We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a Great Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grenehout 22, 1507 EB Zaandam, The Netherlands (Formerly Spirit Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really a Great Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were in Bruges Looking for a Last minute Hotel and we found the Zaan Inn really Cheap. It was opened just 1 month ago . We arrived at midnight and we were really surprised about the good quality of the Hotel.

Also, Next Day we preferred to leave the Car at the Hotel and Took the Train, Just 3 Minutes walking from the Hotel and at 15 Minutes to Amsterdam Town Centre.

Really Good Value of money.

:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    106
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
30
93
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was industrial looking with minimalistic type decor. Our suite had a mini-kitchen but no coffee maker. The windows were quite dirty. The rooms were clean although I found the sheets to be quite stiff causing me to itch and not sleep well. I had to request a hair dryer as none was provided. The shower did not drain. I found all 3 front desk agents not friendly nor helpful when asking for directions or suggestions. When we checked out we didn't even get a thank you for staying with us or even a hello or good-bye. Location to train station was good. The bus was close as well which we took to a little windmill village. The village next to the train station was quaint.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Clean comfortable room. Nothing spectacular but it is one of the nicer 3 star hotels I have stayed at. Staff was very friendly and helpful! The hotel has a bar downstairs and it has some vending machines if you get hungry/thirsty in the middle of the night. This hotel a little far from Amsterdam but it is only 2 train stops from the Central Station in Amsterdam so it was perfect. The train station is only 2-4 minute walk from the hotel and was 5.30 euro round trip to the Central Station. Parking was free which is always great. I did not try the breakfast which was 7.50 euro because right on the other side of the train station, there is a shopping center with great food. Make sure you check it out. Overall, the hotel was the perfect fit for our needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coryton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay so much we extended by another week after our first week. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and a great alternative to hostels at the time! The train station to Amsterdam is literally only a couple of minutes away too! The staff were amazingly hospitable! The smoking room near the bar was also a lovely addition, especially in February!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just back yesterday after spending four nights here. The staff were lovely and friendly, the rooms spacious and clean, plenty of towels/tea/coffee etc. The bar is great for a pint after a day spent in the city. The restaurant is top class - the food was lovely. The train station is about a three or four minute walk away and then centraal station and thus Amsterdam is about 15 mins by train at a cost of 4 euro return. By staying here you are saving mega bucks on a much more expensive hotel in the city centre. Zandaan town centre is at the other end of the train station and had lots of lovely cafes and shops - well worth spending an hour or tow there as well. I had a lovely stay - am very fussy but would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here with my 11 year old son. I was able to upgrade to a huge suite as the prices were so reasonable.
We loved it as it was so handy for Amsterdam on bikes or the train as well as the countryside in the opposite direction, great place.
I do agree that it looks like an office block from outside but it more than made up for it indoors.
I usually stay on the other side of the railway in the heart of Zaandam but I have to say that I prefer it here as it was very quiet so you get the best of both worlds.
I definitely would recommend it for value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel seemed to be a bit out of the way at first as I had hired a car and drove there from the airport. However once I realised its proximity to the train station and how easy it was to travel back and forth on the train system - the car stayed in the secure car park - after all it was free~!
My friend was a smoker and she enjoyed the downstairs smokers lounge greatly - since the rooms are all - thankfully - smoke free. The attached bar offered us quite easy refreshments, and delicious food. I would make the comment that there was no amenities like tea/coffee making in the room - nor a microwave - we felt that our overall stay of 5 nights was just superb.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaandam
0.2 mi away
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Zaandam
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
#180 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
4.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn

Address: Grenehout 22, 1507 EB Zaandam, The Netherlands (Formerly Spirit Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn is a modern hotel, situated next to the Zaandam train station. It is nearby the Zaandam city centre, the Zaanse Schans and 12 minutes by train from Amsterdam.Zaan Inn Hotel has 102 spacious non-smoking rooms, with a save, refrigerator, desk, telephone and free WiFi. All rooms have a big flat screen television. The bathroom is equipped with a toilet, sink, shower and hair dryer. In the Zaan Inn Hotel is a nice grill restaurant situated, named Restaurant Pulse. There is also a cosy bar, a smoking lounge and pool tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn Zaandam, North Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.