We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the widest beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zandvoort aan Zee

Zandvoort aan Zee
Boulevard, Zandvoort, The Netherlands
+31 23 571 2171
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Zandvoort
Attraction details
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the widest beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

As Im a beachlover, So, Zandvoort is one a must visit on my list. Even thought I came there on early spring so the weather still cold (around 10degree Celcius) for me as an Asian :) But its worth a visit. I didn't touch the sand and the water cause I was sure will be so freezinggg..
But I enjoyed sit in the car and saw the beautiful beach view, its one of the widest and cleanest beach I ever visited. You can enjoy and relaxing the best view of the beach from the side chair close the road or even sit in your car.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    54
    23
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Life's a beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

From the Central Station in Amsterdam the beach is only a short train ride away. Excellent for a long (or shorter) walk and then a drink in of the many beach bars. They're only there in the summer though! Off season you have to walk into town and though there are many options, the centre looks kind of out dated and shabby.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
151 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Lovely beach, summer evening haunt near Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Zaandvoort aan Zee is one of the best beaches near Amsterdam, located near another beautiful city, Haarlem. The beach is wide and sandy and most importantly, very clean. The beach front is lined by many restaurants, many of which feature long chairs where one can stretch and relax while enjoying a beer or have fun in the water and chill afterwards. The beach is deemed safe and the water is safe to enter for at least a few feet. There are many activities being held along the beach during summer. We saw some sand sculptures near the beach front last week. Wonderful place to come down to in the spring or summer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful sandy beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful beach. Very wide and sandy beach. We were lucky to go in a heat wave and it was glorious. There is a lovely restaurant bar called Thalassa. I could of been in the med. If you are on a trip to amsterdam this would be a welcome side trip weather permitting. It is only 1/2 hour away from amsterdam.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Zandvort...the Coney Island of A-dam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

A nice break from the intensity of the city. A half hour by train. Go first class and use the lounge at Centraal. Free food and drink. Also on train away from noisy kids.
Since Florida is my home the beach was no big deal but the little beach restaurants were quite tasty. Friendly people on holiday and muchbdifferent than a US beach.
Worth it for a rest day. Dont expect any culture except skateboards and parkour. I usually visit even in the fall and spring just for a break.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zandvoort aan Zee also viewed

Zandvoort, North Holland Province
Zandvoort, North Holland Province
 
Zandvoort, North Holland Province
Lisse, South Holland Province
 

Been to Zandvoort aan Zee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zandvoort aan Zee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.