We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Saffraan

De Saffraan
Kleine Koppel 3, 3812 PG Amersfoort, The Netherlands
033 4481753
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 123 Restaurants in Amersfoort
Cuisines: Dutch
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

we used the opportunity to sample eight dishes. small sizes but all very well prepared, surprising and very tasty. Really amazing food, often by unusual combination.
we got very good service, including very helpful advice on wine.
This restaurant is not cheap, except when there are special offers (which we used), but if you like very good food in a pleasant and beautiful setting, this may be the best place to go in Amersfoort

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    4
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exceeded All Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our first visit to this restaurant. We were somewhat sceptical when we saw that it was a "boat", but from the moment we arrived on board we knew that we were in for something good. We had the 7 course meal, which was absolutely superb. Each course was unique and delicious. The dessert was a mini-3 course treat with mouth-watering flavors. The service was impeccable and perfectly timed. The restaurant's ambiance was charming and comfortable. Would we eat there again? Most definitly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience of food and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I missed the special offer in 2012, finally this year got an special offer to give it a try. We had a tasting menu, which contain 7 dishes. De Saffraan offers flexible wine paring, you can choose either three or more wine to combine with the dishes.
All and all it’s a very nice experience, it’s not just about the food itself but also
how they pay attention too all small details like put some toiletries in the lady’s room.
They even changed the wine they have chosen for me first and before the dish serve,
they just change it and the reason is the 2nd one matches the dish better than the first one I got. The dessert wine from Austria matches cheese plate perfectly. There must be a reason why De Saffraan can be a one star restaurant, not just the food, the wine, but also about their ambition and the passion of food
Pricy or not, it’s subjective, can only compared with other star restaurant if you have been to many. Nevertheless it is a memorable experience, would like to visit them again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Experimental, exciting and excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

De Saffraan is super. Their style is an inspirational mix of classic basics but always with an exciting twist (a flavour from Asian food for example surprising you with a traditional fish dish, or just the lightest, most exciting piece of foie I've been served). It's not "easy" as the courses challenge you to discover the what makes them special, and I really enjoyed that. Every plate was beautifully presented, and some highlights were the veal tartar and the lamb. Wine pairings hit the spot, again with surprising combinations that sometimes made us wonder why had the wine been chosen until the dish itself was brought to the table. All in all a superb experience, well worth traveling from Amsterdam or other cities to enjoy this. We'll definitely be back in the summer to enjoy the terrace on the boat deck as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“not really a michelin star restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had dinner here a few weeks ago. Been before to this restaurant but only once we thought yeah this is a star restaurant. This time it was nice but didn't have a wow factor.I would rate it between average and good. For a normal restaurant it would be good but with a michelin star you expect more. Combination between food and sauces for example didn't allways work for us. Friendly staff, good winelist, expensive

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Saffraan also viewed

Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
Amersfoort, Utrecht Province
 

Been to De Saffraan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Saffraan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.