We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dam good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam

Save Saved
You added Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Provincialeweg 102, Zaandam 1506 MD, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Zaandam
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Dam good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I recently stayed over night at this very funky hotel whilst working on my friends boat which is moored at Zaandam marina. It was too cold to sleep on the boat so we decided to book a nights stay at this modern but slightly quirky hotel. The architecture is very "lego" based but looks fantastic, situated at the top end of the very modern shopping high-street. The staff were very helpful and once again, like most Dutch folk, their English was excellent. The room was on the 9th floor overlooking the canal and high street and had all the facilities that you would expect from a new modern hotel. We didn't eat in the hotel but the restaurant area in the evening and at breakfast was nearly full, which is a good pointer to the standard and choice of food. I have to return to Zaadam later this year and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for either one night or longer if you wish to explore Zaandam or near by Amsterdam which is reached via the near-by local railway station.
A very good modern, clean hotel: Good choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much for posting this wonderful review. We’re happy to read that you liked the architecture of our hotel and that our luxurious room with canal view lived up to your expectations.
I will pass your compliment to our team.

We’re very proud at your recommendation and we’re very much looking forward to give you a warm welcome back in our hotel.

Kind regards,


Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    233
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
50
293
18
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

What a wonderful stay !!!!! The hotel was great and the staff lovely .... friendly and knowledgeable. We were there for 4 nights and wished we could have stayed longer.
We requested a room overlooking the canal but by the time we arrived all those rooms were taken. Even so, the room we were given on the 7th floor, across from the lifts was very quiet .
Room was nice, with a fridge, tea and coffee facilities. Bathroom had both a bathtub and a great shower. Housekeeping was very friendly and greeted us each morning. I requested extra soap the next day and they didn't hesitate to give it to me plus more shower gel and shampoo.
Location couldn't be better. Direct train from Schiphol Airport to Zaandam station, about 17mins. for €4.40 per person. On arrival, hotel is just outside the station with a pedestrian shopping street leading from the hotel, so lots of shops and restaurants. You can either take the lift or escalators down to Hotel reception.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so have no comment.
What I would really like to share was the wonderful surprise we received on our last night. It was my husband's birthday and having had a busy day in Amsterdam we returned to the hotel happy but tired. To our great surprise there was a platter, beautifully decorated with Happy Birthday in chocolate; containing 2 desserts, a white chocolate truffle and 2 spoons waiting for us. It is this kind of thoughtfulness that makes a hotel stay wonderful and unique. We have traveled all over the world and stayed in various 4 star hotels and this has never happened before. We didn't inform the staff of my husband's birthday but we assumed they saw the birthday cards displayed and made him the desserts. So a great thank you to the chef for the desserts and to Sabine at reception for her friendliness, patience and help in answering all my various questions.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water and shops would have been lovely, but I think all the rooms were pretty quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We would like to thank you for posting this positive review at Tripadvisor. We’re glad that you’ve had an enjoyable time in our hotel.

It’s great that you noticed all advantages of the location of our hotel. Our hotel is located in a quiet en peaceful surrounding with Amsterdam just around the corner.

How nice that Sabine was of such good assistance and that our team was able to give your husband such a wonderful birthday surprise. After all, You’ll be surprised is our motto!

I have shared this review with our team and we’re very much looking forward to welcome you and your husband as our guests at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam!

With kind regards,


Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Got a good deal on Expedia - might not otherwise have been able to afford! Loved interesting architecture of building - told it was fairly unique! Loved spa facility - pool small but large enough for laid-back swim and good to combine with sauna. Small but adequate gym. We had a Factory Room on the corner of the building Very close to Zaandam station. A 10 minute rail trip out from city but this suited us. Didn't have breakfast as outside our price range but plenty of local places to eat. Hema (5 minute walk down high street along canal) currently offers a plate of straightforward Dutch fare for between 2.50 and 5 Euro! Albert Heijm supermarket offers various options for "do-it yourself" breakfast. Arguably best hotel bed we've ever slept in, although might be too soft for some. NB City tax extra to pay on departure and credit card deposit required on arrival to cover extras. Very pleasant staff - we were made to feel very welcome! An excellent stay - and we would come back again(deals permitting!!).

Room Tip: Corner Factory Room quite fun although view was of busy road and building site! Waterfall outside so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for posting this review. We’re glad that you liked the special and unique design of our hotel, we’re also very proud of it!

How nice to read that you've found good relaxation in our spa facility and beautiful swimming pool. In our swimming area we have depicted the windmills of the Zaanse Schans to give you the idea of swimming in the Saen.

We hope to welcome you back as a guest in our hotel again.

Kind regards,


Monique
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very close to the station, clean, modern, good service. Our room had a shower and a separate bathtub, very confortable. Breakfast a bit pricey but very, very much worth it! Their cheese with herbs is amazing!

Room Tip: You have to try the breakfast!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for posting this good review. We’re glad to read that you’ve had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that you appreciated our extensive breakfast buffet.

The Zaan region is known fort their cheeses and we offer different kinds of cheeses from our region such as smoked cheese and herb cheese in our breakfast buffet.

We’re very much looking forward to welcome you as our guest again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here for partners birthday. Can't fault the place really, does exactly what you expect.

Shops and restaurants close by and train station within 2 minutes walk.

Quirky building, with good spa facilities. Worth a try.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on this website.

How nice that you have choosen to celebrate your partners birthday in our hotel. We’re glad that your stay in our hotel completely lived up to your exptectations and that you found relaxation in our spa facilities.

We’re proud at your recommendation and we’re very much looking forward to receive you as guests in our hotel again.

Kind regards,


Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We checked in early, which was great as our flight was in super early in the morning. Room was ample..maybe they could separate the beds when we asked for a twin, but no problem really. The rooms were spotless and tea and coffee were provided in the room. the high street had everything thing you needed. Primark was across the road if you forgot your cozy, the pool in the hotel is lovely, just enough. We ate in the restaurant which was lovely food, a bit pricy for me but it was a nice treat. Train station is a stone throw away, so easy to use and there services second to none.all in all a great hotel and lovely trip to Amsterdam. I would recommend this hotel and will certainly return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review. We are delighted to read that you’ve had an excellent stay in our hotel and that you were able to check in early.

The kitchen staff of restaurant Puur Saen do their best to create a special menu every week with ingredients from our region so we’re glad to read that you liked the taste of our region.

We’re truly proud at your recommendation and we’re looking forward to give you a warm welcome back in our hotel!

Kind regards,


Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed with our family with 2 kids in a suite on the 12th floor, in the Albert heijn suite.
It was absolutely fantastic. Our room was equipped with a sauna and jacuzzi. In one word : relaxation ! Good breakfast and very kind staff ! I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a nice cultural weekend

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in this wonderful review. We're glad that you've had an ejoyable stay in our hotel and that Albert Heijn suite lived up to your expectations. The private sauna and jacuzzi are indeed a garanty for good relaxation.

It's nice to read that you've enjoyed our breakfast buffet in restaurant Puur Saen. Our kitchen staff do their utmost best to make a varied and extensive buffet.

We are very proud of your recommendation and we're looking forward to welcome you and your family back at Inntel hotel Amsterdam Zaandam.

Kind regards,


Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam

Address: Provincialeweg 102, Zaandam 1506 MD, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Zaandam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and famousThis 4 star hotel with its world renowned look is situated next to the Zaandam train station, where the train will take you to the centre of Amsterdam within 12 minutes. Also, the RAI Congress Centre and Schiphol Airport are easy to reach by train. Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam has 160 unique hotel rooms, a Wellness Club, free wifi internet and it's own Tourist Information Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam North Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.