We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip, even in October” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zandvoort aan Zee

Zandvoort aan Zee
Boulevard, Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 7 attractions in Zandvoort
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Ottawa
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Worth the trip, even in October”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

While staying in Zaandam we wanted to see something else besides Amsterdam. Who does not like a trip to the Seaside. Easy to get to as the Dutch rail is very efficient.
Beautiful sandy beach,the sea (Zee) and a pretty town.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    15
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the widest beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

As Im a beachlover, So, Zandvoort is one a must visit on my list. Even thought I came there on early spring so the weather still cold (around 10degree Celcius) for me as an Asian :) But its worth a visit. I didn't touch the sand and the water cause I was sure will be so freezinggg..
But I enjoyed sit in the car and saw the beautiful beach view, its one of the widest and cleanest beach I ever visited. You can enjoy and relaxing the best view of the beach from the side chair close the road or even sit in your car.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Life's a beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

From the Central Station in Amsterdam the beach is only a short train ride away. Excellent for a long (or shorter) walk and then a drink in of the many beach bars. They're only there in the summer though! Off season you have to walk into town and though there are many options, the centre looks kind of out dated and shabby.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
138 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Lovely beach, summer evening haunt near Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Zaandvoort aan Zee is one of the best beaches near Amsterdam, located near another beautiful city, Haarlem. The beach is wide and sandy and most importantly, very clean. The beach front is lined by many restaurants, many of which feature long chairs where one can stretch and relax while enjoying a beer or have fun in the water and chill afterwards. The beach is deemed safe and the water is safe to enter for at least a few feet. There are many activities being held along the beach during summer. We saw some sand sculptures near the beach front last week. Wonderful place to come down to in the spring or summer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful sandy beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful beach. Very wide and sandy beach. We were lucky to go in a heat wave and it was glorious. There is a lovely restaurant bar called Thalassa. I could of been in the med. If you are on a trip to amsterdam this would be a welcome side trip weather permitting. It is only 1/2 hour away from amsterdam.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zandvoort aan Zee also viewed

Zandvoort, North Holland Province
Zandvoort, North Holland Province
 
Zandvoort, North Holland Province
Zandvoort, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zandvoort aan Zee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zandvoort aan Zee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.