We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty HOTEL” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Restaurant La Promenade

Save Saved
You added Hotel-Restaurant La Promenade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant La Promenade
Amalialaan 1, Baarn 3743 KE, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Baarn
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Dirty HOTEL”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I'm only rating the Hotel. The restaurtant is good and has a lovely terras.

The Hotel is really not that good. Rooms are outdated and old. The shower leaked and many things need an upgrade. Location is perfect and close to the trainstation. That is still acceptable but worst thing is that everything is really dirty. Dust is everywhere and everything is dirty. The room was not cleaned up after the fist day and lamps contain dead flies. Comparing the price with the value it is not that good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 3 times in the last few months on business, with 3 different rooms, and had a different experience each time. The rooms are basic, with no tea/coffee facilities. The last room was badly lit with energy saving light bulbs, however this was rectified when i mentioned this to reception.

For me Wi-Fi worked every time with no issue of speed, streaming from BBC iPlayer and Sky Sports thanks to my business VPN Internet link back in the UK.

The restaurant for me was superb, food excellent quality and well presented. Staff were very friendly, and helped translate the menu for me :-)

One important thing to note in Baarn, most of the Restaurants close at 9pm, so eat early and drink late!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eemnes, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had dinner there with a business relation who visits this restaurant more often than I do. The personnel is very hospitable and very attentive. It wasn´t busy but that are most of the times the periods that the personnel relaxes but that wasn´t the case. I had some sashimi of tuna and after that a codfish with a nice chardonnay and I enjoyed it very well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kineton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had a couple of nights at this hotel in the middle of Baarn. My room was as described by other travellers - on the small side, dated and in need of significant upgrading. The good news is that while I was staying there they were indeed in the middle of refurbishing the rooms, and I can imagine that once this is done the rooms will be much more acceptable - particularly the larger rooms at the front of the hotel which have balconies - though again as mentioned by another traveller, the stairs are a bit of an issue if you have any mobility problems

I had dinner in the restaurant both nights I was there, and thought both the food and service were excellent. I was given a menu in English. The option of having small or normal portions for both starters and main courses was a good idea, and every dish I had was really tasty and beautifully cooked. The dining room and lounge were very comfortable.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing, as there was no choice - I got a tray with bread, croissants, yoghurt, meats, cheeses and a hard boiled egg. Nice enough, but I prefer to choose what I want for breakfast.

Once the rooms are refurbished I would definitely want to make a return trip.

Room Tip: Once they are refurbished, try the rooms with balconies at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed on business in March 2011, colleague recently returned and had the same experience as me).
Good restaurant but the rooms are awful - tired, cold and depressing. Fixtures and fittings are stuck in some 1980's d.i.y. self-assembly kit timewarp. Dine there, but do not stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This hotel was booked for a small conference group (6 people) so my comments are not based solely based on my own experience. The rooms were of various sizes, but almost of them had very poor lighting and were not particularly clean. When we arrived they had been fixing the electrics and so had removed the ceiling tiles and a thick film of dust lay over the desk, phones etc. in most of the rooms. In my room they had neglected to put back one of the tiles, and when I pointed this out they thanked me for informing them but left it like that for the night. I should add that the curtains in my room had some major staining and the windows were very drafty. The bathrooms were clean but the lighting was terribly dim.
They claimed that they had wireless internet. The instructions (passwords etc.) in the folders in the rooms was incorrect (and the paper very soiled) and when we did manage to extricate the information the wireless only worked in one of the rooms. They were unapologetic and made various silly excuses every day for the failing system. On our first evening a few of us decided to eat in the restaurant but there was only a Dutch menu and when said that we didn't understand the language, we were met with a shrug. There was no offer to help us. I should also warn anyone with mobility issues that the stairs are designed in a way to be almost impossible except for the most nimble and those with any sort of luggage/suitcase/bag beyond a light carrier should consider leaving it downstairs. The service was occasional and bizarre: it was not easy to find someone to get your key from and one evening the guy called me 'Sir'. As a woman of average height with mid-length blonde hair and a slight frame, this is not a regular occurrence. I can't recall all the moments of mind-boggling incompetence, but while the restaurant is very good, I would warn anyone off from staying the night there unless too inebriated to drive home and even then negotiating the stairs would present a mean obstacle to a night's rest.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

Not bad, small rooms, fairly clean, doesn't have its own parking. Located smack-dab in the center of Baarn. Rooms are smaller than they appear in the pictures.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel-Restaurant La Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant La Promenade

Address: Amalialaan 1, Baarn 3743 KE, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Baarn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Baarn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsNL, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant La Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Restaurant La Promenade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.