We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant went down the hill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Badhu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Badhu to your Saves list
Badhu
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Willem van Noortplein 19, 3514 GK Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Utrecht B&B and Inns
Praha
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Restaurant went down the hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a few nice lunches in this restaurant in the past so decided to go there again yesterday what proved to be a mistake. This time, unlike in the past we got a very limited menu. The food wad tasteless and the site dish was apparently coming from the fridge as opposed to being freshly prepared. This restaurant is not cozy (hard chairs, dark, cold). Waitress didn't bother asking if we enjoyed the food. We will not visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed in the Silver room and everything is Silver! The room was a little dusty, the bed was comfortable, the stairs are very steep and I would advise taking the lift, if you've got luggage. The shower sprays everywhere and be careful of the steps in the room, especially at night! Dinner was amazing, if you've travelllng on business, be warned that breakfast doesn't start until 08.15, which is quite late, if you have to get to a meeting! Breakfast was very hurried because of this. Would consider returning for a holiday!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The food is excellent, the ambiance is fantastic. I do not know any Arab tapas place where the food is this good. Although it is not right in the center of Utrecht, it is worth the trip. Make sure to make a reservation on forehand, since it is alway fully booked in advance. I have'not stayed the night, so I can not give my opinion on the rooms of the B&B.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the green room. The concept is really cool but there are some things that could be better. The shower is open, meaning that everything around gets completely messed when using it. The light in the room is, at some areas, too "intimate".
I guess it is a bit expensive for the value.
On the positive side, the food in the restaurant is really good, after staying for sleeping I've come back many times just for lunch.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Interesting restaurant with a buzzing atmosphere. Very patient and helpful staff as most customers are experimenting. A little under spiced but may be for local clientele tastes. Range of Mezze from various country traditions. Serves alcohol and traditional teas too. Favourite is the fennel soup. Ned to book table even mid week. Did not stay so can't comment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Let me start by saying that as a restaurant Badhu is fantastic and did not disappoint, it's mezze dishes were both tasty and great value. We stayed 2 nights in the red room in July. The room itself is very basic but clean, with a lovely window seat and fresh towels in the morning. There was tea and coffee in the room and a tv also. However, there is no air conditioning whatsoever, just one fan. At the time of our stay Utrecht reached above 30 degrees Celsius and if you reckon the weather could be similar during your stay then it's just not worth it. The rooms are upstairs and our room was like an oven, the fan have little relief. Sleeping was uncomfortable and almost impossible on the second night. Until Badhu get air conditioning then I will not be returning during the summer months. My other criticism is the carpet in the sleeping area. The stairs are dark and narrow (I slipped on one occasion) and are covered in a dirty carpet that absolutely stank of damp and dirt and continues the length of the hall. Ripping up the carpet and flooring the hall with wood would make a massive difference. So all in all a stay if mixed opinions, but the staff were lovely and the food was great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Authentic Arabic, Lebanese, Maroccan kitchen; mainly soups and mezze. Excellent taste and surprising mixes of ingredients. Both inside ad outside a good athmosphere. Unfortunately the Maroccan beer was not available. We didn't sleep over here, but my colleagues did and where quite enthusiastic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Badhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badhu

Address: Willem van Noortplein 19, 3514 GK Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Badhu 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Badhu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badhu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.