We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Disappointed -- Too expensive for what you get.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunparks Zandvoort an der Nordsee

Sunparks Zandvoort an der Nordsee
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zandvoort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunparks Zandvoort an der Nordsee
Save Saved
You added Sunparks Zandvoort an der Nordsee to your Saves list
Vondellaan 60, 2041BE Zandvoort, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Zandvoort
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“Mostly Disappointed -- Too expensive for what you get.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Traveling with wife and three kids ages 6,4, and 2. Starting with the good things:
1. The pool.

Ok, now on to the bad.

1. Looks nothing like it does on the website. Poorly maintained villas (peeling paint, etc), trash strewn about in the dune grasses (beer bottles, candy wrappers), market dome area has a run-down very "lived in" feel to it (disgusting, stinky fish and turtle pond). Petting zoo area has so much goat poo, it doesn't feel sanitary or look like they clean it much.

2). Not just for families. While the website makes it look like it is geared for families, it seems to attract the "Spring Break" crowd. Lot's of groups of young 20-somethings who were there to party. Lot's of alcohol consumed by large groups of youths - doesn't seem to mix well with the large number of young families also there. Personally, we had the Dutch version of girls-gone-wild in the next villa over. They partied loudly with a sound system and some sort of siren that they blasted all night while they sang along to American dance music.


3), Not good if sleeping is part of how you relax on holiday. My young children are normally asleep by 8 PM. These girls carried on most of the night, even after we asked them to quiet down. Officially, the park has an 11PM quiet time, but that doesn't help much when you need it quiet by 8PM. 11PM seemed way too late for a "family" resort. Also, we were awakened each moring by the sound of racing cars at the adjoining race circuit and they start early and continue all day....very noisy.

4). Villas were junky and worn out. While the villa was equipped OK, the overall quality of the execution was lacking. The beds were old and worn and telegraphed that they were very well used (yuck). We paid extra for the "sheets package" and while the sheets came wrapped in laundry film, they were mostly stained and looked pretty well used as well (double yuck). The decor in the room seemed like a hodge podge of spare parts and leftovers -- nothing matched. Again, while functionally OK, I perceived this as poor maintenance. The whole time I was in the villa, it just made me feel dirty. The physical appearance of the rooms seemed to mean little to this resort. I would cringe each time my two year old would sit or play on the very hard tile floors, which always seemed to feel a bit gritty.

5). Strange lack of detail.
- The food store sells things you would need an oven to prepare, but the villas have no ovens. You get a cooktop (gas, but no means to light it, so don't forget to bring matches), a microwave, a tiny micro-refrigerator, and a dishwasher.
- When we tried to call to complain about the noise our neighbors were making, we found a phone number in some of the literature in the room, but there was no phone. In fact, they left us a menu to order pizza to be delivered to the room with a number to call, but did not give us a phone to use to call.

6). The Beach Factory at the nearby strand hotel is a joke and you have to pay for parking. The website makes it look like a fabulous kid-oriented play place, but I was very disappointed that the indoor playground was tiny (essentially one playscape with a slide). The electric indoor go karts were not there (just gone). The mini-golf was disappointing and there was really nothing for our little one to do except play in the lego area (the legos looked 10 years old and were filthy, by the way). Bowling looked fun, but was always jammed, no way to get in. I suppose if you had the time and a place to park the kids for a few hours the tennis and squash courts looked OK.

7). The food is at best mediocre. We had only two meals at the main area, the rest we prepared ourselves in the villa (thank God). We had pizza and burgers at the main restaurant in the market dome. The best I can say was that it was just OK, but for two kids meals and two adult bugers it was over 50 euros. A few days in I purchased lunch from the poolside cafe for two of the kids. Again, food was pretty bad and it was well over 20 euros.

Bottom line, I think this trip would have been worth it at 1/2 to 2/3 of what we paid. Not a good value and very disappointing. Don't believe the website.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed here a part of a group of approximately 30 adults and 14 year old boys as part of an overseas football tournament package, organised by our son's football team. There was a problem with the booking when arrived, we apparently had one more person in the group than was in the booking; we were kept waiting for over an hour before this was sorted. After a coach trip of almost 20 hours this wasn't particularly pleasant. I didn't deal with the staff personally but the word was that they were particulary unhelpful.
The bungalows were clean and spacious and fairly well equipped. Having to make up your own beds, again is a bit of a pain especially we so tired after such a long journey.
The kids enjoyed the pool.
The onsite restaurant was very busy on the night we ate there but the staff coped well. My husband was a bit fed up with the speed of service but in my opinion this was just down to it being so busy. The food was pretty average. We had pizza and fries which were just ok.
On departure again we had to wait to as the staff had to inspect each bungalow and some of our group were sent back to empty bins, remove bedding etc. This should be done by the cleaners in my opinion, given the price charged to stay here. There should have been clear notices indicating what was expected on departure .
This is the second time I have been here on a football trip. I wouln't recommend staying here for any other reason than these kind of trips due to the unhelpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dipolog, Philippines
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We arrived late on Christmas Eve, after driving from Birmingham UK, which took most of the day, driving via Eurotunnel .

Our bungalow / villa / cottage was already warm and spotlessly clean, We were too late for the 'help-yourself' buffet dinner that 1st night, but we ordered pizzas & spaghetti (and a bottle of wine to help revive a rather tired driver!)

It is so much nicer having your own place to stay in, as compared to a hotel room! We got a proper kitchen, well equipped (but it would have been even nicer with an oven)

My wife and I struggled to cuddle up on two single beds that were sliding all over the tiled floor. Hard to get friendly in bed if there's a foot-wide gap opening up in-between you!

Heating was very good, with radiators in every room, plus underfloor heating, plus a real fireplace to mess about with too! Just to be extra sure, we had also brought with us an our own extra electric fan heater, with a European adaptor plug - useful as the outdoor temperature was -7 deg C that night!

Aside from Christmas Day. when the staff had some well deserved time off, we ate at the hotel's help yourself buffet for breakfasts and dinners each day. The Dutch are not noted for their special cuisine, but if you like lots of solid rib-sticking meat, potatoes, soups, coleslaw salads etc, then it's really quite fine!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweinfurt, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

It was not what I was expecting after looking at the website. It's basically a beach house.
Good things:
Lots of pots and pans, silverware, dishes and cups Dishwasher and small fridge.
Fairly large rooms, bed lamps and night stand.
Not so good things:
No phone in villas, tv but no dvd player. No soap of any kind in the bathrooms.
There is a small market, but the hours are very limited. Same with the reception area.
LOTS of stray cats!!

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

I stayed in one of the self catering villas with a group of friends over New Years 2009 and had a fantastic time. The villa itself had everything we needed, from a hob cooker and microwave to sound system, flat screen TV and a very welcome log fire (it was still snowing when we arrived!).

The bedrooms were very cosy, simple but stylish, clean, tidy and comfortable (especially the beds) - being a detached villa, we weren't disturbed at any point either, which was particularly nice on New Years Day with sore heads.

The centre of the village is OK, although the pool is really good (I'd imagine great for people with kids), the supermarket closes a little too early and as you might expect, you'll save a bit of money getting food and logs for the fire at one of the shops in town.

You'll need to get a cab or drive yourself to Zandvoort, for the few shops, restaurants, cafes or short train ride into Amsterdam.

All in all, I'd say this place is a simple and comfy place for any group of mates (or a family) who want to save money by cooking their own food and have the independence of doing their own thing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

We stayed in a self-catering chalet at Zandvoort with kids aged 11, 7, 5. The accommodation was a bit spartan. We needed the extra blankets we had brought to top up the thin duvets. The toilet had a bit of a smell to it. But basically it was clean, functional and reasonably equipped.

Many plus points. The site was quiet and safe. Our kids loved the Aquadome with its wave machine and slides (not too scary for the 5 year old). They also enjoyed petting goats in the children's farm and playing "midget golf". We were lucky with the weather so able to hire bikes and cycle along the seafront (and spend time on the beach). We deliberately chose Zandvoort for proximity to Amsterdam, and sure enough it was a stress-free 30 minute train ride away with some great museums to explore. We also discovered Haarlem, which was beautiful. Organised children's activities were pretty non-existent, but it didn't matter.

I would recommend Zandvoort to anyone who doesn't feel they need
- Centre Parcs levels of comfort
- a picturesque seaside village - Zandvoort is an ordinary town
- loads of other Brits to socialise with - the clientele was overwhelmingly Dutch and German.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-lyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Sunparks are aa European version of the British Centre Parks, and in fact this park used to be owned by Centre Parks. When you compare the prices for a Sunpark Holiday compared to Centre Parks in England we found it far cheaper even with a return overnight ferry crossing for four with a car!!.

Check in was fautless as it can all be done from the car, and if you are early you can check in and then use the facilities, this is also the case on check out day, which we found useful as we had all day to get to Rotterdam for the ferry home and had to be out of the accomodation for 10am so we spent most of the day in the pools and left in the afternoon

The accomodawtion was well presented and spotless, the only things missing were; as far as we were concerned, an oven (microwave was present) and some unbreakable cups, as we have an accident prone two year old.

The facilities in the aquacentre are great and we spent most or our time there, with our two year old loving the baby pool, and our four and a half year old at home in the big pool. It was also good to have a full size pool for the grown ups to have a propper swim.

The shop was good for run of the mill things but we did a big shop at a large supermarket five minute drive away. All in all a good value for money family holiday, and we will definately use Sunparks again.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunparks Zandvoort an der Nordsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunparks Zandvoort an der Nordsee

Address: Vondellaan 60, 2041BE Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zandvoort
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Zandvoort
Number of rooms: 118

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunparks Zandvoort an der Nordsee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.