We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede

Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hengelosestraat 725, NL-7521 PA Enschede, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Enschede
GreenLeadersSilver level
dc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“surprisingly nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a very nice 5-night stay at this hotel in July 2013. I was concerned about the hotel's location 4 km away from the center of Enschede -- but it turned out to be right across from a stop for a bus that runs into town regularly and was a 10-minute walk from the Enschede Drienerlo train station. The hotel is a set of older A-frame buildings set back from the road and tucked under a canopy of trees. Our room was a weird two-level affair. The first floor had a small sitting area, bathroom and small balcony. Then there was a steep staircase up to the bedroom in the peak of the A-frame. It was pretty hot up there at night without air conditioning; we heard from other guests that their rooms had ceiling fans, but ours did not. Oddly, housekeeping didn't fully clean the room on a daily basis: the bathroom was cleaned and the beds were made, but they didn't vacuum (which we could see from leaf debris which blew in through the windows), nor did they wash the cups or replace the coffee and tea.

Breakfast in the bistro was WONDERFUL: eggs, bacon, juices, all sorts of coffee (drip, expresso, cappucino, cafe creme, etc.), fruit, cheese, cold cuts, yogurt, granola, pastries, etc. -- all fresh and nicely arranged. The stylish restaurant open for dinner has a creative menu of small-portioned dishes, to encourage people to order starters or salads and/or desserts as well as a main course. Everything we tried was out-of-this-world, especially the gazpacho with cucumber foam (wow) and strawberries Romanov. The staff in both the bistro and restaurant were super friendly and efficient, and seemed to really enjoy their jobs. This is a big part of what made the stay unexpectedly nice.

The only downside of our visit was the thinness of the walls of the bedroom. One night we could hear details of a couple, er, coupling from 1-3am -- where pillows over our heads did nothing to muffle the sounds. I've had issues of thin walls in other hotels in the Netherlands, but never to this degree! What if we had been staying there with children?! Something should be done about this the next time the hotel is updated, really.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a ceiling fan in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Meijer, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear sir / madam,

I would like to thank you for review regarding your stay in De Broeierd. Thanks to your feedback we are able to provide our guests a better service and higher standard of quality and hospitality.

I will make sure that I discuss your feedback regarding the cleaning of your room with my staff to make sure that this issue will not happen again.

Also I will make sure that I give your compliments to my staff in the restaurant and to the chef and his staff.

I hope to see you soon in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Martin Meijer
General Manager
Hampshire Hotel De Broeierd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    63
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
12
50
4
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is set just off a main road in its own plot. I stayed for 2 nights on business. one of the nights was particularly noisy, the Friday, as the students across the road in their complex had loud music on until late, so not a lot of sleep that night.
The room that I had was huge, the bed was upstairs, away from the bathroom and lounge area. Beds were comfy and clean and the staff were very pleasant. I am English and there was no language barrier at all, they were lovely. Food in the restaurant was very nice too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Meijer, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear sir / madam,

Thank you for your feedback during your stay in our hotel. Thanks to your feedback we are able to provide even better quality in hospitality and services.

I hope to see you soon in our hotel again.

Best Regards,
Martin Meijer
General Manager
Hampshire Hotel De Broeierd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel has the luxury of let's say 1985 and has worn down a bit since then.
The setup of the rooms and the restaurant reminded us of our youth in the 70's. Fashionable back then, not even retro by now.
For us it was a handy location.
Convenient, nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Meijer, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte heer / mevrouw,

Graag wil ik u bedanken voor de moeite die u heeft genomen om uw ervaringen met ons te delen. Mede dankzij uw ervaringen kunnen wij onze kwaliteit in gastvrijheid en service nog verder verbeteren.

Begin 2013 hebben wij 30 van onze hotelkamers geheel gerenoveerd en voorzien van nieuw meubilair, matrassen en decoraties. Volgens onze planning proberen wij in 2014 de renovatie te kunnen afronden.

Ik hoop u spoedig opnieuw in Hampshire Hotel De Broeierd te mogen begroeten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fine but not brilliant. Rooms are OK but the split level ones have precipitous stairs to the bed - be careful!
Food in the brasserie is pretty good though as is the service - they serve until quite late too.
It's a bit delapidated in places and the paintwork is chipped and worn.
If it's in the location you need then stay otherwise there may be better places of few kilometres away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A convenient hotel for the nearby business park. A colleague and I stayed this June for one night. Unfortunately, my allocated room on the first floor, whilst large, appeared to be next to the laundry which had a heating/ventilating unit which hummed constantly - and looked at another roof. So, far no so good! I went back to reception and they asked which room I would prefer. Happily, having stayed here on quite a few previous business trips, I knew that the split level rooms are better - especially the ones which have been recently refurbished. The outlook is onto lots of trees, they have a small balcony with a small living room and TV downstairs with the bedroom upstairs. The decor is frankly bizarre. A giant bird on a white wall greets you upstairs and the clash of a brownish swirly patterned carpet with the turquoise heavily patterned walls takes some getting used to. The chairs on the balcony are a vibrant Dutch orange in colour. However, at least they are refurbished, clean with a reasonably good shower and bathroom. Downstairs, the breakfast room reminds me of TGI Friday's. If you like retro 70's, you'll like this...er, maybe? Still, the breakfast itself is good with lots of variety and it works for a quick business trip. I understand that the restaurant on the side of the hotel is good but have never eaten here. The staff are accommodating but really the hotel needs a thorough modernisation programme and re-decoration.

Room Tip: My refurbished room was 115 right at the end of many long corridors on the first floor. It has a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located about 3 kilometres outside the city centre close to Twente University. The local bus stops outside and takes 6-10 mins to town. The ambiance in the hotel is very relaxing and the lounge and restaurant areas are excellent. The bedroom is fine and large as is the bathroom. The beds are comfortable and all is clean and well maintained. The service is good and the staff are friendly. We did not eat in the hotel but we spent a couple of evenings in the lounge and were very happy there. One small issue arose in relation to the soap/shampoo dispensers in the bathroom where 2 out of 3 failed to work and I reported them early on Saturday morning. The receptionist explained that they could not be fixed until Monday (when I was leaving)!!---very strange of a hotel not to have maintenance staff available over weekends, the busiest time. However on request she did provide small bottles of shower gel/shampoo. I would suggest the hotel change the dispensers which are not really suitable. This did not detract from our stay and I do recommend this nice hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I mostly enjoyed my stay here. The rooms were nice; they are approximately what one would expect to find in a Hilton Garden Inn or a nicer Hampton Inn. For this reason, I thought that the price was a tad expensive at around $180 per night. However, given that there aren't any other hotels in the area and it's right across from the university campus, I was fine paying that rate. Loved that there were bicycle rentals onsite, and that the rate was very reasonable (especially considering the convenience). The restaurant is decent, and lunch is well-priced. I did not try dinner. Desk staff friendly and attentive. Housekeeping was alright; I found that my bed was half-made most of the time, by which I mean that it definitely looked slept in, and usually just had the covers pulled up. I did like that they wait until 10am or so to make up the rooms.

All in all, would definitely stay again and was definitely an acceptable value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohannesHuisma, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
We would be glad to welcome you once again for another stay in our hotel!
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede

Address: Hengelosestraat 725, NL-7521 PA Enschede, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Enschede
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Enschede
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Silver Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.