We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed opinion but air con is sorely needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Badhu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Badhu to your Saves list
Badhu
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Willem van Noortplein 19, 3514 GK Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Utrecht B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mixed opinion but air con is sorely needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Let me start by saying that as a restaurant Badhu is fantastic and did not disappoint, it's mezze dishes were both tasty and great value. We stayed 2 nights in the red room in July. The room itself is very basic but clean, with a lovely window seat and fresh towels in the morning. There was tea and coffee in the room and a tv also. However, there is no air conditioning whatsoever, just one fan. At the time of our stay Utrecht reached above 30 degrees Celsius and if you reckon the weather could be similar during your stay then it's just not worth it. The rooms are upstairs and our room was like an oven, the fan have little relief. Sleeping was uncomfortable and almost impossible on the second night. Until Badhu get air conditioning then I will not be returning during the summer months. My other criticism is the carpet in the sleeping area. The stairs are dark and narrow (I slipped on one occasion) and are covered in a dirty carpet that absolutely stank of damp and dirt and continues the length of the hall. Ripping up the carpet and flooring the hall with wood would make a massive difference. So all in all a stay if mixed opinions, but the staff were lovely and the food was great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Authentic Arabic, Lebanese, Maroccan kitchen; mainly soups and mezze. Excellent taste and surprising mixes of ingredients. Both inside ad outside a good athmosphere. Unfortunately the Maroccan beer was not available. We didn't sleep over here, but my colleagues did and where quite enthusiastic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here one day in July. We reserved the golden room but at check-in it turned out that room was double booked so we were given the white room. Staff gave us a key, waved us to the stairs and that was it. Not much service here because they're to busy running the downstairs restaurant and bar.

The room was nice, clean and looked very stylish but comes with a few impracticalities. For example there's a hairdryer in the bathroom but no power socket! (In fact we had to look very hard in the room to eventually find one (!) extra power socket somewhere hidden away in a corner) The shower is open so the whole bathroom gets wet when taking a shower and it's impossible to put stuff on the sink of bath so we ended up putting our shower gel and shampoo bottles on the floor. And as mentioned in other review we also missed the option for more light than only the mood light, especially in the bathroom. The next morning only one staff member was present so everyone had to wait very long for breakfast and check out.

On a positive note, the rooms are very cosy and the downstairs restaurant is great. Bus #5 to the center and train station of Utrecht stops right in front of the hotel. Would stay here again if they hire someone to run the hotel fulltime and make the rooms a little bit more practical.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and liked the hotel. Yes, it's a little quirky, but it's a small hotel and they're trying to be different. The staff are super lovely and friendly. We were gutted that we didn't eat in the restaurant as we have heard from the locals that they do good middle eastern food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering Northants
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

When all other hotels are trying to achieve calm , neutral , crisp white linen type interiors ......this place considers that the weary traveller would like their senses assaulted by a RED room......even the loo, bath, all lighting, with RED satin bedlinen.....my husband thought it looked like a bordello ( and how would he know ?! ). The food was okay though...but I didnt like sleeping in a slippery RED bed.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We choose the purple room. As soon as you walk the door you might say "wow" beacause it looks really stylish....but it wasn't practical.
There wasn't enough light, ok the soft light gives a nice atmosphere, but you should have the chace to have more light. It was impossible to put make up on! or even to read!! There is not bed side table.
In the bathroom, there is just a very small sink...with no space to put stuff on such as the toothbrush...ok i get the minimalist style...but an hotel is suppose to be comfortable as well.
I appreciated the nespresso coffe machine with complimentary coffe in the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

I think that in principle this can be a lovely hotel. The combination of a nice, laid back restaurant and bar with 8 or so 'boutique' rooms, not badly priced, is certainly a promising one.

But please, please, hire someone who knows about running a hotel, and let them show you that merely handing over the key (more on that below) to a guest who paid over € 100 for the privilege is simply not enough. Oh yes, and please add a few lights here and there, as the lack of light seriously hampered my enjoyment (read: unable to operate hifi, struggling to find things, no reading in the bath...).

When trying to locate which room was mine (silly of me, the purple beads on my key fop meant I was in the 'purple room' - if only there was enough light in hallway to know what colour beads they were...), my key fop opened a room, a room that had - wait for it - someone else's belongings in it. Oh dear (yes this could have been so much worse!). When back at the bar/reception, i.o. a 'oh we are so sorry', all I got was a 'really? I don't understand that...'. And that was only one example where a mistake (there were more) could have benefited from an apology.

So why give it 3 stars? Because I think that with the right knowledge and attitude (oh yes, and a little more light) it has huge potential. Nice touches such as the Nescafe machine in the rooms, good bed, free wifi, nice restaurant, quirky touches all help make this a nice place. But the feeling that as a hotel guest you are somewhat of an inconvenience for the staff running the restaurant is poor.

And interestingly, I would have happily shared this input with them direct, if only someone, when I checked out, had said something along the lines of 'and was everything okay?'. But they didn't, and that, I think, summed it all up.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Badhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badhu

Address: Willem van Noortplein 19, 3514 GK Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Badhu 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Badhu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badhu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.