We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price; Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grenehout 22, 1507 EB Zaandam, The Netherlands (Formerly Spirit Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great price; Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you've looked at hotel prices in Amsterdam, they are very high and parking (if available) can be 40Euros per day. At Zaan Inn you can be less than 20 mins from the hotel to Central Station for a much cheaper price, and in a comfortable room. Parking is FREE! A 3 min walk to the train station and the train is 12 mins to Central Station (5.50Euro per person, round trip).

We stayed in the family suite, which comfortably fit two adults and two teens. The door to the master bedroom closed, but note that the bathroom (very large by European standards) has a partially-frosted glass door! Room includes a small fridge, a microwave, and a kettle, along with some instant coffee, tea, and sugar & creamer. Room is "minimalist" furnished, but you have all that you need and it was comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

I highly recommend this hotel for a short trip to Amsterdam! If driving you WILL need a GPS to find it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    81
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
74
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

1 minute walk from Zaandam train station, 20 minute train ride from Schiphol. Really good staff, very friendly and helpful. Nice clean room with aircon. Good shower plenty clean fresh towels. First night I had both specials; asparagus soup and then sea bass. Both were excellent; the quality of cooking is way above both the class of the hotel and the décor in the restaurant. Breakfast was poor in comparison but adequate four out of ten. It's a pleasant 10 minute walk to the Zaan and there's a nice "square" with restaurants and bars. I stayed three nights and would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Zaan inn hotel was alright. It's a 15 minute train ride from the centre ( Centraal - Sloterdjeck - Zaandam ). Friendly receptionist, she told us the attractions and nice places to eat in the area. The rooms are nice, confortable beds. When we arrived the safe wasn't wortking. We hid our money in the lampshade and when we got back to the hotel the handy man had been in our room and told us he know where our money was.. The shower didnt drain properly so we had to wait 10 minutes before one of us could have a shower. Apart from that its a lovely hotel. Zaandam is a very nice place to stay as it is rural and not as expensive as the centre of Dam. There is a coffeshop, a lot of restaurants and fast food and some shops in the area. there's also a supermarket close by too.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. make sure you have working facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here overnight. Is a nice modern clean hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Room was a nice size and a nice size bathroom with a great shower. Very close to the train station which is only 2 stops to Amsterdam central and cheap, but make sure you have euros as you cannot use your debit or credit card at the machines! A lot of Amsterdam do not accept VISA (been a lot of fraud in the city centre we were told). Have stayed closer to Amsterdam central before, but is in a quiet location if you want to get away from the hussle and bustle of the city. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Very convenient location, 2 min walk to Zaan train station. Trains to/from Amsterdam Central Station every 10 min. Breakfast good , tasty croissants, a bit expensive at 12 EUR. Nice little town to visit and some nice restaurants within walking distance on the other side of the tracks. Staff friendly and helpful. Soundproof excellent, could see but could not hear trains!

Restaurant Manager Lady way less friendly than the regular staff. Breakfast advertised in rooms at 10 EUR but charged 12 EUR was annoying to some tourists. Should be fixed.

Room Tip: High floor rooms very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4D/4N and booked a comfort double room.

Location-wise the hotel was fabulous and one has to walk about 2 minutes to get to the Zaandam station. Regular trains connect Zaandam to the airport and Amsterdam Centraal and cost-wise it was almost 30% cheaper than similar hotels in Amsterdam, so this is a fair trade-off for the cost-conscious.

The rooms had simple but good furnishing. There was a gigantic bed and good air-conditioning. Even though it is very close to the trains (I could see the station from my windows if I drew the curtains), it was very quiet inside. Everyone I interacted with - the receptionists, hotel manager and the bartender were very polite and helpful and spoke fluent English, which really helps.

Overall, it is not a resort so dont expect frills. If you want to move around Netherlands and want easy access to Amsterdam and the airport, this hotel is a very good bet.

PS: I did not try the restaurant, so I can not comment on the food

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

this hotel is certainly a good choice, at 2 minutes from the railway station and what could be considered as the centre of Zaandam. It is quite new, which shows (people were still painting the lines in the car park, painting some of the meeting rooms, and some of the wall outlets are not finished). But hey, it is a good place, with light and clean rooms, nice flooring, and a bathroom that is better than average. The rates are OK, and if you don't feel like going out for dinner, you can go to Pulse (the restaurant). It serves quite good food (OK, it's not a Michelin star place, but much better than the average place in Holland), decent wine and Belgian beer (couldn't skip the chauvinism). It is not expensive, and they offer daily dishes (go for the catch of the day, it's fresher than fresh). If ever I have to be in this neighbourhood again, I think I'll come back to this place

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn

Address: Grenehout 22, 1507 EB Zaandam, The Netherlands (Formerly Spirit Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaan Inn Hotel is a new modern hotel, situated next to the Zaandam train station. It is nearby the Zaandam city centre, the Zaanse Schans and 12 minutes by train from Amsterdam.Zaan Inn Hotel has 102 spacious non-smoking rooms, with a save, refrigerator, desk, telephone and free WiFi. All rooms have a big flat screen television. The bathroom is equipped with a toilet, sink, shower and hair dryer. In the Zaan Inn Hotel is a nice grill restaurant situated, named Restaurant Pulse. There is also a cosy bar, a smoking lounge and pool tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn Zaandam, North Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.