We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton President

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton President to your Saves list
Carlton President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Floraweg 25, 3542 DX Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
ESSEX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My daughter and myself stayed here at the end of July. We arrived at 9pm and were virtually left to our own devices. Keys were left on the desk and no porters were available. The room was very clean with all amenities, a nice balcony which was most welcome as the evenings were warm. Unfortunately, our room was sited immediately above the front entrance, which was the designated smoking area! A good size bathroom with bath and shower and an extremely comfortable bed. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and had a very pleasant meal, perhaps a little expensive but after a day travelling most welcome.

The next day as we had already experienced the restaurant and there wasn't a member of staff insight, so we sat down for breakfast. A very good breakfast but when we were in the middle of eating we were interrupted by a very curt waitress, telling us that we were sitting in the wrong area. We were part of the coach party and had to sit in the back room! Next day breakfast was still OK but we had to forgo Sausage and bacon!

On the other two evenings we caught the bus into Utrecht and had lovely meals whilst sitting by the water. Bus fare was 3 euro return (Mon-Sat) but for some reason 8 euro return on Sunday. When queried we were told it's because the shops are closed on Sundays? Bus stop was a short walk from the hotel and they ran every half an hour.

Overall a most enjoyable trip and the organisation that Shearings coach company put into it was amazing.

Room Tip: Don't have a room situated by the front entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear LINDAJP000,

First of all thank you very much for your review.

Great to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and your had a great time in Utrecht.

Sorry about the curt waitress! I will speak to the manager in charge.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us!

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    106
    39
    15
    2
See reviews for
28
87
12
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had a great 3 night stay in this hotel at the end of July 2012. The rooms was clean, of a good size and well appointed, including a kettle and tea and coffee which is not always true of mainland Europe. The bathroom had a bath as well as separate shower cubicle and the towels were massive. Bed also very comfortable, tho the duvet was too hot. As a vegetarian I found the restaurant menu disappointing. I was on my own so didn't feel like getting a taxi to town so would have liked a hot meal after spending one enjoyable day in Amsterdam and another at Floriade, the World Horticultural Expo. Carnivores are offered a 3 course set menu for about 22 Euros but the vegetarian main course choice is an omelette or a vegetable pie - a single course remember! - for one Euro less - not good value and a boring, boring option. Mind you, I am NEVER offered good vegetarian food in hotels and rarely restaurants so I should not have been surprised.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Sue

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and complimenting us on your stay.
Very nice to read that you enjoyed your room and its facilities.

Regarding the menu, I am sorry that I did not meet up to your expectations. I informed my head chef. We will make sure that the restaurant staff will offer alternatives vegetarian dishes next to the menu.

Again, thank you very much for the review!

Hope to see you soon back at the Carlton President.

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed as part of a coach group, on arrival there wasn't much of a meet or greet, just the room keys left on a table. Breakfast was good the first day but the quality wasn't as highly maintained as the first day. Also the breakfast staff are at times are quite curt in regards to where you sit. Our room was large, clean and had good facilities and room keeping was also quite good. The only issues are location and the resturant. Bizarrely, we were told it was unlikely we could eat in the resturant unless we booked but being out on trips means you cannot always say when you will be back. But every evening the resturant was empty, i would think it was good business sense to encourage people to spend money there. Considered with the location most people
Would eat there. But its an easy trip into town on the bus, do not get a taxi! Or walk 10mins down the road towards the petrol station for an amazing chinese.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Jen_zebra,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you took to leave a review on this site.

I have discussed your remarks concerning the breakfast and dinner reservations with my restaurant manager. He assured me that all necessary steps will be taken to improve and avoid this in the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Carlton President.

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel, the staff is very helpful and friendly, bed very comfortable, bathroom with a choice of shower room and bath which to me is great, great location, breakfast full of choices, defenetly recommend this hotel and most defenetly coming back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Trish R,

Please let me thank you for this very nice review.

Good to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Carlton President.

Hope to meet you next time in person.

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

As I said in the title, this place isn't bad. I don't know whether there are any other options in Utrecht, but I think that you can be more than satisfied here. Staff is really nice and helpful, beds are cozy, I had a room with both shower and bathtub in my bathroom. Minibar is as expensive as anywhere else. I had only two little problems there and they are the reason why I give this rating. Ad a the place is quite noisy for me, I had some troubles to fall asleep (believe me I was pretty tired) and ad b breakfasts here are pretty pricey. I agree that those are small troubles, but I just didn't have the feeling for giving five.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Chrysophylax_jp,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write this review. Thanks for the nice compliments.

Next time when you visit the Carlton President please let me know, so we can check on a quieter room for you.

Thanks again for the review!

Kind regards,

Bart Blikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of coach trip to Amsterdam , lovely hotel great room , soft bed + good size bathroom . Tea+ coffee making facilitys + mini bar + safe in room . We arrived late at hotel + the resturant was closed ,but the bar tender ordered us a pizza to be delivered . Very friendly staff , Good choice at breakfast can't fault it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear sheiladeeCheshire,

Thank you very much for this very nice review. Great to read that you had a wonderful stay.
Hope to see you soon back at your Carlton President.

Kind regards,
Bart Blikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here because it is close to the company I was visiting. It's not convenient to many other locations, including restaurants. The hotel restaurant is fine but not extraordinary. The fitness room has a limited amount of equipment and it is too warm. The rooms are quite nice and has a lot of counter space in the bathroom (why don't all hotels have a lot of counter space?!). The reason I give this hotel a high rating is because the staff are incredibly friendly and really make you feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear InMyOpinion411,

Thank you very much for this very nice review.

I am very sorry to read that your room was not air-conditioned enough.

If possible please drop me an e-mail with your room number so I can ask my technical support to have a look at the air-conditioning system.

Thanks a lot about the remarks of my staff. Really great that you experienced our home away from home feeling.

Hope to see you soon back at your Carlton President.

Kind regards,
Bart Blikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton President

Address: Floraweg 25, 3542 DX Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
#4 Business Hotel in Utrecht
#4 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton President 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton President, on the edge of Utrecht, offers a free shuttle service to De Wetering, Papendorp, Oudenrijn and Maarssen Railway Station. This 4-star hotel also offers free use of both its business centre and leisure centre which includes a sauna, spa bath and steam bath.The Carlton President provides tastefully decorated rooms equipped with modern and luxurious facilities.The Garden Brasserie serves seasonal dishes and the Exchange Lounge is a comfortable place to relax.The A2 offers easy access to the Jaarbeurs Convention Centre and Schiphol Airport. There is a bus stop 200 metres away which offers access to the centre in 15 to 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlton President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton President Utrecht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.