok but the shower cubicles are small.
There is a small gym room, a sauna, steam room & Jacuzzi. Beware of naked men and women strolling about.
Overall I quite like this place and have booked another couple of weeks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it very much.
We understand that a variety of the menu is appreciated when staying longer in our hotel.
Should you visit us again, please allow us to help you with an alternative menu.

In regards of the bed; we’ve just recently provided all rooms with new topperbox-beds to increase the quality of the rooms.

We are very pleased that your long stay was a pleasant experience and we are looking
forward to welcome you again later this month!

Kind regards,
Bart Blikman General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

What a wonderful Hotel!!! We were traveling on vacation and found this hotel to be exceptional. From the immaculate rooms and grounds, to the amazing staff (especially bartender Frank Snijders) to the quick and easy access to busy Utrecht's City Center to the quite town of Maarssen. I found the staff to be very pleasant as they have gone out of their way to make our experience an amazing one! I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Peanie6,

Thank you very much for this great review. So nice to see that we exceeded your expectations.

Your positive words have been shared within the team and sure work as a motivation for all of us!

I just spoke to my bartender Frank and complimented him with is great work.

Maybe we can meet in person during your next holiday?

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is located in Maarsen. If you have a car is an excellent location. Is very quiet, a lot of green around, a small forest on the back. The hotel has a nice restaurant with a patio (terrace), good for breakfast or dinner. Also a bar inside the hotel, with good beer. The parking is free and is on the hotel courtyard, well protected.A bar code ticket is used to get out of the parking. This bar code ticket is available at reception desk.
What we liked most: is a quiet area after a day spent on a crowded place. The orange juice machine available for breakfast. Free Wi-Fi. Private bar on the room.
We will be back at same hotel, when in Utrecht area.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms opposed to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear DecQ,

Thank you so much for these kind words. It is a pleasure to read these positive reviews.

Hope to see you soon back at your Carlton President.

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton President

Address: Floraweg 25, 3542 DX Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
#4 Business Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton President 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton President, on the edge of Utrecht, offers a free shuttle service to De Wetering, Papendorp, Oudenrijn and Maarssen Railway Station. This 4-star hotel also offers free use of both its business centre and leisure centre which includes a sauna, spa bath and steam bath.The Carlton President provides tastefully decorated rooms equipped with modern and luxurious facilities.The Garden Brasserie serves seasonal dishes and the Exchange Lounge is a comfortable place to relax.The A2 offers easy access to the Jaarbeurs Convention Centre and Schiphol Airport. There is a bus stop 200 metres away which offers access to the centre in 15 to 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlton President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton President Utrecht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.