We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle to your Saves list
Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsweg 9, 8011 CZ Zwolle, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Zwolle
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very pleasant stay in hotel....nice decor, very large rooms and extremly quiet considering how close it is to the train station........check in was a bit weird, asked to sit down as the two guys were sat behind a desk, but check in only took a minute or two, but it did feel awkard standing in front of two people behind a low desk. Ate in the restaurant very nice meal of duck, and the dessert was fabulous...a citrus cake, ice cream combo...really sweet and sharp at the same time....pleasantly weird....Break fast was a buffet style with lots of choice. It has a nice homely feel, familiar and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Darren S,

Thank you for your review and your comment. Nice to read you had a pleasant stay with us and you enjoyed your dinner. Off course more than welcome back if you have to be back in Zwolle for business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    50
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
2
56
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

During my stay @Pillows I experienced a really hospitable service. I was guided to my room where the host explained me everything about the features of the hotel/room.
The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Great shower and a lovely bed.
The next day I enjoyed a extensive breakfast in the cosy restaurant/lobby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear MelchiorA, Thank you very much for your review and nice comments. We hope to welcome you back someday. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

For a night in Zwolle I have chosen the Pillows: good choice! The hotel is few walk steps from train station. The rooms are large and renovated, with nice design (as well as the lobby area), rooms are very quiet, good free Wi-fi service. Good breakfast. I have not tried the bar...

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Mr TonyC061, thank you for your kind words and your review! We hope to welcome you back in our hotel whenever you plan to visit Zwolle again! Enjoy your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is close to the railway station, but you don't hear the trains at all. Also, the area is very pleasant, unlike many train station localities.
The decor is very tasteful. I loved the muted colours. The room decor is very stylish! I loved the floor to ceiling curtains, which really blocked out the light. I had a great sleep!
The bathroom is nicely stocked with toiletries and towels including wash cloth and bathrobes.
There was a safe in the room, which was locked on our arrival. However we didnt pursue it with reception.
Reception was very efficient and helpful. There was no problem getting a late drink!
I'm not sure if the aircon was working. The room was very warm in the morning, but not too much!

Good selection of TV channels in English too.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the old town centre. I would definitely recommend it, despite the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Magscork, thank you for feedback and also your nice words about our team and and our hotel. It is nice to read such a review. Next time, do not hestitate to contact our receptionist to bring you coffee or tea to your room. More than welcome again as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Many reviewers have noted the dark rooms. The problem is a lack of lighting and wattage. The rooms are too dark to comfortably read a book at night. During the day, the light from the windows solves the problem. Our room had a few other oddities, like a mirror leaning against the wall, no luggage racks, and a climate control that either did not work, or we did not understand. Even so, the room (one grade up from standard) was large and very nicely appointed. Our room looked out the front of the hotel onto the main street and was up the staircase from the bar, but noise was not a problem.
The location is outstanding. It is short walk from the train station and a short walk to the old central city where most of the tourist attractions are located. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was acceptable to good. The breakfast room doubles as the restaurant and tearoom and is pleasant.
If you have any balance issues, the bath tub/shower are a problem. The lip of the tub is quite high and there are no grab bars. The large bathroom included heated towel bars.
We thought the Pillows provided reasonable value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Southwind3,
Thank you for you review and feedback on this site. Good to read all your tips. The ones for us will be used to improve service and give better information in the future. Checking the lights is one of these things. So thank you for that. We hope to see you again in our hotel in the future someday! Enjoy your day for now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Hi all,
Stayed here a few times on business trips and on personal trips. Hotel is well appointed with some lovely rooms. It's location is very close to train station so very easy access. There's a car park so drivers are well catered for too.
Breakfast is continental (which is very different to Irish and English breakfasts) but is very good indeed. Staff are very pleasant and there is a nice little bar too.
My only concern is the climate control, it is very poor in hot weather in some rooms so ask when booking.

Room Tip: In hot weather specify a room with climate control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Mister BarryMcIreland, thank you very much for your review. Good to read you enjoyed your stay. Next time if you come to visit Zwolle and stay with us, it is an option to book a Royal de Luxe room or junior suite. In these rooms you can arrange the temperature yourself. All other rooms are connected to a central air handling system. We hope to welcome you back as our guest soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went here for the second time for a romantic weekend. Everything about this hotel is amazing. The building is gorgeous (an old police office), the decoration is very tasteful and the staff is always ready to help and very friendly. The airco was working again, so it wasn't warm or anything. We liked the breakfest very much, not as extensive as say a Hilton, but for a smal boutique hotel very nice and fresh. I would defenitly recommend this hotel! Also very nearby the lovely center of Zwolle.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the old building, very high ceilings and more space. You will love it! I think they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaBouwmeester, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your feedback about our hotel. Enjoy your day and more than welcome back as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle

Address: Stationsweg 9, 8011 CZ Zwolle, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Zwolle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Zwolle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel Pillows Zwolle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.