We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, friendly service and delicious lunch.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Pastinaeck

De Pastinaeck
Hof 8, Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 115 restaurants in Amersfoort
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: See website (winner of proef ("taste") Amersfoort 2012
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Nice location, friendly service and delicious lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

During our visit we were told that this restaurant was awarded by a national TV programm for its vision to use seasonal and regional ingredients and forgotten vegetables, like the parsnip where this restaurant took its Dutch name from. The restaurant delivers not only a nice outside terrace but also several sections inside on the ground floor. The designer has done a great job by combining a modern style with romantic colours and warm elements like small bricks and dark wood. On the first floor there is also a room with a nice view from above on the square. The waitress was very nice and helpful and we enjoyed a tosti with cheese and a sandwich (made from crispy crafty bread) with smoked salmon, topped with a delicate horseradish sauce, a delicious lunch! For sure we will return to this fine location when we visit Amersfoort again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    6
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This restaurant is downtown Amersfoort and is a gem! The food is top notch and a good variety on the menu. Definitely to be recommended. I would consider this more fine dining then a family type of meal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Verrassend !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Dutch food. Not my thing, so I didn't want to go, but my wife en her brother forced me. And I an glad they did! The food was outstanding! I didn't know traditional Dutch vegetables could be this delicious! I enjoyed every course, every piece of food on my plate! I was very surprised, in a very positive way.
The place itself is not too big and has a good atmosphere.

Go and have dinner here: you won't be disappointed!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Making something special out of the ordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Located on the Hof: the large and historical market square in the middle of Amersfoort De Pastinaeck has chosen a the Dutch cuisine as its specialty. Taking forgotten vegetables and old Dutch recipies and turning it into something special. I absolutely love what they do with the food, every time you choose something you think you already know they succeed in giving it a twist and the twist turns out to be delicious every time. Great quality at a reasonable price and a cosy place to eat. Absolutely one of my favourites in Amersfoort.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Special cuisine - nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This restaurant is nice as it attempts to deviate in terms of the cuisine, using local ingredients and old vegetables. It is not expensive and located in the centre of town on a large square, with an outside terrace. Staff is generally attentive. The decor internally is not very special. It is an above average restaurant, but does not belong to the top of the Amersfoort market.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Pastinaeck also viewed

Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
 
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
 

Been to De Pastinaeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Pastinaeck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;