We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment except the dessert” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Podium

Restaurant Podium
Domstraat 4, 3512 JB Utrecht, The Netherlands
+31 (30) 6350888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 310 restaurants in Utrecht
Price range: $44 - $70
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: With no pretention and full of ambition, a young team is ready to give you the best!Fine international quality cuisine with a focus on the best fresh ingredients.Chef Leon Mazairac and it's team prepare a monthly changing fixed 3 and 7 course menu.Everything is freshly produced, homemade bread and delicate, but recognizable dishes.In a relaxed and correct ambiance, the service staff will take care of all your needs.The sommelier will serve you perfectly matching wines. There is also a great wine list with (natural) european wines, or classic well known domaines.
istanbul
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a disappointment except the dessert”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose this restaurant because it was ranked quite high in many listings. The wine selection looked good but I will concentrate on the food as the experimental nature of the food was what created problems. The chef is obviously trying new combinations and techniques of preparing food but they did not work for us. Mostly I felt I was questioning what was in my plate in minuscule sizes, even though we were given a thorough explanation before each course. The major problem is they did not create a good sensation in my mouth both in taste and in texture. The only exception was the dessert. It was well prepared, tasty and actually, delicious. The only reason I would go back is for the excellent dessert. The cost was understandable and the dinner lasted way much longer than I would expect to spend on a dinner; we were there for three hours.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    28
    2
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Utrecht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Eating at podium is not dinner, it's a culinary experience. Don't go here in if you're in a rush. Go here if you want a special night out and want to enjoy a long evening with culinary surprises and matching wines. Please note there's a set 5 course menu (not a la carte).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
“Still one of the best restaurants....in Holland!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Every now and then we have dinner here, either with friends or the family (it's closeby to our home).
Getting even better every time I come here. Consistently the highest standard in food. Daring menues and perfection in their wine-suggestions, also offering very good wines from less known regions/countries in the world.
Mr Michelin, pay attention here!!!! It surely deserves one or in my view even two stars. But OK, take it easy and grant them one....for starters..

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Great food, nice ambience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Although we live quite close to this restaurant, we didn't ever have the occasion to go there. it is open only few days per week and as it is a small and cozy restaurant with fe table, you'd better book in advance.
It was a very pleasant surprise.
We decided to take the full 5 courses menu of the month as the cuisine doesn't offer other choices.
And just to be on the complete lazy side we decided to go with the wine arrangement.
The menu is changed on a monthly basis, but it didn't reflect the season in terms for example of the vegetables present in summer.
Anyway the different plates were presented very well, with the typical french touch you find in high clss restaurant in the Netherlands, but still played with a right equilibrium.
The atmosphere is elegant and sober, with a nice decor played with a dominant red and grey colors.
The wine arrangement was a good selection of wines from The Netherlands ( a good pinot gris), Italy, France and Germany.
in general, apart from one, I think they represented a good choice.
The service was appropriate and good, not too fast and not too long.
A good impression which put the Podium among one of my best choices of restaurants in the Netherlands and definitely in Utrecht.
We paid for 2 97 EUR including wines.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Utrecht's finest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

This might just be the best restaurant in Utrecht. Very cosy atmophere, very tasty food & fabulous wines.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Podium also viewed

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Utrecht, The Netherlands
 
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Utrecht, The Netherlands
 

Been to Restaurant Podium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Podium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.