We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay just outside Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam

Save Saved
You added Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Provincialeweg 102, 1506 MD Zaandam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay just outside Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Fantastic building in a short, easy trip by train to the centre of Amsterdam, ideal for relaxation after a busy day in the city.
Ideal quiet location and lovely friendly staff.
Room very clean, comfortable and good value & a visit to the restaurant is a must, the food was great!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your good review on this website.

How nice that you have had an enjoyable stay in our hotel and that you noticed the positive location of our hotel. We're glad that you have enjoyed the food in our retaurant Puur Saen. Our kitchen staff do their best to create a special menu with fresh products from our region every day.

We’re very much looking forward to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.


Kind regards,


Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    220
    45
    14
    5
See reviews for
60
318
19
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

we stayed over the new years from Monday to thursday at this quirky looking hotel. It is very good quality very clean superb staff and an Ideal location for a weekend visit to the city. the station is just outside one stop you are in central Amsterdam. It couldn't be easier. The hotel is very funky the spa is clean and the pool good enough for a dip and the sauna and steam room a nice way to relax after shopping and sight seeing.
Zaandam is a great little town with good shops right next door to the hotel and really good restaurants just around the corner.The staff in the hotel were really helpful about new years events and train times car parking etc .They were smiley and super efficient.
Breakfast is excellant !

This is a good place for the city break and I highly recommend it

Oh just one top tip ! if travelling at new years watch out for the fireworks the dutch love them and they are crashing and whizzing all the time ! Quite exciting !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review. We’re glad that you’ve had an enjoyable stay in our hotel and that you noticed the good location of our hotel. Zaandam is a great place for shopping and Amsterdam is just minutes away by train.

I can not thank you enough for your compliment towards our staff and I will pass the compliment to them.

It’s nice to read that you are recommending us and hope to receive you as our guest again soon.

Kind regards,


Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Booked this hotel purely on the back of reviews on tripadvisor and it was the best ever new year we have had and at 50 yr old ave been to one or two. From schiphol airport we caught a train straight to zaandam central and 30 seconds later after walking out of the train station we were in the hotel. The hotel looks amazing and the room was fantastic. It was so easy to get to from both the airport and amsterdam. Amsterdam is amazing but it is nice to get back to the hotel for peace and quiet.

On new Year's Eve we met a nice couple from nottingham and ended up letting the new year in with them. We went outside to let in the new year and the staff came out with champagne for us which was fantastic of them. We were still talking to Jo and Jordan at 1am and one of the staff bought us four a bottle of champagne to drink. We were overwhelmed. Anything we asked at reception was no trouble at all everyone at the hotel was fantastic and a credit to the hotel.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough,and if you like shopping ladies the hotel is at the end of a very modern lovely looking shopping centre.

Don't know who the manager is but thanks for an absolutely fantastic 3 nights

Room Tip: Did not have breakfast,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on this website with this great review. How nice that you’ve had the best New Year ever.

The quiet location yet central of the hotel is indeed a welcome relief from the busy city centre of Amsterdam. And as you have mentioned, the city of Zaandam is also a great place for a shopping spree.

We’re very proud that you are recommending us and ofcourse we will pass your wonderful compliment to our team.

We’re looking forward to receive you as our guests again in 2014!

Kind regards,

Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Well, lets start with the not so good points...
1. Careful of the snacks in the room, very expensive
2. Be mindful of the 'city tax' not very well advertised, but set us back another 25 euro's
3. Thats about it for bad, please read the rest!!

Well, what an amazing hotel, we stayed here as we were attending a surprise birthday party in Amsterdam. It is the only hotel I have walked into in Europe and gone WOW, to start, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, we ate in the restaurant friday night as we arrived late, and the staff were wonderful to our daughter who decided that she would scream the place down, the comment from our waiter was 'treat us like home, if she would do this at home then let her scream here too' the waiting staff always greeted us with a smile (amazing after the friday night screaming match!!!)
The room was well equipped, television at the bottom of the bed, made our mornings better our 20month old was very happy to sit and watch cartoons whilst we had a lie in!! full air conditioning, we had a brilliant view over the canal, and being able to listen to the band playing carols was ace.
Bathroom was very good, bath and separate shower, only thing was the clear window between bedroom and bathroom, found that a little different!
We used public transport whilst we were there, train station was a minutes walk from hotel and it took 12min to get to the centre of Amsterdam.
So, recapping, location ace, look of hotel brilliant, staff excellent, overall...cant wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be very good, don't think you would go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you so much for posting this good review. We’re delighted that you and your family had a pleasant experience in our hotel.

It’s nice to hear that the waiting staff made you feel comfortable and at home. That was actually the idea of the architects of this hotel. They wanted to give our guests the feeling of a temporarely home and so they stacked up the houses to emphasize this feeling.
I will pass your compliment to our team.

We’re looking forward to receive you and your family as our guest again in the near future.

With kind regards,


Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The Inntel continues to improve, but they really need to focus on detail now to get excellent reviews.
I was able to check in very early (having had a flight from Asia) with no problem. A friendly, polite welcome from reception staff and I was in my room in no time.
Everything went well EXCEPT during the four nights I stayed the soap etc. was only replaced once, and my laiundry took three days to appear - maybe not the hotel's fault but I wish they had chased it up without me asking so many times.

Room Tip: Try to saty away from the station/road side of the hotel and don't sleep just above the waterfal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your time and effort to write this nice review. It’s good to read that you’ve had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that we were able to help you with an early check in.

Your comment concerning the soap has been forwarded to our housekeeping and they will see to it that this will not happen again. Thanks for the tip. With your tips and comments we can bring our service to an even higher level.

We’re looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,


Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had a 3 night stay in The Netherlands as a pre-Christmas treat to ourselves and decided to make our last night something a bit special.
Came across this hotel purely by chance when scouting the web for different hotels and was immediately curious. We've done Amsterdam before so didn't mind being a little further out and the proximity to the train station was ideal. (Zaandam is approximately 10 minutes on the train from Amsterdam Centraal.)

We like the more unusual and quirky hotel stays so we booked the very unique Tzar Peter Suite, a few reviews mentioned that this room was a little impractical but the hotel's website and booking process can't really make it any more obvious as to what to expect so personally, I'd totally disagree and encourage you to experience for yourself.

From the moment we got off the train, we felt we were somewhere really special. Zaandam itself is by no means as bustling as Amsterdam but the lack of trams and reduced number of cyclists makes for a welcome break. The train station looks like something straight off the pages of a Noddy book; utterly charming! A less than 2 minute walk from there takes you to the door of the hotel.

Staff were absolutely faultless. Immaculately presented and genuinely friendly. Often, when someone tells you to 'enjoy your stay' it's like listening to a recording, these staff mean it and I think that comes from having pride in theit hotel. Checking-in always gives you an insight into the stay you're going to have, I think and we needn't have worried at all.
Check-in was speedy but very thorough.
A credit card is needed at reception, even if you've paid for your stay upfront.

The hotel is very clean and very quiet and the decor is incredible.
Our suite was certainly quirky and Inttel certainly don't like when they say 'you'll be surprised'. A brilliant room for something just that little bit different.

The bathroom is kitted out with Alessi hardware and a more than generous shower cubicle. Again, very clean and elegant but be prepared for the lack of door! Again, there is enough information about the layout of the room so this ought not come as a total shock.
The bed is 3 steps up off the floor and exceptionally comfortable. Enough pillow height to cater for even the fussiest sleeper and despite the room's proximity to the train station, not a sound can be heard!

Little touches make you adamant you're getting value for money. An illy espresso machine complete with 2 types of different cartridges and of course, a kettle for the more British cup of tea! There's also a well-stocked mini-bar which is clearly priced.
The only thing I would say was that there were no instructions on how to operate the espresso machine! We rectified this with a quick look on google, admittedly, it IS pretty idiot proof but at least we'll know for next time!

The pool on the second floor is the perfect start to a morning or the best thing to unwind of an evening. Open from 6am through to 11pm. Sauna and Turkish Bath also a lovely treat! We spent 2 hours in the pool from about 6:30pm and didn't see another person. Very chilled. The bar is also well-staffed and the food is reasonably prided for the portion sizes you get. Can definitely recommend the Puur Saen burger with fries! A real hunger buster!

Breakfast, if not already booked is 16 Euros per person which I'm sorry to say is something we missed due to a very very good sleep!


As mentioned, Zaandam is small and quiet when compared to Amsterdam but there is enough to suit your needs. A Primark sorted out our lack of swimwear and the Albert Heijm convenience store suffices for any extras you might have forgotten, on the same sort of scale to Tesco Extra or 7Eleven.
If this is too quiet, again, a full day in Amsterdam is more than achieveable by train. I'm pretty certain that trains run right through to midnight. Rail travel is totally painless and made very easy. I'd recommend trying this if only to compare to the service we get in the UK. The Netherlands win hands down.

All-in-all a 10/10 stay. A MUST for any traveller on any budget. Our only regret is that we didn't stay here for the whole 3 nights.

Room Tip: Tzar Peter Suite was right next to train station and no noise pollution at all. Hotel generally very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful and extensive review. We are delighted that you’ve had an excellent stay in our hotel and that you enjoyed the Tzar Peter Suite .The Tsar Peter Suite is without a doubt the most unique suite of the Netherlands!

How nice to read that you’ve appreciated the relaxation of our pool and wellness.

I have passed your great compliment to our team.

We would very much like to give you a surprisingly good welcome back in our hotel.

Kind regards,


Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Such a fairy tale building in the town centre, it's really an eye catcher. The room is clean, free wifi and great breakfast. The hotel staff are very kind and professional. Each room has an retro painting on the wall, especially advertisement of products of Zaandam. The location is perfect, just outside the train station and surrounded by shops, cafes, restaurants and super markets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Solodam J,

Thank you so much for posting this nice review on this website. We are truly delighted to read that you've had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It's good to read that you've appreciated the enlarged pictures on the wall which we selected from the historical city archive of Zaandam. Every room has its own story.

How nice to read that you've noticed the good WiFi connection. We've recently renewed the complete unlimited WiFi network in the entire hotel.

We hope to welcome you back as our guests in the near future.

Kind regards,

Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam

Address: Provincialeweg 102, 1506 MD Zaandam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and famousThis 4 star hotel with its world renowned look is situated next to the Zaandam train station, where the train will take you to the centre of Amsterdam within 12 minutes. Also, the RAI Congress Centre and Schiphol Airport are easy to reach by train. Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam has 160 unique hotel rooms, a Wellness Club, free wifi internet and it's own Tourist Information Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam North Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inntel Hotel Amsterdam Zaandam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.