We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Beds & Pleasant Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam to your Saves list
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wibautstraat 278, 1505 Zaandam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Comfy Beds & Pleasant Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel for three nights while visiting friends nearby. The Deluxe room we had was OK, beds were comfortable and the room very clean.
Breakfast at €14 was expensive but with quite a lot of choice including an "Egg Station" where fresh cooked omelettes or fried eggs were prepared. The staff were pleasant and helpful and we enjoyed our stay.
We would certainly stay at the Bastion again while visiting Holland.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 91 on the 5th floor which was very quiet with hardly any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Pammydot,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a great experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to find out that you loved your stay and that the staff contributed to a better stay! The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to provide an excellent service by trying our hardest to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you again for your review and we are looking forward welcoming you back again soon!

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
22
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I came back to the Netherlands again and stayed at this lovely hotel.
All I can say is: Keep it going!
The last time was amazing. This time the staff made it even better. Nice receptionist and they were very helpful.

My favorite hotel!

Greetings Peter!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear PeterP-19-99,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a great experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to find out that you loved your stay and that the staff contributed to a better stay! The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to provide an excellent service by trying our hardest to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon!

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madona, Latvia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

just few staff members are well trained while most of them looked bored and lazy -- no pets allowed (so our beloved dog had to sleep in the car) -- rooms are small -- surroundings are very scary in the evening (junkies messing around), so forget about relaxing walk after late meal -- restaurants are far away -- breakfast is deadly expensive and unbelievably poor -- bus stop is near -- Vijfhoekpark is right in front (water buffalo park)

Room Tip: all rooms look pretty much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam and for your review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.


We regret that your dog had to sleep in the car. However it is very clear in every website that domestic animals are not allowed in our hotels.

We would like to apologize for the fact that we did not meet your expectations, hence we value your comments and recommendations for assessments and to further develop our standards. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

With kind regards,

Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erd, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

It's situated a bit far from Amsterdam centre. Bus costs 7 EUR for a day for an adult. Every 15 minutes comes a bus daily. It's in a half industrial an commercial part of the city. It's hardly reach any food store on foot nearby. It's easy to park in the hotel parking place. Clean rooms and baths. Our only problem was at the last departure day. The receptionists insisted that we ate one day breakfast but we didn't. She was rude to us. She spoke to us as we are burglers. Finally we didn't pay for breakfast. All the other receptionist was helpful and kind to us. The breakfast costs 14 EUR for a person which is very expensive for us. That's why we chose not to eat in the restaurant. I'm sure that something is wrong with the registering of the bills.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We would like to apologize for the fact that you have experienced a bad experience during the check-out. Hence we value your comments and recommendations for assessments and to further develop our standards. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

The team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

A few weeks ago I stayed in this hotel. It was so nice to stay here. The staff was really nice, gave me all the information I needed to make my stay the best.
I once ate in the restaurant of the hotel and it was really good! I had the steak with pepersauce. The steak was perfect, medium, just as I required. The other days I explored Amsterdam, otherwise I would have had diner at the hotel again.
The room was perfect, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was big and the shower was nice and warm.
The next time I go visit the Netherlands again, I will def go to this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We hope you had a nice stay in Amsterdam. Our hotel is perfectly situated for guests who want to experience Amsterdam. Close to Amsterdam and free parking.

Very nice to hear that you are definitely coming back to this hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Room (luxery) room is big with a bath the bed is good and nice..big flat screen..it's clean..
Food in the hotel is very good XL hamburger is very good and the schnitzel to..security is very high so we felt very safe in the hotel..Stafe is very nice..overall this is a good hotel clean friendly safe hotel for one night or week ..

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe room
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review!

Thank you very much for that.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a Business hotel so one should not expect anything else. We found the beds comfortable, A/C satisfactory and staff friendly enough indeed. We were sadly hit by the smell of stale tobacco the moment we walked in to the hotel front door as the smoking room situated just off the reception area had its door wide open which remained the case for the two and but days we were there. The bedroom doors DO slam shut at all hours of the night which is disruptive if you are keen on your sleep but it is a hotel I imagine designed to cater for contractors and temp staff operating in the surrounding factories and shipyards........
The staff appeared to be far too few as the receptionist on both days we were there spent their time rushing between checking people in or out as well as serving breakfast and dinner! Dinner mind you surprised us as was really rather tasty and certainly plentiful. If you have business in this area the the hotel is a sensible option but it is not a Holiday destination or somewhere to stay whilst on holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam

Address: Wibautstraat 278, 1505 Zaandam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/ Zaandam-Zuid offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / Accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam-Zuid is easy to be reached, by car, along the A8, exit 1. For travelers that have to be in Amsterdam, this hotel is a good choice. The centre of Amsterdam is only 20 minutes away. The famous Zaanse Schans with its beautiful Dutch windmills is only 4 km away from the hotel. Rooms The hotel has 40 comfortable deluxe rooms and 40 comfort rooms. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, airconditioning, a bureau, a safe, a minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The Deluxe rooms are more spacious than the comfort rooms and are equipped with a television, a modem, airconditioning, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam- Zuid guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam North Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Zaandam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.