We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic high quality food and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blok's

Blok's
Krommestraat 49, Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 149 Restaurants in Amersfoort
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: excellent restaurant
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic high quality food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went for the 'surprise' menu, and we were very pleasantly surprised! Great food combinations and lovely wines, coupled with excellent service. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area. For the quality of the food, this was well worth the money!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Taste Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

From the 'Amuse' (as the Dutch call it!) to the petit fours served with coffee, dinner at Blok's was an amazing taste experience with excellent service to go along with it. The kitchen was glass fronted and It was good to see the chef actually in the kitchen cooking unlike some other Michelin starred restaurants!
We partook of the €45 four course menu that, considering the quality if the food served, was excellent value especially compared to the fairly average but expensive food served in the restaurants in the two town squares. Add to that the excellent, unobtrusive service and peaceful ambiance, this is a superb way to spend an evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordeloos, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Costly starshine...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you're in for a healthy walk from your parked car (at the periphery of the, almost, car-free old city center), through a beautiful historical environment to the Blok's restaurant, you will not be disappointed. That is to say, if you're prepared to pay a healthy bill... The restaurant has been awarded a Michelin star, and you'll find yourself paying toll for that. Nevertheless, the food is original, elegant and beautifully served; the house wines are tasty and well chosen in harmony with the menu, and service is what you can expect when you're bathing in starshine. We haven't seen a menu as we followed the waitress's recommendation to trust on the chef's inspiration. This yielded us mackarel, haddock (which you would not expect in a top restaurant) and lamb meat, to give you an idea that the chef makes unconventional choices. A final, critical comment is that the restaurant, located in a fairly narrow room, was very noisy at the busy evening that we were there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tervuren
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“My very first time in a star restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have been travelling both for pleasure and mostly for work since more than 20 years now. However, I never dined in a restaurant with a star. My colleague reserved a table for the both us in this restaurant without telling me it had a star. It is well deserved. The welcome was very friendly, the food was lovely, the wines were great. If you are in Amersfoort and you want to spend a lovely evening with great food and wines, this is where you need to go. Fab!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good food in a nice setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Nice, modern, restaurant. High end cuisine.

The kitchen is in the back with windows so you can see the chefs work.

Elegant and tastefull dishes. Matched with wine by the glass (if you like).

I had a 4 course "surprise" menu. Elegant and good food. Small extra dishes in between the regular dishes.

Not cheap but very good value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blok's also viewed

Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 

Been to Blok's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blok's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.