We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro in den Vollen Pot

Bistro in den Vollen Pot
Lieve Vrouwekerkhof 8-10, Amersfoort 3811 BS, The Netherlands
033 4632329
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #24 of 105 restaurants in Amersfoort
Cuisines: European, French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very busy on a Friday evening. Great setting in the nicest square in Amersfoort.

Good range of dishes on offer and even the specials are reasonably priced but the wine was a bit expensive I thought. Big portions of well cooked food.

Not a place to go for a romantic evening but a great place to spend a few hours with friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    5
    12
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, right under the lonely O.L.V. tower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The restaurant is housed in a centuries old building on a small square right under the lonely church tower, the 3rd largest in Holland. The church itself is long gone. (1806)

The restaurant serves good Dutch food and the portions are large, so bring your appetite. The food is very tasty and weather permitting you can sit outside on the terrace. Inside there is a large open kitchen where the food is prepared so when you sit in the right place you can see the cook at work.

There is a good deal with a 3 course dinner for €24, 50 ($ 32, 50, August 2013) where you can choose any combination from the standard menu. At the start you get some nice small bread rolls with garlic butter.

Service is friendly and efficient.

This was my second visit to the restaurant and I don’t understand why this place is not higher in the ratings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Netherlands
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“absolutely great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This place just gets everything right. It is located in a pretty medieval building in the center of Amersfoort.
Staff very friendly and attentive.
Food dutch/french style. Most people will opt for the 3 course dinner which at 24,50 euro is a bargain for what you get.
The kitchen is half open so you can watch how the chefs prepare the food.
As a starter I had carpaccio and my main was a steak, with crème brulée as a dessert. My wife had a salad, slip (sole meunière) and crème brulée as well.
The food arrived promptly as did the good beer (they have Palm and even Chouffe on draught).
It was wonderfully prepared. The meat had been cooked to perfection and even sidedishes like fries had been made with a lot of care.
Definitely will go here again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Great Dutch food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We only ate there once but it was a great meal. It was interesting to watch the chiefs prepare the meals in the open kitchen. The service was good and the food was excellent. It is a little cramp but not overly so. I would definately recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Classic Dutch Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Food is great and nice, my rating is average though as the service very often leaves a lot to improve and the place is a little cramp. They have an open kitchen (always gives a better feeling about how the food is prepared). I often take overseas clients here to enjoy classic Dutch food.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro in den Vollen Pot also viewed

Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
 
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
 

Been to Bistro in den Vollen Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro in den Vollen Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.