We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zaanse Schans

Zaanse Schans
Schansend 1, Zaandam 1509 AW , The Netherlands
31 75 616 82 18
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 12 attractions in Zaandam
Type: Historic Sites, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This open air museum recreates a Dutch village with wooden houses and windmills dating from the 17th and 18th centuries.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Almost heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This small Dutch city situated just 10-15 minutes by train north of Amsterdam is like heaven on Earth. It is a city filled with windmills but they are not the only thing surrounding the city because there is quite a lot of industry around. However the nature near the windmills and the small houses that are place on small islands are almost like you visited a fairy tale land. It is also a nice place to visit by bicycle since there are a lot of bike paths and lanes. The only thing that bothered me was the smell of something I could not actually recognize :O

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    422
    101
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yokneam Moshava
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
164 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Zaanse Schans - Windmills, Dutch boots and Cheese Production”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We arrived there on a winter's day, cloudy and icy, but still - what a view and what a nice experience.
First there was the workshop where they demonstrate how the famous wooden Dutch shoes were once produced by hand, and how it's being done today. After watching this short but very interesting demo, you are free to explore the many kinds of shoes, of all variations and colors, and the rest of the souvenirs. You can also have a closer look at the old and new tools with which they were produced, and also examine a variety of photos and small collection of other wooden shoes from around the world.
Then you can go along the Zaan and explore the 5 or 6 windmills that stem from more than 300 hundreds years ago. Not all of them are open, but De Kat windmill was open and operating, and you could visit it for a fee of 3 Euro. Beautiful views from above and interesting inside.
On the way back to the parking lot you can visit the little cheese factory farm, and see how cheese is being produced. Of course the adjacent store provides a huge variety of cheese to taste and purchase.
Looking forward to visit this place again in one of the springs, when everything is blooming.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It is a live post card!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just the windmills are indescribably amazing, I wished staying longer and be able to get in all of them but I could not. Any way I enjoyed them a lot. Also we went to the traditional cheese factory and tasted the different types of them. If you like taking photos and relaxing time, it is better if you go by your own. I strongly recommend this place even more being a World's Heritage

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Koffe met warme appeltaarte under the Windmill!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We took a day trip out of Amsterdam's bustle to visit the historic and charming town of Marken. Wind blown, sunny, and cool in July, it was refreshing to look far out to the rolling greens of the horizon and get some air after being in the city for a week. Marken is a place that has agreed to keep things in their traditional state and you can see real working windmills here. There are plenty of small shops along the ramparts of Marken proper that dissect the waterways, showing classic blue china, lace, antiques, clogs, and souveniers, and there are some venues selling a items for a lunch alfresco: good koffee, wedges of the extraordinary Dutch cheeses, and a fine appeltaarte. It was nice to sit with the sun on our faces, the wind in our hair, listening to the creak of the old black-green marine tar painted mills, with a mouth full of hot apples and cheese. Hoi!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Zaanse Schans is must for tourists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I live not far the Zaanse Schans and this is a place were you keep on coming back. This is a typical dutch attraction with nice shops, views. I love it and can recommend this to every tourist visiting Holland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaanse Schans also viewed

Lisse, South Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Volendam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaanse Schans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaanse Schans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Zaanse Schans to your Saves list