We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What other B&B's should aspire to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast De Vossenpoort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utrecht
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast De Vossenpoort
Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast De Vossenpoort to your Saves list
Oudegracht 40E, 3511AR Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Utrecht B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What other B&B's should aspire to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had the pleasure of visiting this Bed and Breakfast De Vossenpoort recently and from early on we knew that this B&B was something special. If we ever venture back to Utrecht we will definitely stay again assuming that it is not completely booked solid. From the first communications to checking out, we got that personal touch that you don’t get in many B&B’s which definitely separates this B&B from the large peloton chasing.
Their home and the beautiful and well presented suite we stayed in are both amazing and you wouldn’t know it from the entrance. Entering a door in a wall off the quiet street running alongside the canal, you enter into a long corridor with a low ceiling that seems a long way on your first visit. At the end Hans greeted us with a warm welcome and an equally warm cup of tea.
We stayed in the Reynaert suite for 3 nights and were not disappointed. The photos on trip advisor are a good indication of the accommodation but what doesn’t jump out of the photos is the feeling of space you have in this suite and the clear attention to detail in its presentation. The room's most notable features were the high ceilings, grand french doors leading to the private outdoor courtyard, the worldly and tasteful décor and the amount of light that filled the room. This coupled with the cozy atmosphere of the cellar bedroom which is tucked away underneath the living area giving a private, dark, quiet and comfortable bed. Providing all the ingredients to a peaceful slumber and a B&B to remember.
Let’s not forget to mention the breakfasts as these were very good and Hans went the extra mile to make the breakfast a highlight and a good start to each day. Overall a wonderful stay and a great end to our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
München
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

De Vossenpoort is one of the nicest places I have stayed. Spacious rooms, many details, great hospitality and friendlyness.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This review is a long time coming! I visited Bed & Breakfast De Vossenpoort in the fall of 2011. The room was great - clean, stylish, atmospheric and roomy. The owners really spared no expense as the room had a boutique feel about it. Plus its centrally located to all the action. To top it all off, Hans (the owner) took me up in his motorized glider for a tour of the region! That's right, we flew near Amsterdam and around Muiderslot castle and down south of Utrecht to check out the remnants of other castles and waterways. A whole new perspective!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We spent six nights in this B&B and every day I was more and more thankful that we had chosen it. We stayed in the Zorro - very comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom, kitchen modern and equipped (loved the coffee machine!), TV, and french doors leading out onto a little terrace. The B&B is five minutes from downtown but the room itself is very private and quiet. Hans provided a wonderful breakfast every morning and he is the ultimate Host! We enjoyed this little city more than Amsterdam - we attended a pipe organ concert at the Dom, rented bikes and rode to castles, walked the canals and there are many lovely shops in the downtown. Restaurants along the canals offered Turkish, Indonesian, Thai and many other very tasty options. This city was wonderful to visit and, honestly, staying at this B&B made our holiday perfect.

Room Tip: The Zorra has a lot of light and is beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We spent a long weekend at this beautiful and well presented B&B. The attention to detail cannot be faulted - from the cleverly designed storage (so well organised, a place for everything!) to the kitchen area to the bathroom - it was all so perfect. And the cleanliness was second to none. And as for our host Hans, he was friendly and informative and on hand if we needed anything. The breakfasts were something to look forward to, and I loved that Hans would hang a bag of fresh bread on our door each morning.
We went with a group of friends, so had both rooms, and I have to say that both were equally appealing (although perhaps the bedroom in the cellar just had the edge!)
The B&B is ideally situated in the centre of Utrecht, but on a quiet stretch of the canal. We loved De Vossenpoort so much that we would go back to Utrecht just so that we can stay there again. I can't recommend this place highly enough - you must stay there if you're in the area! We will certainly be going back there again.

Room Tip: REYNAERT - beautiful room, the bedroom being down some windy steps into the cellar area ZORRO - ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This bed&breakfast has everything that you could wish for! It's located in the centre of Utrecht, a stone throw away from stores, restaurants, trains, busses and taxis. The owners renovated it with a great eye for detail. We stayed in room Zorro, which is super quiet. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom modern and clean, the little kitchen fully equiped, a nice sitting area and a balcony. Hans, the owner, is very friendly and is very helpful to give you tips about the city. We can only higly recommend this place and hope to come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We spent one night at De Vossenpoort last week and had a wonderful time. The atmosphere of the apartment is very welcoming and you can tell by each detail that the owners went to great lengths to furnish the place, it looks lovely and is very comfortable. We enjoyed a nice breakfast and left Utrecht well-rested and happy, thanks also to this unique B&B and its hospitable owners. If the sun had been out, we would definitely have made good use of the nice terrace, but unfortunately not all things in life can be arranged for. But whatever the owners could contribute, they have certainly put into their B&B. I would highly recommend this place and look forward to our own return visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast De Vossenpoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast De Vossenpoort

Address: Oudegracht 40E, 3511AR Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vossenpoort (Foxgate) is an accredited “Distinctive Bed & Breakfast” of The Netherlands, located in the heart of old Utrecht. It will surprise you as soon as you enter the tranquillity and privacy of the monumental house in the back garden. Atmosphere and design of both suites are very stylish and include all comfort and facilities. A surprising location for a relaxed and interesting stay in Utrecht, right in the heart of Holland. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast De Vossenpoort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.