We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel short train ride from Amsterdam Centraal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam to your Saves list
Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Provincialeweg 102, 1506 MD Zaandam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel short train ride from Amsterdam Centraal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

First time in Amsterdam so used reviews and advice from fellow travellers! Have to say it was even better than I expected. The hotel takes approx 10 mins by train (very cheap) loved the fact it was quite but close to the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel isnt even a year old and it chic, colourful and lovely to stay in. It is located few minutes from the station and is admittingly right smack bang in the middle of a construction site as the area is undergoing major improvements. Once in the hotel you wouldnt know there waqs construction going on. Quite and serene. We loved our room, it was light spacious and airy. The room and en-suite had a soho loft feel, we loved it. We also used complimentry fitness centre. Gorgeous pool, sauna and steam room! Mni bar was majorally overpriced (really 6 euros for a snickers?!) Nice friendly staff and easy check in/out. Nothing negative to say and i advise you to keep some change at the end of your stay as you are 2 euros pppn for a city tax.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    248
    48
    14
    5
See reviews for
65
356
20
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed here last summer when we visited Amsterdam. This place is actually outside of Amsterdam in a town called Zaandam. Be aware that this means an extra train ride to see most of the tourist sites, but the trains are easy and we felt that it was worth it. As much as I loved Amsterdam it was definitely good to get away at night to relax in a smaller town. The bathrooms were especially nice, and it was great to have a big bath. Each room has a big mural on one wall of an old Dutch advertisement. Most of the rooms got windmills and things but we got a giant baby eating chocolate, oh well. The hotel is a short walk from the train station and out the back exit is a shopping street with everything we needed. If you like having a great room to come home to and don't mind the extra time and money for the train ride this is a great place and you definitely won't find a deal like this in Amsterdam. If you want to stay out late in Amsterdam and don't want to worry about getting home at the end of the night you'd probably be better off somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We booked via booking.com, 3 nights, room only for 368€. The hotel is very well located - right next to Zaandam station (15 mins from central Amsterdam) and a vast shopping area with restaurants, markets and a cinema. There is no private parking, you have to use the public car park at the shopping centre nearby - when we arrived, a Belgian couple checking in infront of us had just had their car broken into in the public car park.
Upon arrival at 1am on the Friday night, the bar was closed, the guy at reception was mildly surly and jobsworth. We entered our room which had one chair by the desk and only one armchair (eg - you couldnt sit together) - it was vast (33m²) and bright, but not cosy at all. The bed was big, with plush duvet and pillows, but the plastic protective sheets made it uncomfortable to sleep in. The minibar prices were outrageous - 18cl of wine - 7€ and 5cl of alcohol - 7€ too - even the bottle of water wasn't included.
The pool was great (maybe could have been slightly warmer) the sauna and hammam were great too - very very clean throughout. The wifi was free and throughout the hotel. They just need to revise their prices for their minibar and their breakfasts - they might make some money that way ;)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Funky exterior and real modern interior. Room is spacious with a corridor. Beds are so comfy, I dont want to leave my room!!! Bathroom is large and there is alot of space for me to put my toiletries. However, glass shower screen is too small, hence shower water kept splashing out and flooding the floor. Wellness center is perfect with heated indoor pool, sauna, steam bath and gym. Most importantly, BREAKFAST IS AMAZING!! There is a wide selection of choices and so delicious too!! Good way to kick start the day! All in all, I'd definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Surprising hotel -so good for value -
Food and service 10 out of 10 !!
Would return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel is pristine all the fittings and rooms are fresh out the wrapper.

After disembarking from the train you look to the left and the hotel can be seen so it is around 2minutes walk from Zaandam Station and about 10minutes by train to Amsterdam Centraal.

The rooms are very large and have flat screen tv's my main complaint would be the shower the screen which is provided is far to small and as a result the floor ends up soaked unless you position the shower head in a less convenient way. Also bizarrely there is a window into the shower from the room.

I did order room service which was very good but be prepared to pay it is quite pricey as is the super expensive minibar. There was a shop a stones throw from the hotel which is a new supermarket so is much more reasonable for water etc.

On the whole the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel had a nice charm with its original design and funky decor.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Staff at reception were helpful, they provided us with maps and directions etc.
The lobby is alright. Lift is a little old fashioned.
The room (room 317) is clean with neutral colours and wooden furniture.
The bed is 2 singles again, quite comfortable, but pillows were a bit flat.
Modern bathroom that looks brand new. Shower splashes water on floor as there is no curtain or glass section.
View is of front courtyard area.
In-room safe, mini-bar, TV is small but has great reception, tea and coffee making facilities.
Located about 30 seconds walk to Zandaam train station. You can get a day return pass for €4.20 from machines. These take coins only and no credit cards. You can be in Amsterdam Central in about 10 minutes.
Free internet available in the lobby. Offers breakfast for €15 per person. Bar opens until midnight every night.
There was a connecting door to the next room, there was no handle on our side. We put our bags in front of it.
Area looks slightly dodgy around the hotel and train station. Had no issues with it, as station is very busy even at late hours.
Decent 6 out of 10 we'd say. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam

Address: Provincialeweg 102, 1506 MD Zaandam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and famousThis 4 star hotel with its world renowned look is situated next to the Zaandam train station, where the train will take you to the centre of Amsterdam within 12 minutes. Also, the RAI Congress Centre and Schiphol Airport are easy to reach by train. Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam has 160 unique hotel rooms, a Wellness Club, free wifi internet and it's own Tourist Information Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam North Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.