We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam to your Saves list
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Provincialeweg 102, 1506 MD Zaandam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
216 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“This is a great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Where to start. Location- 1 minute from the Zaandam station, with trains leaving every few minutes for Amsterdam Centraal , the airport or dozens of other sites in the Netherlands. Located at one end of a fabulous pedestrian shopping mall that leads to a restaurant square.
Staff- from reception, housekeeping, bar/lounge and the manager, everyone is friendly and amazingly helpful.
Rooms- very nice, European in size, but very comfortable.
Amenities-everything you would expect in a bigger hotel, but this one has a patio on a canal with a waterfall, cool or what? The first time you see it from the train, you say, "wow."
We liked it here so much, that when a day trip to Amsterdam got rained out, we were not that upset.
There are a couple of minor observations to make it even better. In some rooms there is a window in the shower, to let natural light in, but at night the bathroom light is too bright, waking up the other person. Maybe a blind?
I would suggest a sign at the entrance to the lounge directing new arrivals (by train) to the whereabouts of reception.
This is quite probably one my favourite hotels in the world. Did I mention the amazing breakfast in the only fold up buffet room I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mall/canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear JazboOttawa,

Thank you so much for your time and effort to share your experience in our hotel. We are delighted to read that noticed the positive location and the ambiance of our hotel with ofcourse our beautiful waterfall feature. As far as we know we are unique with the fold up buffet in the world. I will pass your compliment to our team.

We’re looking forward to receive you as our guest again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    333
    66
    19
    6
See reviews for
94
493
27
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We used this hotel because of its location in proximity to Amsterdam. It was very close to the train station and only ten minutes away from the city. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable; we slept well. We did not take the breakfast or use the pool facilities. What we didn't expect but loved, was its location on a sort of quaint canal that was lined with restaurants and shops. We enjoyed walking along the canal and ate at several restaurants...so much to do there. One feature we found that was very helpful was eating breakfast at the HEMA, a Dutch department store, which was located on the same canal on the right hand side.They opened early and breakfast was on the top floor; it literally cost only a Euro if you bought the special...awesome deal! Beware, though, that there were many locals waiting to take advantage as well, so it got crowded quickly. We were also able to take the train, again, very close to Zaanse Schans Windmill Village and catch some really great sites there. Can't wait to return here with other members of my family in the future! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Marijke 23,

Thank you very much for your extensive and positive review. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you apprecciated all the beautiful sightings our region offers. It’s great to know that you highly recommend us and we love to give you and your family a warm welcome back at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam.

Kind regards,

Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Initial impressions may be that you have just stepped into Lego land but behind the interesting exterior is a comfortable and convenient hotel.
Just two minutes away from the train station this hotel makes it easy to get out and about. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean and well appointed.
The mini bar and restaurant are not dirt cheap but the food in the restaurant was well presented and very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Amy A,

Thank you very much for your good review.
We are very happy to read that you’ve had a comfortable stay at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam. It’s a good thing that you have noticed the good location of our hotel and that you have enjoyed our restaurant Puur Saen where we serve specialties from our region.

We love to give you a warm welcome back in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This great hotel from the Inntel group is well positioned adjacent to the Zaandam Railway Station, easy access by train to Amsterdam Central ( just 12 minutes!). There is also a shopping centre at the rear of the hotel and great secure parking next door.

The hotel is themed around the old biscuit factory, the ceiling of the bar is a giant Marie biscuit. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Free, rapid wifi is a bonus. The extra large, luxurious bathrooms are great for washing away fatigue. Very pleasant, hotel-supplied toiletries were a welcome touch.

Breakfast is extensive and offers options to tempt even the most fussy, with champagne offered along with fresh juices as a great start to a day's touring. Other meals on the restaurant menu were interesting and well prepared.

The multilingual staff are very helpful and are able to offer great advice on transport to tourist activities. The waiter suggested that we pre- book for the Van Gogh Museum which proved to be wise advice. It is these touches which make for great customer satisfaction.

We would definitely recommend this venue to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Anne N,

Thank you so much for your time and effort two write this wonderful review. It’s nice to read that you have noticed the special region theme features in our hotel and that you have enjoyed the luxurious and relaxing bathroom. We are very happy to hear that our team was helpful and friendly and I will forward your compliment tot them.

We’re looking forward to receive you as our guest again.

Kind regards,

Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant

Monique Dijkhuizen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent five nights here and enjoyed every one of them. Check in and check out were a breeze, the rooms were clean, comfortable and quite roomy. As everyone else says the hotel is right beside the train station, yet you never hear the trains. Very easy to get to Amsterdam Centrall from here and a great place to return to after the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam, relax on the deck over the canal with a cold beer or glass of wine, heaven. My wife made full use of the indoor pool while I used the sauna/steam room – both complimentary.
We caught the train direct from Schipol, Zaandam was the third stop – direct trains run every 30 minutes.
Zaandam is a great little town, take your time and walk down the shopping mall to the far end (about 10 minutes) then turn right to the restaurants in the square – plenty of choice. Along the way are supermarkets and department stores plus a variety of smaller stores and coffee shops.
From Zaandam we also walked along the river to Zaanse Schans – about an hour away. Lots of working windmills and arts and crafts. You can catch a bus or train to and from here from Zaandam.

We’d highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear BazinBrisbane,

It’s very nice to read that you have noticed the positive location of our hotel. You can easily escape from the busy city of Amsterdam and enjoy the luxurious wellness and spa facilities our hotel offers.
The renewed city centre of Zaandam is indeed a great place for a shopping spree with lots of shops and restaurants.

We are truly delighted to read that you would recommend us and we’re looking forward to give you a warm welcome back in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Inntel Hotels Zaandam. This hotel's location is simply awesome! Our room package did not include breakfast as we had decided to opt out of it. Guests get to enjoy complimentary access to the wellness club, gym and indoor pool. But unfortunately we did not have the time to utilise it. The room is clean and spacious and there is complimentary WiFi in the room. Do take note that a tax of EUR2.20 is imposed by the city at per person per night.

The only glitch that we encountered was during checkout. The receptionist claimed that someone has used our room number to sign for breakfast and he wanted to charge us for that. We definitely did not do that. We had left the hotel very early on that day as we have pre-booked a day tour (Volendam, Marken and Windmills). We had our breakfast from Mcdonalds which was nearby the meeting point. In the end, the receptionist did not insist. I almost wanted to tell him to go check the video surveillance tapes for the culprits. From this incident, perhaps the hotel (and all other hotels) should look into stepping up controls? Other than this, our stay was fantastic.

For more pictures and information, please read http://technicaltango.blogspot.sg/2013/10/inntel-hotels-amsterdam-zaadam.html

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear TechnicalTango,

Thank you for posting this review. It’s good to read that you’ve had an enjoyable stay in our hotel and that you’ve appreciated our comfortable and modern rooms.
We hope to welcome you back as our guest soon.

Kind regards,

Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Fantastically located especially if you chose to stay outside Amsterdam. Train station right next door giving easy access to all areas. Room clean, bed exceptionally comfortable also provides free internet service. Negative point only we found it expensive for drinks.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique D, Sales Assistant at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Denise202013,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We're glad to read that you had a pleasant time in our hotel and that you've enjoyed the comfortable bed and the positive location of the hotel.

We're looking forward to welcome you back at Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam.

Kind regards,

Monique Dijkhuizen
Sales Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaandam
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
BEST WESTERN Zaan Inn
#2 of 4 in Zaandam
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam

Address: Provincialeweg 102, 1506 MD Zaandam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zaandam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Zaandam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and famous. This 4 star hotel with its world renowned look is situated next to the Zaandam train station, where the train will take you to the centre of Amsterdam within 12 minutes. Also, the RAI Congress Centre and Schiphol Airport are easy to reach by train. Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam has 160 unique hotel rooms, a Wellness Club, free wifi internet and its own Tourist Information Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam North Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.