We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zaanse Schans - A World of Windmills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaanse Schans

Zaanse Schans
Schansend 1, 1509 AW Zaandam, The Netherlands
31 75 6810000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Zaanse Schans like an insider
Top Rated
$56*
and up
Amsterdam Walking Tour: City of Tolerance and...
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Zaandam
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This open air museum recreates a Dutch village with wooden houses and windmills dating from the 17th and 18th centuries.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Zaanse Schans - A World of Windmills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hi there. My wife, Jean, and I spent a day at the village of Zaanse Schans where we got to see their large collection of windmills. Most people know that windmills were once a major part of the Dutch landscape, however today, they are a rare thing to see as you drive around The Netherlands. For us, a trip to Holland just wouldn’t have been complete without seeing windmills in action. If anyone would like to check out the variety of windmills that we saw, they are at: http://frametoframe.ca/photo-essay-windmills-holland

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,022
    685
    152
    24
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great to visit with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We went there often when the kids were still young, lots to see and learn there! For people from overseas it gives a good idea of how the mills were operated and what kind of products were made within the mills. More than wind power alone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Methinks they are trying to make something out of not a whole lot. There were clogs and if that tickles your fancy then go for it. My fancy was decidedly untickled.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The scenery is great. As you walk to the village, you will see traditional timber houses everywhere, with small creeks / waterways in between roads / house / pedestrian access, all linked by small timber bridges. There are some paved areas for vehicle and pedestrian access, but green lawns otherwise.

As you walk towards the other end of the village, you see windmills, water, and farmland.

You can also often walk to the front and backyard of houses, see their decorations and take photos.

There are also plenty to see and do.

There is a toy shop, with plenty of Nijntje(Miffy).

There are working windmill, where you can go in, see the inside of the structure, and see the grinder spinning, the material being grinded, and even climb to the top of the grinder, and the building structure.

There is a working small timber processor. Timber floating on the water, men doing wood work, trees being processed into timber. You can talk to these men too.

A shop which sells timber clogs, and leather shoes, and in all styles I’ve never seen before. They do regular demonstrations.

A shop selling cheese, very good cheese. I normally hate cheese, but I was able to eat the cheese from here.

There is also a restaurant, which apparently makes very good food.

I went in winter, so there weren’t many visitors, and it still took a day. I would suggest that if you have the luxury with time, come in summer, have a picnic for lunch, and dinner at the restaurant.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlovac
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Green and cute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

As my friends commented when they saw the photos, everything's green: grass and trees, little fairy-tale houses, even the water! If you want to take a short trip out of Amsterdam to see a bit of traditional Netherlands: windmills, clogs, cheese; and see it all in one place, then Zaanse Shans is the perfect place to go. It's a 20-something minute ride by train from Amsterdam. And once you get to Zaandam, there are signs which will lead you all the way to the village. This was a one-day relaxing trip and we were back to Amsterdam in the late afternoon, without having to hurry. Entrance is free. You can expect a lot of tourists, though, and everything is devoted to tourism with countless souvenirs to buy inside the museums (cheese museum, clog museum...). You can also get something to eat and drink.
And don't forget your camera!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaanse Schans also viewed

Lisse, South Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaanse Schans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaanse Schans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.