We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice option for Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zaan Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Zaan Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Zaan Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grenenhout 22, 1507 EB Zaandam, The Netherlands (Formerly Spirit Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice option for Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Hotel is very close to the Zaandam train station; 10-15 minutes by train to Amsterdam Centraal (5 EUR RT). Many trains from Centraal stop at Zaandam so getting a train is not a problem. Cannot, however, use the 5 day Amsterdam transit pass to Zaandam. Hotel is quiet, staff friendly and helpful. Bathroom was a bit small, but ok. The bed mattress was a little thin, but not uncomfortable.
Easy train ride (2 stops) from the airport. A great option if you cannot find a suitable hotel in Amsterdam - or want a quiet, convenient location. Also: (Train) ticket machines in Zaandam only accept coins, although there is a ticket window open during the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    68
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
61
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torun, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed for a one night with breakfast as a sleepover for another flight from Schiphol. Hotel is located 5 minute walk from the train station where you can travel fast and easy to Amsterdam or Schiphol within 15 minutes. Breakfast was good but the staff but you don't have a lot of choice to choose. Room was clean and tidy. A lot of TV channels. I can recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to pay a lot cheaper for a stay in hotel than in Amsterdam and he don't bother to take a train to Zaandam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The accomodation is situated in the middle of a deserted parking, which lacked charm. However, if you are getting around by car, it is practical and has plenty of space to park it. On foot from Zaandam's central station it might seem far if you are carrying heavy luggage... mostly when the weather is cold, rainy and windy. And you may wonder at first where the entrance to the place is, coming from the station.

But all in all the hotel had friendly and helpful personnel, was clean and big enough, with possibility of taking meals there. It's also very quiet.

I you need to take several trips to the city of Amsterdam, you need to know that the rates for rail tickets are quite high. It might be more interesting to book an accomodation in the center.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriaville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We spent three nights in this hotel. The room does not have a bath tub, which is not really a problem. Instead, it has a standup shower enclosure with cheap materials. There is no handle on the shower door and you can easily break your nails if you are not careful opening the door. There was no tray and we had to put shampoo, conditioner and soap on the floor. The floor of the shower enclosure was very slippery. When my wife took her first shower, she felt trying to pick up the shampoo and almost hurt herself. We reported it immediately to the receptionist. The receptionist apologized and wrote something down on a book.

By early evening, nobody showed up to do anything. I went down to the reception to check the status. A different receptionist was on duty. She checked the book but could not find the first note, so she wrote it down again. Half an hour later, a man showed up with a tool box. He agreed that the shower floor was too smooth that made it slippery. I asked whether he could put a bath mat there and he said they have no floor mats. He then said that he was going to talk to the general manager. He never returned and we didn’t hear anything from the hotel. Nothing was done for the remaining days that we stayed there.

When we checked out, a different person was on duty. He asked how our stay was and I told him about the slippery shower floor. He apologized and said that he would write it down. I asked him that it was the third time they wrote it down, and what good it was by just writing down the incident when nothing was done. He was speechless. I didn’t even bother to see whether he would actually pretend to write it down or not. It seems that writing it down was their ultimate solution to a problem!

Other inconvenient and annoying problems with the hotel room: poor WiFi with frequent interruptions; no towel hangers - only two little hooks for towels; no trays and no countertops in the bathroom; no rack in the room to put your suitcase.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae Hong Son, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I chose to stay in Zaandam because it is 12 minutes by train into Amsterdam, and the price was cheaper. It is a 3-4 minute walk from the train station, and on the other side of the train station (from the hotel) is a shopping district. Bicycle rental is available. A double room is spacious and very comfortable, the bathroom is a good size, there is heating and aircon and 4-5 channels in English. Rooms were cleaned daily and service is professional. I would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room. There is however, a vending machine, a restaurant/bar, and a computer for guest use.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very expensive for what you get. This is a budget hotel in the middle of a car park next to the train tracks that charges luxury hotel prices. If you are paying more that 60Euros a night you are being ripped off.
Rooms are basic, no plug in bathroom, no towel rail, shower doesn't drain so fills with water, no tea or coffee making facilities, lack of soap, lack of towels
amenities - none
Staff friendly until you ask for something then turn nasty very quickly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

In April 2014 we spend 10 nights in this hotel, we choose it because of the location as it is close to the train station and Amsterdam. Upon arrival we were told that we were too early, and so we were given access to the storage room on the 1st floor where we had to bring our luggage ourselves. While waiting we did not receive a complementary coffee. When our room was ready, we first needed to get our luggage and bring it to the room, there was hair of someone else on the bed, only 4 clothes hangers and no hairdryer… The bed-linen was changed, the hairdryer provided and after begging additional cloth hangers provided. The room is very basic but has everything a person needs to have. Although in the bathroom there could be a bit more space to place toiletries. On the bed they only provide one pillow per person, asking for an additional pillow does not help as you will not get it…. The actual mattresses could be renewed as their comfort is lacking
At night the noise of the airflow that is coming thru the windows makes a horrible sound and can only be fixed by opening the window, which results into a wind flow into the room.
Breakfast buffet was lacking the necessary attention, there was no freshly cut fruits, but those out of a tin. For eggs the only options where blue boiled eggs or scrambled eggs, twice we tried to ask for a fried egg but the response was neither willing nor friendly, so we gave up. Unfortunately is seemed that all people with a morning mood are scheduled to work in the morning, this should not happen especially not in the hospitality industry. But on the defense of the breakfast staff to have one or sometimes two people handle the amount of breakfast guests was not easy, therefor they were also constantly busy with supplying the food, crockery or cutlery or repairing the beverage machines.
Be sure to regularly check the Nescafe sachet levels in your rooms as they run out and not replaced as they are “out of stock”, in the evening they do promise to bring you fresh coffee in the morning but of course never will as they did not know…
We did use their restaurant to have dinner once, here we truly enjoyed but the food and service. The highlight was the bartender that was working in the evenings he was a very kind person, who did try to make guests feel welcome. Only a few of the other staff member know the true passion required to work in the hospitality industry, for them it is just a job… Looking at the total package paying an average of 129,50 per night for two is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zaan Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaan Inn Hotel

Address: Grenenhout 22, 1507 EB Zaandam, The Netherlands (Formerly Spirit Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zaan Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaan Inn Hotel is a new modern hotel, situated next to the Zaandam train station. It is nearby the Zaandam city centre, the Zaanse Schans and 12 minutes by train from Amsterdam.Zaan Inn Hotel has 102 spacious non-smoking rooms, with a save, refrigerator, desk, telephone and free WiFi. All rooms have a big flat screen television. The bathroom is equipped with a toilet, sink, shower and hair dryer. In the Zaan Inn Hotel is a nice grill restaurant situated, named Restaurant Pulse. There is also a cosy bar, a smoking lounge and pool tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zaan Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaan Inn Hotel Zaandam, North Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaan Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.