We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“van den Hogen” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant van den Hogen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant van den Hogen to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant van den Hogen
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haven 106, 1131 EV Volendam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“van den Hogen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

the hotel is not easy to be reach by a car, also keep in mind that the nearest free parking is about 500 meters.
the hotel rooms entrance is blocked by the restaurant tables (diners need to get up if an hotel visitor is need to get to the rooms stairs).
dont try to come with big luggage, because climbing the stairs is not easy at all

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
the netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a drink and lunch in this hotel. The place looks nice but the staff that works there has a big attidude, like here is your order and you must be glad you get some! Not even a smile.The staff was not looking out for their guests and only where looking out for each other.

Next time we Will not visit this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeAndJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you have a harbour view, then its a great hotel for the money if you don't mind simple accommodation. The rooms are basic with shower only, but with a harbour view, you are able to open the windows, have some wine and watch the world go by. It's as good as if you were sitting at any of the many cafes and bars. A visit to the local supermarket to by the best of European wines, local cheese at a fraction of the price of the cafes and bars almost pays for the room itself. The breakfast is also a basic continental, but nice. The staff is alos very nice.

Room Tip: Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yt_Skippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

John, April 7, 2012

The view from our room was Lake Ijsselmeer. The room was like a picture window of Volendam. This is one of the most charming spots I've been, and it is why we returned to spend more time. From 6:00 in the morning when boats load poles for their traps to into the evening with locals walking the boardwalk, this is still a busy port side town. Four to five cruise ships stop daily to unload tourists but you can actually stay there to experience the wonder of this ancient city. According to the Volendam museum the town grew from farming and fishing into a prosperous fishing community.
The food in the restaurant downstairs is nothing less than sensational! Sometimes they are booked. If you want a seat on the weekends you may want to book in advance. Many locals visit here and dinner is late. We choose an early time to avoid advance bookings.
Definitely a slice of history. Stop and get your picture taken in a traditional Dutch costume. So much fun.

Room Tip: There are only several rooms upstairs. Make sure you get a room facing the Isselmeer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrenceuwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volendam
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spaander
Hotel Spaander
#2 of 4 in Volendam
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
1.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
0.0 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#1 of 4 in Volendam
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#3 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
2.7 mi away
Hof van Marken
Hof van Marken
#1 of 1 in Marken
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant van den Hogen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant van den Hogen

Address: Haven 106, 1131 EV Volendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant van den Hogen 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant van den Hogen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing