We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heerlijck Slaapen op de Zaanse Schans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Heerlijck Slaapen op de Zaanse Schans to your Saves list
Heerlijck Slaapen op de Zaanse Schans
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Kalverringdijk 17-21, 1509 BT Zaandam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Zaandam B&B and Inns
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Heerlijck Slaapen is an amazing place to stay. I booked the room thinking we would be in the town across the lake from the windmill s but turned out to be in the historic village area wher the windmills are located, much to our surprise. I think the room we stayed in was the Het Glop. It is the coolest venue for a hotel room I think I have stayed in in years. The house is an old Dutch home made from hand cut lumber and beautiflly renovated with a modern bath. The room was a little pricey but included internet, parking (big deal for that area) and breakfast. The only negative thing I could say was that there was a lot of light in the room at night from the street lights outside. Other than that it was a lovely accomodation and Sharon, the manager, was extreamly friendly and informative. I look forward to going back for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Heerlijck Slaapen is NOT your ordinary B&B. It is a preserved structure in a historically preserved area, consequently the owners are only permitted to do so much with renovation...electricity, working bathroom, heat, etc. We stayed in room "Koopmanshuis d'Mol - De Walvis" and, by modern standards is "stark" but we loved it...though it is a little tricky to negotiate the stairs at night. The view of the Zaan from the bed chamber is unparalleled at night and during the day. Breakfasts are typical...meat, cheese, breads, croissants, granola, yoghurt, fruits, juices, coffee and tea. All very plentiful and good quality. Bakery items are fresh from the baker which Sharon picks up on her way to work in the morning. Sharon is a very happy, positive person and helps anyway she can to make your stay pleasant. Zaanse Schans can have a lot of tourists...bus loads...daily but once you enter your room you are sheltered from all of that. We enjoyed our stay very much

Room Tip: WE stayed in"Koopmanshuis d'Mol - De Walvis". It's a little pricey but remember wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

You need to be flexible but then you have a great experience. This B&B has three different accomodations. We stayed in "Het Glop"which is an authentic - refurbished - old Zaans family house. With a downstairs lounge - where we enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast - and upstairs sitting room, bathroom and bedroom. About flexibility: as the average 17th century Dutch were about a foot (30 cm ) shorter than we, you need to stoop all the time or bump your head... But after getting used to that it is a great experience to have a 270 degrees view of all the traffic on the Zaan river from your bedroom.
Our host was very friendly and helpful, check in was a breeze, parking is available close by in a reserved space. And you are staying within the "Zaanse Schans" - open air museum of the historic Zaan area.
Next door is a very good restaurant: "De Hoop op de Zwarte Walvis" (One time Michelin star but still very good).

Room Tip: ""t Glop" is the most authentic but needs some stooping (or bump your head). Other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

The Heerlijck Slaapen is a bit expensive but well worth the price for comfort and a beautiful setting. The two bedrooms we had both had a view of the water and of the authentic Dutch houses across the river. In addition to the rooms we had a private kitchen and bath which was perfect for feeding a three and one-half year old after a long day in Amsterdam. The little village is has partially been created so is full of windmills, small shops and places to eat. A fun place to spend a weekend! The breakfast was good, not exceptional but satisfying. The location is very claose to the train station to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heerlijck Slaapen op de Zaanse Schans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heerlijck Slaapen op de Zaanse Schans

Address: Kalverringdijk 17-21, 1509 BT Zaandam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Zaandam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heerlijck Slaapen op de Zaanse Schans 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Heerlijck Slaapen op de Zaanse Schans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heerlijck Slaapen Op De Zaanse Schans Zaandam, North Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heerlijck Slaapen op de Zaanse Schans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.