We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Kampen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Dijk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel van Dijk to your Saves list
Hotel van Dijk
Ijsselkade 30, 8261 Kampen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Kampen B&B and Inns
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Kampen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent three great nights here and very much enjoyed our stay. We were in room 32 with a nice Ijssel River view. The room was large, had two huge windows to let in the cool air and enjoy the view, it was very clean, the bathroom was recently renovated, very modern/nice, and very clean. WIFI is free. Breakfast was a plentiful continental-type all you can eat that included meats, cheeses, great breads, cereals, and coffee and orange juice. Why some previous posters were put off by breakfast is bewildering. All hotel staff were super friendly and helpful providing some eating, sightseeing, and driving directions that all turned out to be spot on. Lastly, we were provided a parking permit (no charge) that allowed us to park right in front of the hotel for free. For sure, when we return to Kampen this is where we’ll stay!

Room Tip: Get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice little hotel with a friendly staff. The rooms are not big, but clean and up-to-date. Good shower. Excellent (free) Wi-fi. If you have a room at the front of the hotel, you’ll have an excellent view on the river.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Kampen is a nice little historic town, with great biking routes in the surrounding area, and the hotel is right next to the main walking street. It's always in front of the river, so our room had a very nice view, especially in the morning when the sun light came through the big windows. Room was clean, but the bathroom was a bit old. The management was very friendly and helpful. The lady at the reception provided tea and lemon free of charge when my wife had stomach ache.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and the management were certainly very friendly and helpful (such a bonus!). We had a good view over the river from our upstairs front room. The rooms were attractively furnished but a little on the small side for my liking. The one down side was that the bathroom had seen better days; it just had a really old, slightly broken feel about it.
Breakfast was the typically Dutch continental style with many good breads, meats, cheese and boiled eggs (not necessarily kept warm). For me a hotel breakfast is not complete without a range of cooked things like bacon and scrambled eggs, toast etc so it felt a trifle lacking to me. The coffee machine turned out a really nice cup so I was happy with that!
It was a short walk to the market square to find some very good restaurants.
The hotel is happy to do travellers' laundry for a small fee which is really very helpful.
I was able to secure a roadside carpark with a parking permit easily arranged through the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 weeks with a group of work mates and we were very well looked after and i am sure that Herman + Irma(owners) and other staff needed a rest after we left.Great thing about this hotel is you are made to feel that you really are welcome.Keep it up Hotel van Dijk

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampen
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We arrived on 10 a.m. Sunday morning with 60 people. After breakfast we wished to have coffee and pastry. The very friendly owner Herman and his wife Irma were able to serve us with excellency! Coffee was served personally, so no isolated coffee pots. All services with a smile.

This coffee and pastry was the start of a wonderful ruby wedding day. We left the hotel for the saloon ship "De Veerman Van Kampen" and the party continued. Thank you Irma and Wessel for this perfect start.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prinsenbeek Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Excellent very friendly hosts. Rooms could be bigger, but everything is very clean. Beautiful sight at the Ijssel River.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel van Dijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Dijk

Address: Ijsselkade 30, 8261 Kampen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Kampen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kampen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel van Dijk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Dijk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.