We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean and fulfilled my expectations (3.5 really)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Doppenberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Doppenberg to your Saves list
Hotel Doppenberg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hogeweg 38A, 2042 GH Zandvoort, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Zandvoort
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Basic, clean and fulfilled my expectations (3.5 really)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I'm probably not a typical resident at this hotel. I was sent to Amsterdam for work at short notice. The hotels in Amsterdam seemed to fall into one of three categories: 1 - Ludicrously expensive, 2 - 'dodgy looking hostels, still expensive, 3 - Sold out.
So I decided to stay in Zandvoort and picked the Doppenberg as it was at a reasonable price and topped the list.
Good points: Friendly welcome, clean accommodation, quiet location, BBC1 on the TV (good for the English), refrigerator in the room
Not so good points: my room had a separate entrance on the ground floor at the back, so no charming view, there is free wifi, apparently, but it didn't seem to penetrate into my room.

Within easy walking distance, there are numerous restaurants and the train station. Trains to Amsterdam Centraal run every 30 mins. and are very punctual.
The Dutch are quite idiosyncratic (imho). E.g., the ticket machine at the station doesn't accept non-Dutch debit/credit cards.
I would certainly stay again in similar circumstances. The hotel would make a clean and comfortable "no-frills" base for those taking a break by the sea.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We only stayed one night at this adorable place, but it was totally worth it! We had a 3 bed room, because our daughter joined us. The accommodations were such that she had her own sleeping quarters, away from us. Were were just off the reception area, but it was still quiet. While we weren't there long enough, it was nice to know there was a fridge and kettle in our room.

Amsterdam is only a short train ride away, and the Zandvoort centrum is only a short walk away.
Next time we stay at the sea, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here with another couple so they did upgrade us to rooms on the first floor which were very large. The deluxe room was very well appointed....very large room and shower and a large patio overlooking the street. We had a 2nd very large room, a little more spartan but very nice. Unfortunately there is spotty desk service and our friend's request for more than one bath towel was not responded to, and before we went out for dinner, I left a request for an extra pillow, and the note was still on the desk on our return a couple of hours later.
Parking is 3/4 of a block down the street but affordable at €7.50 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a week and it was just great. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms were tidy and nicely decorated. The hotel is located just a couple of meters away from the city centre and beaches so everything is within walking distance.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Pros: The hotel is in a good location to reach the town center and the beach, and the girl at the front desk was so nice and helpful, even helping us order our tickets to Keukenhof and figure out train schedules.
Cons: Breakfast is not included, and is offered at a different location in the town center. The room needed some renovations (although based on other reviews, I think maybe other rooms are better than ours was. There was mold in the shower and on the ceiling, the window didn't shut right, there was a broken pipe coming out of the bathroom floor with a towel stuffed in it, and it made the room smell really bad, and worst of all was the toilet! Google GPST toilet to see what I mean. The internet was terrible too, although it was free.
Overall, I hate not giving them a good rating, because the service was so friendly, but they need to do some basic renovations before renting it out to more people. We had the room on the back side of the top floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Doppenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doppenberg

Address: Hogeweg 38A, 2042 GH Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zandvoort
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Zandvoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Doppenberg 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Doppenberg is a hotel with a special atmosphere in the center of Zandvoort, walking distance from the beach and dunes. It has 7 luxerious apartments. Zandvoort has a lot to offer apart from sea and dunes. What about the Circuitpark? We would like to show you the other way of discovering all the nice things in Zandvoort and surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Doppenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Doppenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.