We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - wouldn't bother with package” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Old Dutch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Old Dutch to your Saves list
Hotel Old Dutch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haven 142, 1131 EW Volendam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good hotel - wouldn't bother with package”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We recently stayed for one night during a cycle tour of Holland and were perfectly happy with the hotel overall. We booked one of their packages that included dinner and breakfast. On balance, it probably didn't offer the best value. The room was small, but very clean and the bed was comfy. It was noisy at night (both from guests and outside noise) even though we were at the back overlooking the car parking area - the noise isn't their fault but worth mentioning all the same. The shower was hot. The service was very friendly- nothing was too much trouble and we were allowed to park our bikes in their cellar overnight which was really great of them. Supper was ok - it was included in our package and i think if I was booking again, I would skip this and go to one of the restaurants in town which looked really good. The food wasn't the highest quality and was pretty expensive from what i could tell. Odd combinations of things brought together - I was given rhubarb compote with my cod, sweet and sour veg noodles and also given red cabbage, with roast potatoes! Breakfast was fine - the usual continental with a few hot options. Overall it was good and the staff were great, but not the best value in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    33
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
41
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed 2 Nights at the OldDutch and we would come back again! The beds are a Dream and everything its exceptional clean. The heating and isolation of the windows are working super, cause the outside temprature was really cold and we appriciated every bit of our stay. Yes, it was bit noisy from other guests but that was it!
Staff was easy going and very friendly!

Room Tip: The rooms to the back have a balcony and are really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volendam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Overlooking the harbor where interesting ships are docked. Excellent restaurant, clean pleasant rooms and baths. Fun day and evening! And you can see the sunrise over the Ijselmeer (if you rise that early!) great shops, bars and restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the water!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in a room without a view, to avoid the noise at night. Unfortunately, we got woken up at 4am by really loud guests in the room(s) next to ours, so it wasn’t the most pleasant stay.

The hotel itself was okay – the room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was great (but the bathroom itself was really small, and the shower ‘cabin’ very dark). Breakfast was very basic.

All in all, the hotel was good, but I rated it average because it was way too expensive. We paid 129 euros for one night, and the hotel and breakfast really weren’t worth that much.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Although they called them self Old Dutch, but frankly speaking it is an "old well maintain hotel". The room is quite big (even my little baby has enough space to crawl here and there), clean, and the bed is very good. The breakfast was basic however it is good enough. Stayed for two nights with my family. The Wifi connection is on and off - really weak. The only thing that bothering me is, parking. No private parking, so you have to park your car at marina park +/- 1km further. I don't mind when it is dry and nice weather, but since the whole three days during our stay were raining, it is definitely annoying! Anyway, we have a nice stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice and quiet hotel with big rooms and good beds.
Good breakfast and possibillities for lunch and dinner.
Nearby are all the activities you need.
Lots of bars and restaurants to choose.
Very nice hotel for a very good price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was a bit conscious having read the reviews. However it's a nice basic hotel, more B&B than hotel imho. The room was cleaned to a fantastic standard, comparable to 5star hotels in my experience. Location is perfect, right on seaside, 10min walk away from supermarket. Staff seemed nice. Breakfast was very basic, manage your expectations there. There was no fridge/ minibar and free wifi in the room, though we were informed that the hotel is working on the wifi and it will be coming soon. Free bottled water in the room would be nice. Also there are no facilities for younger kids to play in or spend time in, when the weather is not great outside - only rooms and reception/ bar/ restaurant. The room was dark but I understand from the brochure that rooms vary and there are some with more than 1 window. All in all good basic 3star hotel/ B&B for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Old Dutch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Dutch

Address: Haven 142, 1131 EW Volendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Volendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Volendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Old Dutch 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes away from Amsterdam You will find Hotel Old Dutch / Restaurant Le Pompadour facing the world Famous Volendam harbour. At the Old Dutch traditional hospitality and comfort come together with a first-class view of the former Zuyderzee. With its 33 spacious, well-furnished rooms (for 1-, 2- or 3 persons) our hotel can accommodate various groups of holidaymakers. Small-scaled personal service will guarantee a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Old Dutch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Dutch Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Old Dutch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.