We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean stay, friendly staff. Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Badhu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Badhu to your Saves list
Badhu
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Willem van Noortplein 19, 3514 GK Utrecht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 27 Utrecht B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Clean stay, friendly staff. Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and liked the hotel. Yes, it's a little quirky, but it's a small hotel and they're trying to be different. The staff are super lovely and friendly. We were gutted that we didn't eat in the restaurant as we have heard from the locals that they do good middle eastern food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
1
22
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kettering Northants
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

When all other hotels are trying to achieve calm , neutral , crisp white linen type interiors ......this place considers that the weary traveller would like their senses assaulted by a RED room......even the loo, bath, all lighting, with RED satin bedlinen.....my husband thought it looked like a bordello ( and how would he know ?! ). The food was okay though...but I didnt like sleeping in a slippery RED bed.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We choose the purple room. As soon as you walk the door you might say "wow" beacause it looks really stylish....but it wasn't practical.
There wasn't enough light, ok the soft light gives a nice atmosphere, but you should have the chace to have more light. It was impossible to put make up on! or even to read!! There is not bed side table.
In the bathroom, there is just a very small sink...with no space to put stuff on such as the toothbrush...ok i get the minimalist style...but an hotel is suppose to be comfortable as well.
I appreciated the nespresso coffe machine with complimentary coffe in the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

I think that in principle this can be a lovely hotel. The combination of a nice, laid back restaurant and bar with 8 or so 'boutique' rooms, not badly priced, is certainly a promising one.

But please, please, hire someone who knows about running a hotel, and let them show you that merely handing over the key (more on that below) to a guest who paid over € 100 for the privilege is simply not enough. Oh yes, and please add a few lights here and there, as the lack of light seriously hampered my enjoyment (read: unable to operate hifi, struggling to find things, no reading in the bath...).

When trying to locate which room was mine (silly of me, the purple beads on my key fop meant I was in the 'purple room' - if only there was enough light in hallway to know what colour beads they were...), my key fop opened a room, a room that had - wait for it - someone else's belongings in it. Oh dear (yes this could have been so much worse!). When back at the bar/reception, i.o. a 'oh we are so sorry', all I got was a 'really? I don't understand that...'. And that was only one example where a mistake (there were more) could have benefited from an apology.

So why give it 3 stars? Because I think that with the right knowledge and attitude (oh yes, and a little more light) it has huge potential. Nice touches such as the Nescafe machine in the rooms, good bed, free wifi, nice restaurant, quirky touches all help make this a nice place. But the feeling that as a hotel guest you are somewhat of an inconvenience for the staff running the restaurant is poor.

And interestingly, I would have happily shared this input with them direct, if only someone, when I checked out, had said something along the lines of 'and was everything okay?'. But they didn't, and that, I think, summed it all up.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

This looked like the right idea from their website, but you simply expect more from a place charging this much.
Positives: a nice tub, and a quiet evening of sleep
Negatives: the service (breakfast in particular), the odor in the hallway, the lack of soap or shampoo in the room, the location, and the hidden costs.
I have to explain the service...it was not without the effort of the gentleman on the evening we checked in to help us, but there is a restaurant downstairs and it was busy, so he was doing the best he could. The next morning however, the breakfast, (which was not worth eating) took over 1 hour, and we ordered the BASIC breakfast. By the way, that's not included in your stay. It was not busy, but the staff (waitress, and chef) seemed incapable of pouring a couple of glasses of orange juice and bringing us some bread and butter. We asked three times, and watched one other couple come and go before we were ever approached, and then they ultimately brought us roast beef sandwiches? What? I don't mean to sound picky, but I have been traveling Europe for four years and staying at boutique hotels. Unfortunately the Badhu is not worth the stay until they address the staff issue and treat the hotel guests as seriously, (if not more so considering how much you pay for one night) as they seemed to take their dinner guests.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Very quirky hotel - design a bit over practicality but that kind of adds to its charm.
Reception was via the bar which will not suit every one especially if they are busy.
The rooms are nice and clean but overlook the eat terrace so you have to be a bit of a night owl or wait until every one has gone home untill you can sleep!
Would definitely suit a younger hippier crowd than us two old fogies!

Rooms are themed on colour - ours was white and I mean WHITE!
Suggest some double glazing and this place would deserve some accolades for its ingenuity - give it as go.
Breafast tray was one of the best during the tour.

A nice distanced stroll to Utrecht - we love it here.
Thank you
Groetjes.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Badhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badhu

Address: Willem van Noortplein 19, 3514 GK Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Badhu 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Badhu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badhu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.