We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Appartementenhotel de Vischpoorte

Save Saved
You added Appartementenhotel de Vischpoorte to your Saves list
Appartementenhotel de Vischpoorte
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Appartementenhotel de Vischpoorte
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Markt 40, Deventer, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deventer
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Deventer and were very pleased with our spacious apartment for a family of 3. The apartment consisted of 2 double bedrooms and two separate bathrooms. Suitable for a family as opposed to two couples as the rooms were interconnected. Lovely view of the river and tastefully decorated. The church bells ringing every half a hour got a little getting used to and my only criticism is that the cleaner could have done a better job. Dust under beds for example and crumbs left on the carpet from previous guests. Dont let that put you off staying though. Peter the owner is lovely- speaks goods English and we were provided with a complimentary quality bottle of red wine. Peter even went out of his way and brought us a bottle of milk so that we could make our own cups of tea (sad- but we bring our own tea bags from home with us!) My daughter made the most of the goodies in the fridge too which incurred fair charges. We ate in the restaurant next door and would highly recommend the lamb!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
12
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights on business in one of the apartments. The hotel has no other amenities other than the breakfast room but it is very well located close to the old town. My apartment was 535 euro for 5 nights. It was well equipped with kitchenette, small living room and nice bathroom on the first level. The bedroom was on the second level - not so ideal when as access was via steep, narrow metal steps - not suitable for older people or very young kids.
Staff very friendly and helpful. I did not take the breakfast - instead i took coffee in my room each morning. Overall a pleasant stay - my other co-worker felt his apartment was very small - i didnt see it. The aparthotel is quite old - be aware of steep stairs to rooms and within room - there is no lift. My apartemt had good aircon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for almost three months during march 2012 to June 2012. I got first apparment with kitchen facility. Nice location of this room. You can have river view. It was wonderfull time to be there. Mr. Peter is very nice person. who helped me a lot. Even his wife is also lovely lady. I had feel like family in this Hotel. Cleanliness and everything is really wonderful. I would surely recommend to everyone to stay in this hotel if they are visiting Deventer. I will also love to visit Deventer and stay in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get riverside view room or roadside room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I live in Deventer and bussiness Friend came to see me. I Googled my Town and this Hotel came up. He got the 7 Famaliy Penthouse Suite for a nice Price €80. A 100m2 room!! Mega big.
Nice Host and Hotel is direct in the middle of the Egde of Downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We've stayed 6 times in the city of Deventer, be it for the Reincken music festival (in May), humor festival (in December), street theater festival "Deventer op Stelten" (in July), or just a few days away from the daily grind. In all cases we booked an appartment in hotel De Vischpoorte, with the IJssel river on the other side of the street, and next to everything interesting that the city center has to offer.

We always arrived there by train, and walked the 900 meters from the railway station, since a car is not very useful in an ancient city like Deventer. Parking your car is possible if you want, using a parking place offered by the hotel for €10 per night. A cheaper alternative is a free parking terrain on the other side of the IJssel (the Worp park), and cross the river with the foot ferry to get at the hotel.

The setup of this hotel is to combine the best of two worlds. On one hand there are spacious self-catering apartments with a fully equipped kitchen, a large table to eat and read, plus a large working desk, and a sitting area. On the other hand, cleaning staff comes by each day, replenish coffee/tea (free) and mini bar (not overly expensive like in other hotels), deliver fresh towels when needed, remove garbage, etcetera. With two supermarkets on 600 meter walking distance, you can obtain everything to prepare your own meals. We always did, including breakfast, though the hotel offers a breakfast service if you want.

In most cases we booked the IJsselsuite with 2 bedrooms and a stunning view on the IJssel river. This apartment is on the 1st floor, and there is no elevator. There are 2 bedrooms where 4 people can sleep, but some of the time we were with 5 and used the living room as 3rd bedroom by means of an extra bed provided by the hotel. With two bathrooms in the apartment, there is little chance that you have to wait in line for a shower or toilet.

The very first time we booked this hotel (May 2010) we stayed in a different 2-bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor (no elevator), with only a side view on the IJssel river. We had a fully equipped kitchen, a large table to eat and read, plus a large work desk, and a sitting area. Can easily accomodate 4 people to sleep in 2 separate bedrooms. Though we did not use it as such, I think that the living room can be used here as 3rd bedroom too (as we did in the IJssel suite).

The friendly hotel owner can help you with anything you want to know about the city and surrounding places of interest, assist you in finding suitable restaurants, and offer more such local knowledge. For the next "Deventer op Stelten" event in July 2013 we booked the 2-bedroom apartment (the IJsselsuite we mostly had in the past, was already occupied). We heard that it has been newly redecorated, getting rid of the dark brown impression that it left the first time we were there. This is the 7th time we book this hotel and we know what to expect, hence look forward to a problemless extended weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We unfortunately just spent one night at Vischpoorte. The manager was really friendly and guided and explained us the apartment. Be aware that you don't get a room, but a small apartment. Some are located about 5 minutes walk to the main building of the hotel (if you want to go for breakfast).
The apartment we had was hidden in a court but absolutely lovely. You can still see the old parts of the house but the interior is modern. We were three people in the apartment and had a lot of space. The kitchen is well equipped (coffee machine included!) and the living / dining room is ample. You have a nice TV and free WiFi.
Definitely worth staying there even if you want to see the environs of Deventer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

I was very happy with my choice here, the host was fantastic and easy going with excellent English. I stayed at the penthouse apartment, normally suited to a large family, so I had plenty of space. A well equipped and cheap minibar, a good tv with AV inputs (no ever mentions this), good heating and fully equipped kitchen. The decor is rustic modern if that makes sense.
The location is fantastic, only minutes walk to anywhere including some amazing historical icons, including the oldest brick house in the Netherlands.
Go for the breakfast, it is fantastic value.
My only gripes, and not major ones at that: the stairwell is steep and narrow and with my 19kg suitcase this was very awkward. The bell tower in the church next door chimed every hour and car garage is about 100-150m walk over cobblestone streets (rough on the suitcase).
Overall, recommended.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Appartementenhotel de Vischpoorte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appartementenhotel de Vischpoorte

Address: Nieuwe Markt 40, Deventer, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Deventer
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deventer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Appartementenhotel de Vischpoorte 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Appartementenhotel de Vischpoorte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appartementenhotel de Vischpoorte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.