We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks Beautiful and Tastes Even Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Saffraan

De Saffraan
Kleine Koppel 3, 3812 PG Amersfoort, The Netherlands
033 4481753
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 167 Restaurants in Amersfoort
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, French
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Looks Beautiful and Tastes Even Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Down the years I have eaten in a fair sprinkling of Michelin starred restaurants. Of those I would say that the only one I would rate higher is the three star Librije in Zwolle and then only by a small margin. It surely cannot be long before this place gets its second star.

We had their eight course tasting menu which was quite simply delicious. Each small course and a fair sprinkling of amuses came beautifully presented. The flavours were both subtle and sophisticated. Based on recommendations here we also opted for their wine arrangement. Something I would have no hesitation in advising others to do.

Service was friendly and efficient. For such a high class restaurant it was remarkable informal and not at all stuffy or pretentious.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. This was my first visit here, it certainly won't be my last.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brianc_li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
NL
Level Contributor
206 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service- in a unique setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I recently joined my friends for a WONDERFUL meal at De Saffraan. First off, the setting was so unique; since when have you eating in a houseboat?!? The foot was also unique and deliciously prepared. I cannot have cow's milk and notified the restaurant of this fact ahead of time. I didn't have any allergy problems and the pastry chef prepared the best dessert for me that I've ever had in my life (no joke!). Lastly, the service was impeccable. Very attentive without being sycophantic. And just a tip: definitely talk with the sommelier. She is very knowledgable and can pick out some great wine selections to pair with your dishes. Excellent, unique choices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GroteAppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

we used the opportunity to sample eight dishes. small sizes but all very well prepared, surprising and very tasty. Really amazing food, often by unusual combination.
we got very good service, including very helpful advice on wine.
This restaurant is not cheap, except when there are special offers (which we used), but if you like very good food in a pleasant and beautiful setting, this may be the best place to go in Amersfoort

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank martindegraaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceeded All Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our first visit to this restaurant. We were somewhat sceptical when we saw that it was a "boat", but from the moment we arrived on board we knew that we were in for something good. We had the 7 course meal, which was absolutely superb. Each course was unique and delicious. The dessert was a mini-3 course treat with mouth-watering flavors. The service was impeccable and perfectly timed. The restaurant's ambiance was charming and comfortable. Would we eat there again? Most definitly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank guymat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience of food and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I missed the special offer in 2012, finally this year got an special offer to give it a try. We had a tasting menu, which contain 7 dishes. De Saffraan offers flexible wine paring, you can choose either three or more wine to combine with the dishes.
All and all it’s a very nice experience, it’s not just about the food itself but also
how they pay attention too all small details like put some toiletries in the lady’s room.
They even changed the wine they have chosen for me first and before the dish serve,
they just change it and the reason is the 2nd one matches the dish better than the first one I got. The dessert wine from Austria matches cheese plate perfectly. There must be a reason why De Saffraan can be a one star restaurant, not just the food, the wine, but also about their ambition and the passion of food
Pricy or not, it’s subjective, can only compared with other star restaurant if you have been to many. Nevertheless it is a memorable experience, would like to visit them again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Saffraan also viewed

Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 

Been to De Saffraan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing