We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merlot - Wijnbar & Restaurant

Merlot - Wijnbar & Restaurant
Grote Koppel 16, 3813AA Amersfoort, The Netherlands
033 4557614
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 123 Restaurants in Amersfoort
Price range: $37 - $148
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Very nice restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Top restaurant. Value for money, nice wines. Been there twice and I loved the outside terrace. Never been inside the restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Very Nice French Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I visited this restaurant with our business colleagues and all of us were impressed with the tastes. Especially, my grilled beef was good with its source.
The atmosphere inside the restaurant was black base and the atmosphere was superb. It would be also good for the date.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leusden-Utrecht
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Good atmosphere and perfect food and wines. If available choose for lounge table. Directly next to kitchen and allways staff available (and with swift and perfect service)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great food-service-atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We went to Merlot for the wife's birthday and are so pleased we chose it.
The booking was made via internet with our apologies for not speaking Dutch and on our arrival were greeted in English by our hosts.
There was no English menu but we are in Netherlands so perhaps we should make the effort to speak/read more Dutch.
The waiter happily offered to translate anything we needed and spent as much time a necessary doing so.
We opted for the sampler/taster menu which they even offered to alter if anything on it was to to our taste-but it all was.
The location is easy to find and walking distance from the town centre area where we stayed.
The whole experience was excellent and we would recommend and return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“twice in two weeks a good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Years ago we had a bad experience at Merlot so we avoided the restaurant. A few weeks ago we went back and were surprised, very good 7 course dinner with several amuses and lots of wines by the glass. Only problem was that the start of the meal was very slow, we had to wait a long time before we had the first two courses, later on they picked up speed. Overall very good.
Because of this experience we went back with guests and had a very good meal again, this time tempo was fine. Wine arrangement possible with whole or half glasses. Some of these wines were good some less but hey that is nearly allways the case with a wine arrangement.
Will visit again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merlot - Wijnbar & Restaurant also viewed

Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Merlot - Wijnbar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlot - Wijnbar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.